We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view and beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amansala Eco Chic Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amansala Eco Chic Resort to your Saves list
Amansala Eco Chic Resort
km 5.5 Carr Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 65 Tulum B&B and Inns
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful view and beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a wonderful property right on the beach run by lovely people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    28
    11
    13
    11
See reviews for
5
28
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Lovely location, beautiful accommodations right on the beach (as long as you don't get a musty garden room), intimate size, hard-working staff, and delicious and appealing food. Perfect location for the yoga retreat I attended.

The only problem was the "management." After a luke-warm greeting at my arrival, I was had several other frustrating encounters with the management . When seeking advice about where to ride the bicycle (conveniently rentable at the resort), I was told, "there's only one direction to go... and don't go into town, there's nothing to see there." Thankfully, I ignored this advice, as the easy ride into town resulted in the authentic interaction I had with the Mexican culture and it was well worth it. And, I also found out I could make a loop to the Tulum ruins -- also just a few miles away and perfectly accessible by bike.

Funky departure as well -- misleading information about transportation and careless handling of my bill at checkout... left a bad taste in my mouth.

My experience was not unique. I spoke with several others at the retreat and heard similar stories. Thankfully, interactions with the "management" were minimal and the yoga retreat I attended was great -- in part due to the lovely accommodations at Amansala.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden rooms. Anything along the beach, 2nd floor would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We loved everything about Amansala! After staying at a very bad place the first night we decided to cut our losses and find something better. We were greeted by the owner, Melissa who showed us around and got us set up in a very private second story beach front room which had everything we were hoping for for a great romantic get-away. The room was well designed with lots of space ad privacy; a great bathroom broken into separate areas for a large shower ( with amazing honey bodywash!), toilet room, and sink area. The comfortable king size bed had a mosquito net we never needed to use, and the breeze from the ocean and sound of the waves was a pleasure to experience at night. The beach is amazing and has those hanging beach beds and comfortable loungers for tanning during the day and star gazing at night. The food was excellent. I miss the "help yourself": fresh fruit and yogurt with granola and honey already. Also highly recommended are the mango margaritas, Amansala salad and guacamole. All the meals we had were flavorful and healthy. Many healthy activities are also offered by professionals; yoga, boot camp classes, spa services. The service was truly amazing. The staff had great communication skills and were attentive without being invasive. We were given great advice about activities, restaurants and made to feel like we truly belonged. Thanks again! We can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Room 20 is very romantic and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

Located on the most beautiful beach in Tulum, we luckily stumbled upon
Amansala during our honeymoon by accident after another reservation in
a nearby hotel got cancelled on us. Beautifully built, boutique hotel
with beach facing rooms designed and maintained with love. The hotel
facilities and rooms were designed with respect to natural
surroundings while providing the highest level of comfort you could
expect. The food was great, the beach towels soft, beach beds were the best we saw in Tulum. The beds in the rooms are amazing and come with a great mosquito nets even though no mosquitos were to be seen. Above all the staff was amazing doing everything they could to make our stay
there the best we had on our honeymoon. Showers are great with decent flow of hot water and locally produced shampoo, conditioner and soap that are uniquely great, giving the skin the soft feeling and aroma of honey. If you fancy exercising during your vacation this hotel offers the best facilities including an amazing Yoga deck facing the beach
and classes that are an absolute must to try with great instructors.
We used the bikes offered by the hotel several times and although
rusty (no metal can stay shinning here for long because of the salt)
we had loads of fun with them. Definitely good value for the money, we will definetly be back here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I went to the bootcamp in june and can't believe how fit and strong my body was when i got back .I enjoyed everything about my experience in this retreat. The beach was beautiful, the food good, the classes amazing and everyone there was so friendly . If you're looking for a healthy, fun vacation this is the place to go. I can't wait to go back !

Room Tip: Ocean View are my favorite rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amansala Eco Chic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansala Eco Chic Resort

Address: km 5.5 Carr Tulum, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansala is an eco chic resort located on the beautiful beach of Tulum. Set amongst the palm trees and white sand, the 24 rooms feel like you have stepped into a perfect little village. Attention to detail set Amansala apart with stylish spacious cabanas, a beachfront terrace lounge, great food, massages and tours. Perfect for a relaxing vacation, beachfront wedding or any kind of gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amansala Eco Chic Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amansala Eco Chic Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.