We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, beautiful romantic spot - gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge

BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum, Mexico
+52-984-8032243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 223 Restaurants in Tulum
Restaurant details
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautiful romantic spot - gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stumbled upn this restaraunt accidentally but loved it from the first sight. First of all, the setting was spectacular. This is a very small intimate hotel with a beautiful beach. It was my friend's birthday and she couldn't be happier with our choice. Second, the food was absolutely delicious. Octopus dish and ceviche are out of this world fresh. We actually regretted that we didn't stay at this hotel because it was a perfect little place with delicious food, wonderful setting, attentive staff and very intimate feel. If we are back I will be definitely heading back to this little gem.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    18
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at BeTulum and ate lunch and breakfast here daily, as well as one dinner. We didn't have a bad meal. The food was consistently amazing, fresh, and delicious. Tulum in general has some really amazing places to eat, and BeTulum was certainly one of them! Most of what they serve is grown in their own garden, so everything is local, fresh, and organic. Not sure why there are some negative reviews because we didn't have one bad meal. A little on the expensive side, but worth it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great service and always fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

would love to see a few more options. other than that, everything we had was lovely and quickly prepared.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lugano
2 reviews
“best food best people best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I ha dthe opportunity to have lunch and dinner in this spectacular place. The food was perfect and the people was friendly and happy to satisfy all my requests.
I strongly suggest if you are in Tulum to book a lunch o a dinner in this place or just have an apero'.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Strange place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Likely a good place if you have no kids, no dogs and have money... Maybe soon, you will need to be blond, above 6 foot to enter.. Whether you should not be too Mexican, too small, too ugly to be allowed to spend your money there! Who knows?
Wonder whether forbidding kids is even legal? Wonder why kids are forbidden?

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BeTulum Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.