We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and funky hostel with free breaky and clean rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Home

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mama's Home to your Saves list
Mama's Home
Calle orion s-n entre venus y sol oriente, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cool and funky hostel with free breaky and clean rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This cool little hostel is to the restaurants, shops and bars in tulum. It has an outside common area to hang in and a simple but tasty free breaky.

Rooms are clean and modern, pillows not so great but beds are comfy.

Overall good friendly chilled out vibe here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    39
    12
    2
    10
See reviews for
5
59
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We left it late to book a room in Tulum and this was our only option. I wont be returning, the location is good, a minutes walk to the main street. Thats about it for pros, otherwise this is a very poor hostel for price we paid.

On arrival we were greated by a half happy fella, was more interested in his laptop than welcoming us. We were showed to our room. Thrown two sheets and a pillow case and basically told to make our beds. Not an issue, but the sheets didnt even fit the bed.

Breakfast is served by a man who seems to hate his job, throws the plate down infront of us. He doesnt really seem to care that he makes everyone feel awkward.

Theres a common area but chairs are wooden boxs, not very relaxing. A sign offering bike rental, well they dont rent out bikes.

Internet isnt a priority for me, but for some it is, its useless, only works in the courtyard!

Basic at best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here for ten days when I arrived in Tulum in mid January and I thought it was an excellent hostel and good value for money. I was in one of the private bedrooms (the first one upstairs) which cost $20 per person per night - two double beds and its own bathroom. It was clean and comfortable, though I bought new pillows at the local supermarket as the ones they supplied were lumpy.

A lot of travellers came there having tried other hostels and said this was the nicest. (I think iTour is also good, by the way). I think I know what other reviewers mean about the staff, but actually I found them friendly and amenable.

I would very much recommend this place. The atmosphere in the evening is chilled and cordial. People go to bed by 11 at the latest and it is quiet. And the location is good.

Room Tip: Pay for a private room - preferably the one with two beds in it at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hostel itself is not bad, certainly not great but not bad. We were on a budget so stayed in the dorm, which is fine we have been backpacking before, we stayed 5 nights. The staff were incredibly rude and hostile - apart from the owner who was very nice and approachable. Unfortunately she was not there over the weekend so we were left to the rude staff.
Pros -
Free wifi
Air conditioning in the 6 bed dorm.
Breakfast included. (Only got to eat it one day since it was served 8-10am and we left early to see the ruins most days)
Nice atmosphere for backpackers (apart from the staff).
They had a BBQ on the sunday night just bring your own meat. Nice idea for people staying longer, though on anyother day apart from Sunday they could have bought their meat at the butchers next door instead of going to the super market.
Downtown location.
Price for the dorm is good if you get the aircon one.

Cons-
RUDE staff, very dismissive even when a fellow traveler was asking directions to the hospital! The same traveler was asked to move rooms because someone had booked the room for that night (there was a mix up with her reservation) - no apology and was asked to move straight away, to the big dorm with no air con etc. When the people arrived they had actually book a double room anyway and then got grief from them when they asked if they had one available! 2 empty beds in our room that night and one ill person in the main, loud, hot room. Didn't even want to help us by showing us how to work the aircon or the door lock.
Stain sheets and towels (towels had hard stains/melted maybe over it.) You had to rent towels.
No screens on the windows - I got bitten everynight by mosquitos since the roommates liked to keep the windows open.
Main dorm busy, light on til late and no aircon, no screens and doors open all night, everyone had to walk through it to get to the bathrooms and other dorms and double room. (We were happy we were not staying in there!!)
We only got one omelet between two at breakfast because the staff forgot and we did not feel we could even ask if we were supposed to have one each!
No bikes for hire even though the sign says there are.
Only lockers in the main dorm, made of wood and the staff sleep in a hammock right in front of them so you cant access them in the morning. (Even a whispered buenos dias to an awake staff member is answered by silence and a dirty look.)
The kitchen smelt awful and the fridge was dirty and full of left food by backpackers who were clearly not there anymore (no labeling system like most hostels)
Showers had little water pressure, one had a cool conch shell attached as the head, which didnt work that well (often the water was shut off at night or just didnt work in one bathroom) the other shower was just water coming out of the pipe in a stream, no head at all. Temp varied greatly - often cold or then scolding.

Not impressed, but I have seen worse places just a nasty vibe from the staff ruined the relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Get the air con 6 bed dorm NOT the large dorm. Do not get the double with only a fan in the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belize City, Belize
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a private room with fan and shared bathroom. Price was about 300 pesos a night, so not bad but I thought it was perhaps a tad high.

Pros:
-excellent included breakfast in the morning. Banana pancakes the first day, scrambled eggs & beans the second.
-very friendly staff. Were happy to help me plan activities
-Free wifi, kitchen access, water

Cons:
-Room is quite hot without ac. Fan is fixed to the wall, can't position it.
-room needed some tlc, curtains were half falling off the wall and thus didn't help shut out the window.
-showers don't have much pressure.
-no soundproofing between room and the dorm it's accessed from.

Overall I think its a pretty good option for a backpacker. Good atmosphere, easy to meet people.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a deluxe double room. The room was basic but comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was good and coffee excellent.

Typical hostel life, people lounging and on computers. lights out and all shut by 11pm.

close to centre and bus station.

Would recommend for backpack but not for mature couples or families.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our stay in this hotel has been great!!Even if the hotel is not near the beach, it's in the center of the city where you can find taxis, restaurants and so on!!! The staff is really kind and friendly, they gave us all the informations we asked for and we really enjoyed celebrating the new year's eve with the other guests and the owner's family. The room was clean and with a/c. Breakfast and free wifi are included!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mama's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Home

Address: Calle orion s-n entre venus y sol oriente, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Mama's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.