We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Mexican !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Asadero

El Asadero
Satellite Norte | e/ Sagitario and Oriente, Tulum, Mexico
984-128-6258
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 234 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Totally Mexican !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing dinner here. It is on a side street but worth looking for. We had our "wine" served in glasses and the Lobster dinner was great. The lobster is not on the menu but on the blackboard. We will visit again when in the area !!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    112
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best value in tulum. period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

charming and on point service, great food-- and so much of it! go where locals in the know go and experience what a mexican steak house has to offer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely find with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We found this place on trip advisor and loved it. In tulum town, with a lovely atmosphere and very gracious and thoughtful service-- we found the food to be excellent. The manager went out of his way to ensure that my vegetarian husband was catered for, and even thoughtfully was able to provide smaller dish sizes for me as I have an appetite bigger than my belly! The salsas were the best we had in our 2 week stay and the side dishes excellent. During our stay in tulum we heard a lot of complaints about the quality of the meat in tulum. This may be a fair point-- but these complaints were mainly from American tourists looking to recreate the quality of the beef they are used to at home. However I found the beef on the grill to be excellent ( I ate it rare) and my personal opinion is that the star attraction of Mexican cuisine is the quality of the salsas and moles rather than an emphasis on the meat itself-- and el asadero was excellent in this respect. They do serve alcohol there's although its not licensed to do so-- they therefore serve it in coffee mugs etc. Cost per value was much better than some of the places we went to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing finohm way from the main road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a find! We were recommended this place by our host and as we were walking off the main road we felt like we were getting into a local area, streetlights were more spaced out and there were no tourists or people trying to sell things.  Once we arrived the restaurant was buzzing! We were seated at the last empty table out on the street.  Throughout our meal there was a steady stream of customers both locals and tourists coming to eat in and take away.

Totopos and 4 sauces were brought to the table after ordering.  These were some of the best we had in our whole trip to Mexico.  We shared the mixed grill, guacamole and jacket potato with chorizo.  This was plenty between two even after a day diving.  The flavours coming through all the food was amazing,  well worth venturing away from the main road.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Had a great steak and lobster dinner! What a meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Found this place on my last trip down in Dec and took my wife on this trip to celebrate her birthday. She had grilled lobster and I had the arrachera special. You can watch them being cooked on the grill but it is mich more fun to sit back and enjoy the laidback atmosphere. Singles, couples and families all present. Free chips and salsa to begin the special coffee(vino tinto in a cup) and grilled potato and onion were special.
This is must go place for us in tulum.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Asadero also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Asadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Asadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.