We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adrian is a fantastic guide; Perfect trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viajes Conciencia Tours & Travel

Viajes Conciencia Tours & Travel
Mercurio Poniente 103, Tulum 77780, Mexico
984 871 2523
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 63 Tours & Activities in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adrian is a fantastic guide; Perfect trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A group of 6 of us (3 couples) went on vacation together and stayed at Dreams Tulum; we were looking for some adventurous things to do that would also teach us a little something about our beautiful surroundings. This led us to Adrian and Viajes Conciencia. Adrian was phenomenal! From the first time we contacted him through his website email, he was quick to respond, full of information about what we could expect, and always got back to us in a timely fashion when we pestered him with more questions. We did two tours with Adrian: the first day we went to the Mayan ruins at Tulum (neat to see, but much better to do in a small group where you can hear everything your guide is saying and you get there before the crowds, when it's peaceful), swimming in an amazing cenote (perfectly clear, clean water with caves you can swim through with just a snorkel), lunch at a local spot on the beach (deeeeelicious fresh food, the best fresh fruit juice, and enough time planned in for a quick siesta in the hammocks on the beach), and then to Playa Acumel for swimming with green turtles (a once-in-a-lifetime experience; absolutely breathtaking to be right next to these endangered turtles in their native habitat). Adrian made sure we always knew how to be respectful of the animals and their environment, he made sure we had good equipment, and we always felt safe everywhere we went. The second day of our tour with Adrian we did THE coolest adventure possible - swimming with whale sharks!! Adrian explained why we shouldn't be afraid (why the sharks are in this area, what they eat - plankton, whew! - how to best swim next to them to get the best view, why it's dangerous for the animals to touch them), and then jumped in with us to guide us through the experience. Another once-in-a-lifetime adventure. Within just the first few hours of our trip Adrian became a friend with whom we shared great conversation. I can't recommend Viajes Conciencia enough - you won't regret choosing them over any other tour operator in the area. If it costs a little bit more, it's because you get THAT MUCH MORE of a wonderful experience. So worth it!!! Adrian and his tours are what made our vacation worthwhile!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    13
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Bilingual (French/English) tour of Chichen Itza with Delphine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My family (American) and my husband's family (French) organized a big family vacation in Playa del Carmen/Riviera Maya. My father suggested we go visit Chichen Itza together, and as we were such a large group (10 people), we figured it would be best to organize a private guided tour.

As only my husband and I were fluent in both French and English, the rest of our family was not. It was a challenge to find a reputable private tour company in the Yucatan that could handle our language needs, but Viajes Conciencia stepped up to the task. Our first contact with the company was via email, where we exchanged several informative emails with Adrian, who was very prompt in answering and providing lots of information. As Tropical Storm Ernesto was forecast to hit the Yucatan, Adrian was very helpful in helping determine the best day to tour Chichen Itza. I really appreciated the flexibility and timely communication, which helped us to finally choose a date for the tour.

Our tour guide was Delphine, co-founder of Viajes Conciencia. She was very prompt and extremely professional. Our tour started with an early morning hotel pick up at 6:45AM. Waking up that early while on vacation was hard, but we soon realized that starting early meant avoiding tourist hordes at Chichen Itza.

We made our way to Playa del Carmen to pick up Delphine, who warmly introduced herself to us and explained the activities of the day in both English and French. Our first stop on the way to Chichen Itza was Tulum, where we were treated to fresh croissants and real Italian cappuccino and espressos. As the company is greatly concerned with preserving the environment, Delphine brought two large thermoses of purified water and tamarind juice, and provided reusable water bottles for our group to use and refill as needed. She also provided bananas and snacks for the duration of the day.

The trip to Chichen Itza took about 2-2.5 hours. Delphine filled the time showing us maps of the region, recounting Mayan history and culture, as well as the Mayan Prophecies of the end of their 5125 year cycle. She also did a great job explaining Mexico and Mexican culture to my in-laws, who knew very little about the country.

We arrived at Chichen Itza a little after 10AM, and met with Don Guillermo, an official tour guide of Chichen Itza who spoke both English and French. We were really impressed with his language skills and deep knowledge of the site and Mayan history. My sister-in-law (an architect) even asked some tough questions about Mayan architecture and Don Guillermo answered her with ease.

After our tour of Chichen Itza, the next part of our trip was a swim at the Ik-Kil Cenote, and a buffet lunch afterwards. On our way back to the hotel, we had a brief stop at Valladolid to walk around the Zocalo and check out artisanal shops.

We really enjoyed our tour: it was extremely well-organized, well-timed, and opened our eyes to the splendors of the Yucatan. Most of all, thanks to Delphine for the great organization, and her phenomenal ability to guide our group in both French and English. As you can imagine, it made for a non-stop day of speaking for her, yet she was able to carry out the tour with extreme professionalism.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian P, Propietario at Viajes Conciencia Tours & Travel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your tailor made tour for your family. As local travel experts, we feel honored to show all the cultural wonders of the Yucatan Peninsula to world travellers as yourselves. On behalf of Delphine and Don Guillermo we would like to thank you for chossing Viajes Conciencia, with your help we can begin to co-create a "Consciuos Tourism" in the Mayan Riviera. Many blessings for you and your loved ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tulum, Cenote, and Snorkeling - Adrian made it the BEST day ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Not only is he knowledgable about all areas we visited, he is a great host and proud of his surroundings. A great day with something for everyone. The BEST meal we had in all of Mexico in THE most scenic spot in Tulum!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“BEST TOUR OF COBA!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I booked this tour on our honeymoon. The group we traveled with was small--an advantage which added to the natural beauty and romance of Mexico. Adrian, our guide, was friendly and knowledgeable. We learned about the history of the Mayan culture on many levels. Adrian was laid back, but attentive to the needs of the entire group, as well as each individual group member. I would recommend this excursion to anyone who wants to see and learn beyond what the average tour has to offer.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viajes Conciencia Tours & Travel also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Viajes Conciencia Tours & Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viajes Conciencia Tours & Travel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.