We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphinaris Tulum

Dolphinaris Tulum
At Grand Bahia Principe Tulum Hotel, Tulum 77760, Mexico
52 998-881-3030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 67 things to do in Tulum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dolphinaris Tulum at Bahia Principe Resort combines the best features of our dolphins, with beautiful tropical surroundings.The facilities feature the innovative concept of traditional platforms that provide shallow, beach-style access to conduct interaction programs safely for any visitor.For the convenience of swimmers and observers, we have located various service areas within our facilities. These service areas include: check-in and customer service, induction hut, a new room where classes for the Trainer for a Day program are conducted and our photo & video store.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Auburn, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“so fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My Husband and two friends swam with the dolphins my friend and I watched the show. They got to do so many awesome things with the dolphins and we were able to sit close enoung to get some really good pictures. So fun.It was definately one of the highlights of our trip

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear visitor, Dolphinaris thank you for your opinion. We are glad that you liked being with our dolphins. We have noticed that every person leaves happy from the dolphinarium when they realize how good the dolphins are cared by our very professional staff whose priority is our visitors and dolphins.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    57
    27
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“May 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The pool is relatively small but the dolphins seemed really happy and seemed to have plenty of space to move around... they were worked quite hard but the trainers treated them really well and gave them balls and boogie boards to play with between sessions which they seemed to love.

We did the Trainer for a Day programme and found it exhilarating.... we we're showed all of the facilities, talked through the dolphins feeding programmes and given loads of information about the dolphins and the Company.

As part of the programme, we were assigned an individual trainer who stayed with us pretty much all day - Alejandro was extremely helpful, knowledgeable and made us feel like one of the crew. Although all of the trainers mainly spoke Spanish, they all spoke English realy well and made sure they full explained everything they did in English.

As part of the programme we:

- Interacted closely with all 5 of the dolphins and were given loads of information about each of them
- Did two 'belly rides' and two foot push rides each
- Snuba dived with one of the dolphins (this lasted for about 20 minutes and was really exciting to see the dolphin up close)
- Interacted with the staff and other guests, learned several of the signals for training and working the dolphins and were allowed to help with other guests' experiences including a wedding photo dolphin jump the staff actively sought to include us in each of the sessions and allowed us to help with other guests who were doing the other programmes offered by Dolphinaris
- We were given two printed photos and a T-Shirt that the dolphin actually painted on and a certificate to indicate that we'd completed the programme

The programme was extremely interactive and excellent value for money

I would recommend the programme to anyone but wouldn'y really think that the programme was suitable (or would be really enjoyed) by kids unless they were being accompanied by adults - they would probably enjoyed the swin and ride or foot push better where you spend about 45 - 60 minutes interacting with the dolphin and then either ride on the belly of a dolphin or have a foot push or dorsal fin ride.

The show that the Company put on t 11.30 each day is also amazing - the dolphins jump and slide onto the side of the pool and the trainers have them dancing and singing and everyone seemed to absolutely love it.

The one annoyance was at the end of the programme - you can't use your own camera in the resort and the Company have their own staff taking photos and videos all day At the end of the day, you are ushered into the photo and video suite and shown packages that you can buy. The sales staff are extremely pushy and you feel presurised into buying packages - make sure you negotiate as they can actually give you great deals especially when you're just getting photos on CDs (it can't cost them anymore to put 10 photos on as it does 1) - we ended up getting 6 photos on a CD plus 30 photos of the dolphins for 69 US dollars (£45 quid) but I'm sure we could have got more if we negotiated harder.

If you don't want any photos - just tell them that and walk out!

Enjoy!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear visitor, we appreciate your comment and we are sure you really enjoyed the Trainer for a Day program. People can do several activities with dolphins and also learn about them. Dolphinaris is aware that visitors love dolphins and like to learn how they live and how to care them.

We don’t allow cameras in the facilities for your security and the dolphins’. People can drop a dolphin and we avoid this. Visitors can enjoy their swim and then our photo and video department will show your pictures and you can select the option you best like.

We are very glad that you were in our dolphinarium and you could have a great time with us.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Kids loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We took the kids to swim with the dolphins and they didnt want to get out. It was so much fun and we got lots of amazing pictures.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Nonna F,
Thank you for choosing Dolphinaris to provide you with this once in a lifetime dolphin swim experience. We are happy to hear you truly enjoyed your time in the water with our exceptional dolphin family. We appreciate you taking the time to review our facility and leave your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Way too small!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Found the dolphin pool by mistake and wish I hadn't!! Tiny double pool with 5 dolphins. This pool wasn't big enough for 1 let alone 5!! Quick someone call Green Peace!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Dolphinaris Tulum is able to hold up to 10 grown dolphins according to international size, depth and housing facility structure regulations. We count with dedicated and knowledgeable staff of veterinarians and trainers that closely monitors all aspects of the health and well-being of our dolphin family. We also count with a full equipped lab and a state of the art water filtration system, which cleanses and replaces the pool water every 2 hrs to keep it clean. We invite you and anyone to come and share with us the experience of being part of Dolphinaris family in our program Trainer for a Day, so you can see that our installations are much more than just pools.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Dolphinaris Tulum”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The thought of our children swimming with dolphins seemed like a wonderful idea and the fact that the "dolphin trainer for a day" program was only $159.00 per child, lasted from 9 am-4 pm sounded like a lot of fun for the children. When presented with the offer by one of the Dolphinaris sales people, we were concerned about the chances of sunburn given the children couldn't wear any sunscreen for an entire day and the sales person assured us that the children would be given a long sleeved uv shirt like the one he was wearing and we were asked to bring hats and sunglasses for the kids. We were also told that the children would learn what the trainers do with the dolphins, would snorkel and dive with the dolphins, would feed the dolphins and be an active part of the show that the trainers put on. The girls were excited and we signed them up. When we brought the girls for their day camp with the dolphins, we were also told the we didn't have to pick the girls up at lunch time because the trainers would also be taking the kids for lunch. It all sounded pretty amazing and we were pleased.

We decided to come back for the show as the girl were supposed to participate. we arrived at 11:30 am and noticed that the kids had been in the sun for 2.5 hours and had no uv shirts on, no hats on and no sunglasses on. We asked about the Uv shirts that were promised and were told that they would be given to the kids at the end of the day as a present. When we questioned the problem of sun burn, the staff didn't seem to be concerned despite that fact the every staff member had full length uv shirts on, hats on, and some were even using umbrellas. We were a little angry but we went to the hotel room and brought the girls Uv shirts.

The show began and the only thing the girls got to do was get introduced by the trainers as "our trainers for a day". The kids told us they were not allowed to help feed the dolphins because they were told "only the trainers freed the dolphins"(note: the advertisement says kids will feed the dolphins) . The interactions that our girls had during the show was no different than what the other paying customers got.

The show(not really a show but actually just dolphin rides for paying customers) ended and we went for lunch. We returned to Dolphinaris in time to watch our girls snorkel(9 year old) and dive(12 year old) with the dolphins in a pool that was separate from the other customers. This was very exciting and the girls loved it; however, it only lasted about 10 minutes before the trainers went to service the other paying customers. The kids asked for a little more time with the dolphins and were told no. We came back to pick the girls up at 4 pm and noticed that the girls still had no hats on or any sunglasses. By this time it was still very hot and some of the trainers were even under umbrellas and had zinc oxide on their lips. Our children were sitting in the sun. Our little one kept yelling out that she wanted to leave.

As we were leaving, our older daughter said that at lunch time they were told to go for lunch and come back in an hour and when she asked the trainer if he was going to take them for lunch he said no. Given the fact that the resort is huge and that despite the fact that dolphinaris says their services at this location are only for people from the resort, they confirmed that they were allowing people in from the public beach down the road. We were angry that as promised there was no concern for the girls safety and the promise of lunch supervision was a lie. Also, our younger daughter's forehead and arms were so burned she was crying. She ended up staying in our room for the next couple of days because she couldn't even put on a shirt.

We approached Dolphinaris management with our concerns and were met with "but did they have fun". We advised that despite them having fun, the safety and health of our children was put at risk in a number of areas and we asked for our money back. We never got any apology or indication of any concern. Instead we were offered hats for the girls. Finally after about 3 days of threatening to sit outside of dolphinaris and let the customers know about what happened, we were offered 1/2 the cost of admission to "go away". We took this but are extremely concerned that a company whose demographic seems to be familys, doesn't care about the welfare of children at all. This place is not recommended at all.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WebMasterIT, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Dolphinaris Tulum, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear visitor, we apologize for the misunderstanding you had. We don’t allow our visitors to use sun cream for the dolphins’ welfare. We don’t provide shirts but we recommend our visitors to wear a t-shirt if they wish to be protected from the sun. Caps and sunglasses aren’t permitted because dolphins can be scared. The only people who can use umbrellas are the photographers due to the cameras when it’s raining. We really appreciate our visitors’ understanding. We know that people who come to Dolphinaris love dolphins and are aware of the weather in the Caribbean.

We have different programs which have different activities and vary in time and length. The activities are very well organized for certain time and cannot be repeated since the program has to continue. We recommend people to contact us to solve all their questions and choose the best program for them since every person or family’s interests are different.

Making people have a great time is our priority and we are always willing to give you advice before your swim. We have a customer service department that can assist you and our visitor will enjoy the swim very much.

Thank you for visiting Dolphinaris and you are always very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphinaris Tulum also viewed

 

Been to Dolphinaris Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphinaris Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.