We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian Style Sandwiches!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gourmet

El Gourmet
Av. Tulum esquina Centauro Sur, Tulum 77780, Mexico
984 1469989
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 202 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $5 - $9
Cuisines: Italian, Tapas, Vegetarian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Description: It is an Italian Deli which offers the best panini in town.It has a wide variety of cold meats & imported cheese such as speck, bresaola, prosciutto, gorgonzola, fontina, emmental, parmigiano, romano, etc. Its fresh different types of bread, cookies, croissants and cakes are delicious. Various pastas, ravioli, gnocchi, rice, meat, fish to cook and sauces, pestos, olives, aceto, mustard, artichokes, extra olive oil are excellent!
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Style Sandwiches!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Fantastic! Great bread (much nicer than Italian bread I have had in Italy!) and brilliant choice of international fillings, cheeses, meats, veggies and sauces. I chose my fillings myself and opted for gouda, swiss cheese, genova salami, lettuce and olive oil on a rosemary ciabatta. My boyfriend went for a veggie filled option. Both toasted and served on wooden plates, we got fruit juices which were more like fruit waters than the fruit mixes other places but were pleasantly refreshing. My boyfriend's dripped with the juices of the vegetables and the olive oil, mine was too much for me to finish so they wrapped it for me in foil and I had the second half with my dinner! It is a little deli style place, with tables and italian goodies to buy. The owner was friendly and upbeat despite being quite pregnant in the Tulum heat. It was around 80/100 pesos for a sandwich, so reasonable for the quality but not for the tight budgeted. We thought it was well worth it even though we were over budget already!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    60
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent little deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch and had an excellent meal. The staff was very pleasant, the food was delicious, and there was even a friendly old dog named, Juan. I can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“The Best Little Italian Sandwich Shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In the middle of downtown Tulum, among the souvenir shops, restaurants and ice cream stores is a small Italian deli serving perfect lattes and grilled sandwiches. If you closed your eyes you could be in Rome. A little Spanish helps but the friendly staff, who prepare everything to order, speak English too and you could not ask for friendlier people.

The shop stocks some nice cheeses and meeas, bread that is baked fresh daily and several shelves of Italian staples. But go for the joy of a good espresso and a panini which you can enjoy in comfortable wicker chairs on the sidewalk terrace while the world goes by and the pet dog sleeps beside your table.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'll Be Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in Tulum for 4 days and this was one of our favorite places for lunch and afternoon coffee. I would highly recommend the Tulum sandwich. For a drink, ask for a carrot/orange/ginger juice. Next order the brownie with nutella and nuts for dessert. Don't forget your coffee. The owners were exceptionally friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be coming back here when we make it back to Tulum.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Salami Heaven!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great breads and meat - had lunch from here a few times during our stay. The Tulum sandwich is delicious!

Owner is nice (albeit a bit tired and grumpy - was pregnant during our visit)

Great place to relax (comfy chairs) and people watch, while munching on a delicious panini or homemade brownies.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gourmet also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gourmet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.