We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Siesta is a reliable and solid choice for paella, italian and pizza.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Siesta

La Siesta
Calle Centauro Sur 10 | esq. Andromeda, Tulum 77780, Mexico
984 156 9300 / 984 879 6675
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #25 of 190 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Restaurant “La Siesta” is located in Tulum downtown, in the beautiful Riviera Maya. Surrounded by a luxuriant garden, La Siesta is a cozy and romantic place. The wide space can host big groups, organize birthdays and private parties as well business dinners and work groups.Our cuisine is simple but international, using only fresh ingredients and natural products and offering affordable prices. Our “pasta” is daily homemade: lasagna, fettuccine, ravioli and gnocchi. The fish and the local seafood (caught daily): lobsters, shrimps and a wide range of seafood that you can also taste in our famous “paella”.And the meat in the typical Mexican and Argentinean cuts, naturally grilled or tasted with the peculiar recipes of our menu.Last but not least the great pizza, obviously cooked in the wood stove. All the menu can match with our varied wine cellar, a refreshing beer or a special cocktail.We also offer the home delivery service from 1 pm to 11 pm; no extra charge in downtown and 20 pesos for each delivery for the hotels located on Tulum beach.
Austin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“La Siesta is a reliable and solid choice for paella, italian and pizza.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been to La Siesta on each of out last four trips to Tulum and find it to be consistent and enjoyable. First we tried the pizza and pasta, then the arracheria and on this trip we had paella which was a solid choice. Took over half home as the size was big enough for two or three. Has a wide variety of menu and we still need to try the Mexican and the House specials. Lots of Italians and Argentinos in the crowd so something is good. The calzone takeoff was large enough for 2 people and a small salad make the perfect meal. Ephraim has been there each visit speaks better English than my Spanish so no worries. Have delivery, lunch and nightly specials and most entrees are big enough for the two of us so we order an app and an entree at a very reasonable price. Free WiFi!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    79
    33
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch experience for our large group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

We had a large group (30 people) for lunch here over our wedding weekend. It was an excellent experience all around--great service, outdoor atmosphere and the best pizza. Our group was raving about it all weekend. Liliana was so lovely to work with planning our party and made it a very easy experience for us. Highly recommended for a group or for anyone!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del carmen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best italian food in Tulum!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

La Siesta is delicious! Brick oven pizza, handmade pasta and great fish; beautiful garden with lots of space and air!!!! The owner is very attentive to her guests, a great food experience, very relaxing atmosphere and the price is very good for the quality!
If you are looking for a great place downtown tulum with good prices, great food and great atmosphere, look no further.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very nice, off the path local italian place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have eaten at La Siesta in Tulum about three times in the past three months and look forward each time to a return.
A very broad menu with pasta, pizza and seafood. While they are best known for their brick oven pizza I like the Calzone better. Also the pasta in made on site and it is fun to walk in the back and see how the pizza and pasta is made.
Lots of seafood dishes on the menu but the baisc pasta is always good.
Ephraim has been there on every visit and you will hear more Italian, Portuguese and dialect from Argentina from the other tables than Spanish. It draws a broad crowd with reasonable prices, daily specials, happy hour and good food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
1 review
“A special place to taste delicious italian food and live a happy and relaxing atmosphere!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed in Tulum for my holiday and had the chance to find this beautiful place! All the dishes are true italian food with a selection of international plates and fish, the pizzas are amazing and the staff so easy and really friendly, well located and perfect prices, you feel at home! i really recommend it !
Hope to go back soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Siesta also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Siesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Siesta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.