We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Since they Open always Nice...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamar Restaurant and Lounge - CLOSED

Altamar Restaurant and Lounge
Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
52 (1) 984 115 4728
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Since they Open always Nice...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Beautiful place, nice bar, nice people, service perfect, the food amazing and different fusion, nice music , a nice place to visit with friends or your beloved one..

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    25
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Please ignore the snobbish reviews! This restaurant is amazing! Freshly caught and cooked seafood, great wine, an ok veggie selection and wonderful, warm service. This is where the local hoteliers eat, that says it all! Love this place :) also, atmospheric lighting not dark at all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average at best.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

To honest this was the only place, on our Mexico vacation where we didn't finish the meal.
Food was ok at best, the setting is very very simple, but honestly can't ask for much because it's tulum, very poor little city. So it's hard to fairly compare, maybe in Tulum it's one of the best places, but in many places I would even not call this a restaurant.
Plus you have the view on the street full of garbage and no light.
And the price weren't cheap either.
Would suggest driving to Sahara cafe 10km from Tulum if you looking for something really nice, or to Oscar and Lalo at least better than this place anyway.
Sorry no pictures, had only from the phone so dark can't see anything anyway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was rated as one of the best restaurants in Tulum, then it does not say much about the dining options in Tulum. I've travelled the world over and live in Chicago. My dinner partner lives part-time in Miami and Italy. We both found the food just OK and can find better. The place is beautiful, the service is great, the chef is nice, the presentation of the food is good. But the food was nothing memorable. Also, they were out of fajitas and Carnes!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puebla, Mexico
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“BEST food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The menu is not super long but they know want they are doing. All things that we tried were incredible. The food was super fresh and the wines were excellent. The decor was very good and I only have a complain they just open for dinner I will eat there all day

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamar Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamar Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.