We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamar Restaurant and Lounge

Altamar Restaurant and Lounge
Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
52 (1) 984 115 4728
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 204 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Four of us stopped here for an early dinner on the night of 8 Feb. We had no reservations, but were quickly seated at a large table. The service was great, the staff knew the menu, and the specials of the day were great.
The four of us had: Sea Bass w/ and olive tapanade & Veggi pasta, Steak & Lobster with portobello mashed potato, Grilled mango shrimp, Veggi pasta and a Seafood bisque. The portions were good, and the average cost per person (with beverage) was about 275 pesos ($21 US) ....we did not have room for desert.
The only problem with this restaurant is that it is open, and 20 yards from the Highway 307 (main street through Tulum)......so there was quite a bit of bus/truck and general traffic noise.......but, that will not stop us from eating here again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    116
    25
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

All four of us agreed that this was our best meal of the week in the Tulum / Akumal area. The food was great and well presented; the service was helpful and cheerful. Others have noted that Altamar is among the more expensive restaurants (true), but we still think it was good value. We would definitely return.
One thing to note: like many other restaurants we visited, they seem to close early. By 9:45, we were the last patrons there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
“No more than the best in Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We never imagine that you would fine a place like this in Tulum. The food ,the service and the place are at the highest standar that you can find in the best restaurants around the world. Definitly a Dine that you cant miss. I was there several times An We would back in a heart bit. You can not miss a dinner at Altamat if you are in Tulum. Prices are more than reazonable for the quality that you will get. Thank you John and Eric for the best dinner in our holiday
Rose and Marcelo Millar

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Dont go here to eat, go here to dine.For the best food in Tulum. Charming hosts who if you ask will guide you through the wonderful Tequila experience. It is pricey but worth every penny.So good we went back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Getting ready to make cerviche tonight thanks to Chef Eric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you want to take home a souvenir that keeps on giving take Eric's cooking class at Altamar. We made all the foods that are mentioned in the other experiences listed on tripadvisor and could not agree more, this is a top notch experience. His English is very understandable and I ate food with jalapenos and habranero's - with my Scandinavian taste buds....i can't believe it but he teaches you about culinary BALANCE. We so enjoyed his food. Do not hesitate to take this class, worth every penny! Even though it is going to about 10 degrees this weekend we will be eating an authentic Mayan meal - thanks Eric.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamar Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya

Been to Altamar Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamar Restaurant and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.