We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful rooms, not the best location or breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Luna Llena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Luna Llena to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Luna Llena
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   calle 6 sur entre calle 9 sur y calle 11 sur | la Veleta, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
breda, holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful rooms, not the best location or breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

we had a nice welcoming in Posada Luna Llena, very friendly. Really beautifull room with nice clean towels, beddings, great shower, safe, closet, and balcony with clothing line. We did think that the breakfast was somewhat little, especially if you are the last one coming in in the mornings. Next to that it is walkable to town (about 15 minutes if you are fast) but not to the beach, and everything you want to do costs a taxiride. Not much, but still, we would have loved to have a bike with the room as many hotels/hostels have around town. It would make the tour to town and even cenote daytrips much easier and your stay a lot cheaper. Due to construction the builing is pretty noisy, though other guests try to keep their voice down. Als not much sun in the courtyard & swimming pool due to the big builings on both sides (the posada itself). Again, pro's: a beautifull complete room and friendlyness.

Room Tip: ask for one in an other builing then the breakfast builing because of the noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    14
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
13
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Heavy handed tactics, intimidation, threats, theft, lies, and an eviction on a short notice, nothing seems underhanded enough for Francesca. All of these and more were used to evict me after a stay of five months at that hotel. I paid on time, was a quiet client, and the staff liked me. Francesca, who can become hysterical at any moment and hasn't a clue about conducting a business, also has a problem controlling her tongue. She accused me of destroying a chair. Assuredly, this was the product of normal wear and tear, and I stated that hotels are covered by insurance for this sort of thing. This sent her into a hysterical fit, and she resorted to all of the above tactics in order to get rid of me. Great way to treat a client, the only client at the time, for the place was near empty when this happened! If I were you, I would consider any other place than this for my vacation. There are many far better hotels in and around Tulum, so there is no lack of options.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa del carmen
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Me and my Wife spent a few days in Tulum, i can tell you this little jem we discover will be always in our thoughts, it was jus perfect, personal attention by the co-owner Francesca....good sleeping, nice location.. We will be back
Ciao Francesca

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Travelling for three weeks in Yucatán this was the best place we stayed in. So friendly and welcoming staff, excellent service. Stylish, comfortable and very clean rooms. Good breakfast (sometimes with Francesca's home made muffins!). Friendly (english speaking) taxi service to take you to/from beach and town - very cheap and convenient. Our warmest recommendations! /Klara and Anders, Denmark/Sweden

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Francesca and Roberto have a beautiful place just on the ourskirts of Tulum. They were very friendly, full of excellent advice, fantastic staff, maintained a very very clean place. We'd recommend this Luna Llena to anyone who visits Tulum and wants genuine hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This small hotel was the best one in which we stayed in Mexico: comfortable and pretty bedroom (best bed ever!!), design bathroom, beautiful garden and amazing swimming pool.
Francesca, the host, is pure kindness, she was our gardian angel during our staying in Tulum and helped us a lot! She's a mix of elegance, patience and generosity!
The rest of the team (Jose, etc) are the best, making you feel at home in this oasis in the middle of the jungle!
Also as a gay couple we felt really comfortable in this gay friendly environment.
Just don't hesitate and book your room! This is THE place in Tulum!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I had bought this hotel through a Groupon offer and was pleasently surprised by this little gem, hidden in the jungle of Tulum.

The Luna Llena is small but very charming. On one side the owner rents condos, the backside offers lovely decorated hotel rooms and in the courtyard you find an inviting cute pool amidst lush vegetation shared by both the condos and the actual hotel rooms.

The owner Fransesca is always open for a little chat, was present at the hotel throughout my whole stay (2 nights) and cares a lot about her guests having a pleasant and relaxing time at Luna Llena.

The nicest part of my stay was enjoying a serene evening at the hotel, since it's located in the middle of the jungle you have a lot of bug noise coming from the trees, just like one of these dreammaker noise machines but live! By the way, make sure to bring along repellent for the same reason.

The only backdrop is that the Luna Llena is a little far from the beach, you need to either come in your car or take a taxi everytime you'd like to visit either downtown Tulum or the beach but this really should not stop you from staying at Luna Llena as I am sure you will highly enjoy your visit there. Myself I will be back for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Luna Llena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Luna Llena

Address: calle 6 sur entre calle 9 sur y calle 11 sur | la Veleta, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Luna Llena 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We discovered the caribe mexicano in 2003 and we immediately fell in love with this magical place and the Riviera Maya. After two years, just enough time to organize our lives in Italy, we moved to Playa del Carmen where we lived four years, until in 2010 we created the Luna Llena Hotel & Residence Drawn directly from Robert, he is an architect, after less than year, everything has come to life and I started to take care of the hotel. Our rooms are decorated in a modern style but attentive to the place that hosts us,have a king or queen size, has a large private bathroom with hairdryer and complimentary toiletries, satellite TV, free wi-fi, air conditioning, ceiling fans , Large closets and a safe. In some we are able to add a second bed or cot. All enjoy the splendid views of the tropical garden with swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Posada Luna Llena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Luna Llena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.