We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an awesomely wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalupa Hostal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chalupa Hostal to your Saves list
Chalupa Hostal
Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 65 Tulum B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“an awesomely wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I entered Hostal Chalupa and met the friendly face of the proprieter Andrea. She made me feel welcomed and showed me to my private room. Clean comfortable beds and a nice big bathroom-big shower too. The rooms also have air con if it gets a lil too hot or humid. I didnt need it-was cool at night and if i got hot the Hostal has a lil Piscina which is such a great treat. The roof deck was quite a treat too-esp to hang out at night. The kitchen at Chalupa is all vegetarian-I had some of my best meals there: chilli rellenos, cold avocado soup, veggie lasagna, seitan enchiladas, tortilla soup and delicious salads-everything fresh and made to order with fresh fruit juices to accompany the meal. The whole staff is friendly and makes you feel like you belong at the Chalupa. The other hostal guests were cool too. They also have bikes you can rent to get around town, ride to the ruins right down the road and get to the beach. Excellent vibe-no doubt I will be back soon. Oh yes did i mention EXTREMELY affordable???? Check out the Chalupa1

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    13
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
19
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

a charming newly renoveted hostel, with amasing stuf..........exelant location, 5 min drive to the beach, and 5 min walk to down town, the hostel is very clean, the have a kichen that you can use and internet.
and the prices are chep..............privet room was 450 pesos..........u cannot bit it.........
enjoy and have fan.............

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
igbhggygfc
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

very nice charming place, great location 5 min walk from downtown, and 5 min drive to the beach.
the rooms are clean. the staff is wanderfull, very nice and hellfull.
will be back any time,
make sure to day hi to friderica.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

This is a newly built Hostel, so it's pleasantly, spotlessly clean and reassuringly solid. It's also beautifully simple, built and decorated by the local Mayan builders and artists. Its staff is smart, incredibly helpful, conscientious and very cosmopolitan. Chalupa sits right at the start of the town, on the road to the beach, which is an easy walk -- or you can rent a bike or catch a cab or bus right in front of the Hostel. There are markets, rental and tour shops, and banks with ATM's nearby. The staff is very well connected to great places in town, and in the surrounding area, and they'll give you the exact directions you need to give you a thoroughly restful, and fun, vacation. The prices were perfect ... extremely reasonable in my opinion, and a stunningly good value ... so it's a great place to use as a base for a couple of weeks. It also has Wi-Fi, a talented and enthusiastic vegetarian chef, a relaxing downstairs lounge, and a huge rooftop patio with a view of the stars that makes you forget everything.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I have been to Tulum many times & Hostal Chalupa is now my favorite place to stay. The staff is really friendly & accomodating; they make excellent suggestions for food & activities. I also like that there is a cook on site who will make you a great meal for very little money or you can stock on your own at the grocery accross the street. The pool makes for a great place to catch morning rays with coffee & the roofdeck is excellent for an evening cocktail under the stars. Muy Bueno!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

...Hostal Chalupa is so great!!!..cheap price for very clean and comfortable place ...not easy to find this kind of situation around the Mexico..the stuff is friendly and funny so even if you travel by your self you can't feel alone in that place...at the same time is very quiet and relaxing.....close to the beach an not far to downtown....on the opposite side of the street you can find the supermarket S'Francisco ( usuful!!! ) and taxi collettivo stop just on the corner and it's so easy to move to Akumal or everywhere you want......i will come back cause i missed that place!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010 via mobile

My stay at Chalupa Hostal was amaaaaaazing! It is centrally located near the beach, shopping, mayan ruins and a jumping downtown nightlife! (Woooohoooo!) The staff are fantastic and the vegetarian kitchen is to die for. Can't wait to return again this spring!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalupa Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalupa Hostal

Address: Av. Tulum con crucero Av. Coba, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located begining of the road that leads to the beach, we have spacious rooms with double beds and private baths in all rooms. We are close to the shopping center and banks which are at the entrance of Tulum town ,and are only 3 kilometors from the beach.Services:- Air conditioning.- 24 hr electricty and hot and cold water- Pool- Roof deck with lounge chairs- Bike rental- Vegetarian kitchen.Sale of liquor, information on tours and places to visit. Nos encontramos en la entrada de la carretera que conduce a la playa, tenemos amplias habitaciones con cama doble y baño privado en todas las habitaciones. Estamos cerca del centro comercial y los bancos que están en la entrada del pueblo de Tulum, a sólo 3 kilometros de la playaServicios: - Aire acondicionado. - 24 horas de electricidad, agua caliente y fría - Piscina. - Techo terraza con camastros. - Alquiler de bicicletas. - Cocina vegetariana.Venta de licor, información sobre excursiones y lugares para visitar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Chalupa Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalupa Hostal Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalupa Hostal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.