We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a nice location on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Piedra Escondida

Restaurant Piedra Escondida
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km 3.5 | Km 3.5, Tulum 77760, Mexico
+52 984 100 1443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #100 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking
Description: In the Piedra Escondida Restaurant, a cozy place with spectacular ocean view and an open terrace on the beach, we serve breakfast, lunch and dinner offering favorites such as Pepata di Cozze e Vongole, a dish of mussels and clams or Fish Fillet Tikinchik with annatto. With almost 2 dozen dishes of juicy chicken, perfectly cooked steak and enticing fresh seafood, your meal will delight and please your senses.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food in a nice location on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This restaurant is a good value for the money. The food's good, not incredible, but it's less expensive than other places we went to. We were there in a rain storm, so we sat inside and couldnt really see the view of the beach, but its probably really nice. Definitely a good place to eat in Tulum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    28
    8
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best seafood I've ever had...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Special was a "for 2" seafood platter - awesome local lobster, grouper and huge shrimp from Campeche, also squid - perfectly prepared - with butter and fresh garlic - Wow! Gorgeous little enclosed beach area to dine alfresco - perfect meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

During my recent stay in Tulum, I stopped here twice (once for drinks and appetizers and once for breakfast). The beachfront location is beautiful. They have a very nice cocktail list and the appetizers were also really good. I also tried their tuna dip, which was very different and addictive. Breakfast was also excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD & AMBIANCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The restaurant ambiance and decor is very nice, it has a hippie chic style and it sits right on the beach. It has indoor and outdoor seating.
We went at night and it was very romantic.
We ordered lobster and fettucine with pesto and even though it was a simple dish, the flavours were amazing, definitely one of the best we've ever had!
We thought the price was average in comparison to the rest of the restaurants in hotels in Tulum which are not cheap.
For dessert we ordered a crepe with nutela and strawberries and we were told the kitchen people had eat them all! It was late at night. Funny but nothing major, we had it just with nutela and it was fine. LOL!
The service was not great but good.
Overall a nice experience.
I would definitely recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Solid - great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I ate here almost every day while staying at the hotel and never had a bad meal. The staff was laid back yet helpful in making recommendations. They clearly take great care with water safety while preparing food and I appreciated it! The outdoor seating is hard to beat - right on the beach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Piedra Escondida also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurant Piedra Escondida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Piedra Escondida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.