We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local seafood joint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Camello

El Camello
Avenida Tulum & Luna Sur, Tulum, Mexico
529848712036
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 252 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great local seafood joint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a real local experience and delicious no nonsense fish, this is the place. We had a fish filet and grilled shrimp dishes - incredibly fresh and delicious. This is not a fancy place, but expect fresh, hot, and fast food. The habanero sauce that comes with the tortilla chips is especially worthwhile, but VERY hot. Good lunch spot!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    307
    80
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent ceviche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The locals recommended this place and said the ceviche was worth a visit, and that the prices were very affordable. They were right on the spot! We loved the ceviche - we had the mixed with fish, shrimp and octopus, and it really was excellent. The fish tacos were also very good and their picante sauce topped it off! Service was fast and professional. All for a very good price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok Food, Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had heard they had good fish and wanted to try it, so we went there one evening for dinner, we asked the server about the whole fried fish & he said they were out of it, so i tried the tixnic fish & my husband had the garlic fish, it was ok but what upset me was when another family walked in after us & when they got their order they had the fried fish(2 orders of it) i was told was over, after asking the waiter he nonchalantly said it was 'Bigger Fish' so i told him what he did was wrong as he didn't even mention it to me. I guess the sad thing is i felt that because i wasn't white he didn't think to offer it to me while the other family was white. Sad that i have to say this but it happened to me. Never will i send anyone there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good food & prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

bit far from center of Tulum, but worth to try. Its not the best looking place in the town, but the food is really tasty, and the prices are good as well.. 2main dishes, shrims and squids, 2 sodas and it was 260pessos.. But go there earlier for dinner coz it may be full, or they may be out of fresh seefood,.. Earlier means up to 18:00

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredibly Fresh Fish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Hi All,
I am very pleased to review this tipical Mexican restaurant. We have discovered it asking for information about real food to eat to a taxi driver. Without a doubt he replied "El Camello! Is where we eat". Amazing!
We where looking for skipping the touristic restaurants with expensive fish for 200 pesos and a fake atmosphere.
El Camello is authentic, full at any time of the day of a splendid mix of local and turists of any age. A simple tasteful menu and HUGE portion!!! A medium Chevice is enough for two for 95 pesos!! Delicious!
What is amazing is seeing fisherman bringing fish continuously, it is immediately cooked and served, not even time to freeze it due to the fact that is always full.
Delicious fresh fish guys! Do not miss it! Avenue Tulum right at the end if you come from Tulum ruins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Camello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.