We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Camello

El Camello
Avenida Tulum & Luna Sur, Tulum, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 203 restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: local fish market at south end of town. Market open in the morning, restaurant open til the days catch is all gone.
Montpellier, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Usually have to queue up for a seat but its worth it!
Great local sea food run by locals and hope its stays the same cheesy interior included!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    352
    172
    45
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun little local seafood joint.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great seafood at the far end of Tulum Pueblo, popular with locals and tourists alike. Also has a little fish market attached. Go early, it gets busy. We went for an early lunch around 11:30, it was quite full by the time we left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seafood delight!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

El Camello is on the main street of Tulum, and yes, just like many other restaurants in Mexico, it has plastic chairs, and is open air, with music. Tulum has great fresh seafood--and locals stop by El Camello to buy their fish, squid, and shrimp--all of which is available in the corner store of the restaurant. The fish here is really fresh, and good. Their 'small' ceviche is large enough to share. The fish tacos deserve their stellar reputation. Next time I'd like to be hungry enough to try the whole grouper. Local families were also enjoying the food, and everyone was happy. Mosquitoes? Sure, once in while, but nothing like the north woods. El Camello is a little down the main street of Tulum, but well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and cold beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Seafood soup was excellent! We travel to mexico every year and have been to alot of different places and this was byfar my husbands favorite soup so far. I myself didn't care for the crab in the soup but everthing else was very good. Service is a little slow and you will wait a while for a table if they are busy. I guess cuz they are just that busy.. as long as we had cold beer we didn't mind :) We ate there twice during our stay and both times were very good. We will be back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Swimming against the tide”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I know that everyone goes on about this place, but why? Its a dilapidated open front restaurant at the edge of town on a busy highway with plastic tables and chairs.You get more attention from flies and mosquitos than from the waiter. So you must be there for the fresh food, wrong. The food is stale and badly presented, There is nothing positive to say about this dump exept it didnt kill us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Camello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.