We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for fish tacos and ceviche” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Camello

El Camello
Avenida Tulum & Luna Sur, Tulum, Mexico
529848712036
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 252 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Chowder, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
South Jersey, NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stop for fish tacos and ceviche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Our driver stop here before taking us to our tulum cabana on the beach!! It was a great first meal in tulum. Cervesas, fish taco and mixed ceviche, order the small and this is plenty for two. We ate for less than $20

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    554
    306
    80
    35
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Both locals and tourists flock this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Freshest of the freshest seafod here. It's located towards the south part of Tulum Pueblo (past Subway if you're coming from the north). We traveled as a couple and ordered medium mixed seafood ceviche and octopus with rice/beans. The octopus is buttery good! The servers barely speak English though. The place is not airconditioned, restrooms are so modest they don't have a toilet seat. Soda is served straight from the bottle with straws. They give you free chips and salsa to start.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Busy, popular spot with lots of locals. My boyfriend's favorite restaurant in Tulum. Lots of choices and friendly, quick service while we were there. Good prices too. Worth heading the little distance south of town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Best seafood in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

If you feeel like a nice casual seafood lunch, when you have to come here. Everything is great! And we ansolutely loved the fish dip with chips they serve before meals. Cheap beer, great food, friendly staff..glad we found that place by accident..! A nice break from overpriced mediocre beachfront " restaurants"!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hubby's Fave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place was sooo good. It had been recommended by the driver from the airport, the hotel staff, and the taxi driver. The transfer driver had told us that the father, "El Camello" is a fisherman who catches all the seafood. His son, "El Camello Jr" runs the restaurant so this was a true family business. A plate of shark dip came out that was soo good. The guacamole was good as well--not the best we ate all week, but definitely up there as one of the better ones. We both ate the fish filet cooked in garlic and it was one of the better things we ate all week.

The best part was the price. We had 2 drinks, a bottle of water, an appetizer, and two full meals, and still paid half the price of anywhere else we ate all week.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Camello also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Camello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Camello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.