We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we heard about this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloria de Don Pepe

La Gloria de Don Pepe
Orion Sur 57 | Esquina Andromeda Ote, Tulum 77780, Mexico
9841524471
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 202 restaurants in Tulum
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Utah
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Glad we heard about this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have visited Tulum numerous times, but for some reason this little place on a side street off the main drag has escaped us. After a friend pointed us to Don Pepe, we ended up dining here 3 times in a week. Having traveled extensively though out all regions of Spain we are very familiar with the tradition of tapas and paella. Typically in Spain a tapas establishment will display an array of dishes on the bar from which you can choose according to your taste and desires. Here at Don Pepe you order from their menu, and your selections are brought to your table. We sampled a variety of classics including the albondigas (meatballs), chistora (spicy sausage), and pollo al ajillo (chicken in garlic). All were fresh, hot and deeply flavorful. The Catalan salad is also a good choice as it consists of a selection of fresh greens topped with an assortment of Spanish style cured meats and cheese. It's big enough to share and makes for a good starter. One night we met some friends, grabbed a street side table and ordered the mixed paella. Having eaten bad paella on many occasions, we are always a bit apprehensive about what will be coming. Don Pepe certainly did not disappoint. The made to order dish was loaded with large whole (head on) shrimp, clams, mussels, chicken and pork, expertly cooked on a bed of flavorful, aromatic rice. We also shared a couple of bottles of a light, dry refreshing Spanish white wine that complimented the meal perfectly. The owners provide friendly and attentive service and seem to be genuinely grateful for your business. Nest time we are in Tulum, we will most definitely return to this charming little eatery.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    145
    32
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place for a local Tulum dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had trouble finding it but it was well worth the it. This great restaurant offered great food and a way to sit and watch the local people living their normal lives. I especially enjoyed the meatballs and rice. The young man riding past on his bicycle tooting his horn and selling "Pan" bread. The bread is declicious. The owner spoke English and everyone there was great hostesses and hosts. I look forward to going there again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Tapas in Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We made two new friends walking into this restaurant. Food was exceptional . The owners are wonderful warm people who know the town well. They have great wine also and the service can't be beat. Located on a charming side street we highly recommend you add this to your list on your trip to Tulum!

Tony and Donna

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small place, big flavor, small price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Oh yeah... This place is on a quiet side street, and it's just really simple, delicious, and cheap... The owner was really friendly, as well... Don't miss it...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“authentic spain in mexico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We visited in march 2013, loved the food, wish we had found it earlier in our holiday.
The aldondigas were good, well seasoned and meaty.
The gambas pil-pil were as good as we've had anywhere.
The platter of queso y carnes was excellent and we have had some of the best in Spain!
The service by the lady of the house was friendly and uncomplicated.
If the owner had spent less time leaning against my rental car and chatting to ( his son ? ) I might have given them six out of five!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria de Don Pepe also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Gloria de Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloria de Don Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.