We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Gloria de Don Pepe

La Gloria de Don Pepe
Orion Sur 57 | Esquina Andromeda Ote, Tulum 77780, Mexico
9841524471
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gibbons, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Been out and about for two weeks. Playa del carman. Akumul etc. This is the PLACE to go. A must. Friendly and so so tasty... Yeppers a ten.
Thank you so much. :)
J & S
From Gibbons Alberta

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    37
    12
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great little place off the main road in Tulum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have seen this place mentioned on TA and put it on our list and are we glad we did! Tapas, paella, really a varied menu in a small quaint building one block the main street. Half the customers were locaks and half tourists like us.
We had some wine and sat bya table by the door and watched what the locals ordered. We had meatballs, cheese, bruschetta, grilled veggies and more wine.
A perfect light meal and saw plenty of things served that will bring us back. Family run and very laid back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We love La Gloria!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We travel to Tulum every 3 months as we own land there (no house yet!), and we always have a meal at La Gloria when we are there. This is not "fine dining" a la Cetli (which we also love) but it is delicious, home made, made with love excellent food at a very reasonable price. The owners are kind and gracious, and the paella is fabulous. We cannot think of a better way to pass an evening with friends than sitting outside on the street eating paella and tapas with REALLY good house wine to wash it down. We are so grateful this little restaurant exists in Tulum, as it is a town of many good but expensive dining choices which don't always live up to expectations. La Gloria always does and we are always happy to have an evening there. Her meatballs are to die for by the way!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Much Ambiance But Really Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's right on the street, but not a real busy street. Everything we ordered was prepared as we watched it happening (even the margaritas, no mix here) , very fresh, interesting flavors, and really nice owner. This is what a foreign dining experience should be...great value, well prepared, and lots of local ingredients. Has that neighborhood feel to it. I'd have given it a 5 if the location were prettier, but then I guess it would have cost twice as much!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa Valley
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Tapas in a Local Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This charming small tapa restaurant offers excellent tapas in a quiet location one block off the main Tulum street. Specials are offered and the menu in Spanish and English provides an easy opportunity to review the food before ordering. The women who I believe to be the owner speaks good English. The staff is very friendly.

We suggest that you try the Tortillas de Pappas and the eggplant, pepper, onion and garlic dish cooked in olive oil.

We had the opportunity to have a local guitar playing singer come by and sit with us as he played a stirring version of Cielito Lindo. Normally we shy away from such things but in the quiet setting of the restaurant it transformed a street vendor situation into a truly romantic moment.

Prices for two that evening were about $15 a person for five tapa dishes and non-alcoholic drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Gloria de Don Pepe also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Gloria de Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Gloria de Don Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.