We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, fantastic view, exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ziggy's

Ziggy's
Road Tulum-Boca Paila km7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
01984-1575569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Caribbean sun, sweeping white sand beach, big coconut trees, and a breathtaking view of the turquoise sea. This is not a description of Daniel Defoe's Robinson Cruseo, it is the location of Ziggy's,Beach Club and Restaurant. Open from 7am-11pm every day. We offer our guests three different types of menu: international Breakfast - tasteful snacks and Lunch at our Beach club - fine gourmet Dinner selection. It’s the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. This is the place to go for delicious seafood and excellent drinks.We offer 2x1 on cocktails and beers every day from 12pm-6pm!
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic view, exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Tables right out on the beach under the palms for shade were perfect for lunch! Any meal where you can take your shoes off and wiggle your toes in the sand mid-meal is a score in my book. I ordered a fresh coconut juice with lime and rum served straight out of the coconut with a straw, and I would have order those all day if I could. We ordered two kinds of ceviche, one was extremely tart, but the other (which included mango) was perfect. We could hardly finish as the portions were quite large. Also ordered tacos, shrimp with huitlacoche. Delicious! Special thanks to our server Roberto for the wonderful service. Would definitely come again and recommend to friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    105
    25
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stansbury park, utah
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“Yummy on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed next door at The Beach Tulum, and ate here several times since breakfast was included. Friendly staff and good food at a slow Mexican pace. Let them know if you're in a hurry and they will accommodate. Happy hour is 4 to 6 pm. Better than other offerings we found at the beach. They will bring it to your room if you ask, no big deal. Also will fill your ice chest daily.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Random Act of Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

After getting fed up with our all-inclusive resort in Playa del Carmen (the Royal), on our last day, my wife suggested we rent a car and go down and check out Tulum. We had not been here in 15 years, and have heard it was growing, so we headed out on a spur of the moment adventure. We stopped at Ziggy's because the exterior looked good, they had parking and we wanted to get out on the beach ASAP. We are SO glad we stopped. We spent the majority of the day lounging on their awesome beach drinking their awesome FRESH (which is one thing we were sorely missing at the Royal) drinks. Rosita was our waitress and was there when we needed her, and not when we didn't. It rained for about 20 minutes, which is normal, nobody blinked, they just moved everyone under the big palapa, kept the drinks coming and helped move your stuff back out once it stopped and the sun came back out. The menu looked awesome, but we didn't eat. The downside is, the drinks were a tad pricy, but they were fresh and it was gorgeous so we didn't mind.

The adjacent hotel looked very cool, and we may stay there next time we head to Mexico.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“beach dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Dinner on the beach, try the Shrimp tacos, and the tuna "carnitas"....be sure to get a table right down on the sand. Service is not quick, but it's Mexico time....an eclectic eatery.....try it you will like it

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWFL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't Be In A Hurry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

While we found the wait staff friendly and smiling; they simply do not get in any hurry......my wife and I discussed this, at length each time we ate.......only ate dinner one evening and it took us about 2 hours. Breakfast was about an hour each time over a 4 day period; we were staying at the hotel.

The food selection was limited; as we compared to other eateries on the beach. Food was served in timely manner once order was placed; but getting service for more drinks was pretty hard to come by...........bartender's move at one pace.

We had brunch at couple other places on the beach and the service and food delivery start to finish never took more than an hour....great food quality, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggy's also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ziggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziggy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.