We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziggy's

Ziggy's
Road Tulum-Boca Paila km7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
01984-1575569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 202 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Seafood, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Caribbean sun, sweeping white sand beach, big coconut trees, and a breathtaking view of the turquoise sea. This is not a description of Daniel Defoe's Robinson Cruseo, it is the location of Ziggy's,Beach Club and Restaurant. Open from 7am-11pm every day. We offer our guests three different types of menu: international Breakfast - tasteful snacks and Lunch at our Beach club - fine gourmet Dinner selection. It’s the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. This is the place to go for delicious seafood and excellent drinks.We offer 2x1 on cocktails and beers every day from 12pm-6pm!
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had breakfast all 6 mornings as part of Cabanas Tulum one lunch and then dessert another night.
Breakfast - service can be hit or miss, all are friendly but sometimes they seemed busy and forgot things, but as soon as we reminded them we got it. Great fresh orange juice, decent coffee, bread plate and fruit, egg dishes good as well, they pulled off a decent eggs benedict.
Lunch- we had fish tacos and pork wrap, both were made fresh, they were just ok though. Perfect for beach eats....although a little pricey. Their guac was good too.
Dessert after dinner - The chocolate souffle and pineapple creme brulee were both very good, and we were the only ones there so it was very romantic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    125
    62
    12
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste Marie Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“great lunch & beers on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great lunch here, right on the beach in tulum. Can't ask for a better location on the planet. Prices a little much but that's the price of paradise. This place is a few kilometers down the Tulum beach road. Be careful of the many topes and tourists walking, biking and driving. Don't drink and drive. Hire a cab like we did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at cabanas tulum and Ziggy's was on the grounds. If you stay at Cabanas Tulum, you get complimentary breakfast. The food was good, but staff were not friendly at all. My wife and I stayed for one week over Christmas, and were treated nice the first day or two, and then it changed drastically. We are not sure why, because we gave at least 20% tip each time we ordered food and/or drinks. I got the vibe the staff we homophobic. By the 5th day, we opted out of the breakfast because they were so unfriendly. It was very unfortunate, because it it attached to the hotel we love.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Ziggy's, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ziggy Guest,

We are truly sorry to read that you had the impression our staff might have an issue with homosexuals. Honestly, it has struck us to know that you felt this way since many of our customers are gay and we have never received such feedback in more than 4 years of business. Could it be that you felt less attended because of the peak period over Christmas as this could be the only reason of your discontent our staff can think of right now, if this was the case we apologize of course. We do hope that you give us a second opportunity to prove that your impression was 'wrong' and that you will fully enjoy the Beach Club, service and the food on your next trip to Tulum.
Gracias
Your Ziggy's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ate here for at one meal every day we were in Tulum. You have various options for seating: on the beach, on the beach with a thatched roof, on the beach with a thatched roof and wind break. Everything they served was fresh and inventive. Staff is helpful and curteous. My husband had them set up and serve me a surprise birthday dinner on the rooftop of our room at the Cabanas Tulum and it was an outstanding experience! Get the Tuna Nachos....I'm still dreaming of them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great lunch and beach club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent the afternoon at Ziggy's while staying at Posada Yum Kin in town. I had researched beach clubs and this one sounded like a nice option. I definitely made the right choice. The beach beds are wonderful and very comfortable with pillows included. Loved that. We also had lunch which was delicious and inexpensive. I had the veggie wrap and my husband had the fish wrap. Both were tasty and came with fries. Our meals and an agua fresca came to only about $20 USD or so. No charge to use the beach beds and all of the facilities with the purchase of lunch...a great deal. The bathrooms were beautiful and immaculate with nice showers. I have to say that I was also admiring the rooms at the hotel on the propery, Cabanas Tulum. the accomodations looked lovely from the outside though we didn't see inside them.
If you're looking for a beach club to spend a couple of hours or the entire day, this place is wonderful!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggy's also viewed

 

Been to Ziggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ziggy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.