We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch & beers on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ziggy's

Ziggy's
Road Tulum-Boca Paila km7 | Zona Hotelera, Tulum 77780, Mexico
01984-1575569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 279 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Seafood, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Caribbean sun, sweeping white sand beach, big coconut trees, and a breathtaking view of the turquoise sea. This is not a description of Daniel Defoe's Robinson Cruseo, it is the location of Ziggy's,Beach Club and Restaurant. Open from 7am-11pm every day. We offer our guests three different types of menu: international Breakfast - tasteful snacks and Lunch at our Beach club - fine gourmet Dinner selection. It’s the perfect place to relax and reunite with nature. This is the place to go for delicious seafood and excellent drinks.We offer 2x1 on cocktails and beers every day from 12pm-6pm!
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“great lunch & beers on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a great lunch here, right on the beach in tulum. Can't ask for a better location on the planet. Prices a little much but that's the price of paradise. This place is a few kilometers down the Tulum beach road. Be careful of the many topes and tourists walking, biking and driving. Don't drink and drive. Hire a cab like we did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at cabanas tulum and Ziggy's was on the grounds. If you stay at Cabanas Tulum, you get complimentary breakfast. The food was good, but staff were not friendly at all. My wife and I stayed for one week over Christmas, and were treated nice the first day or two, and then it changed drastically. We are not sure why, because we gave at least 20% tip each time we ordered food and/or drinks. I got the vibe the staff we homophobic. By the 5th day, we opted out of the breakfast because they were so unfriendly. It was very unfortunate, because it it attached to the hotel we love.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaMarieTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ctulum, Public Relations Manager at Ziggy's, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ziggy Guest,

We are truly sorry to read that you had the impression our staff might have an issue with homosexuals. Honestly, it has struck us to know that you felt this way since many of our customers are gay and we have never received such feedback in more than 4 years of business. Could it be that you felt less attended because of the peak period over Christmas as this could be the only reason of your discontent our staff can think of right now, if this was the case we apologize of course. We do hope that you give us a second opportunity to prove that your impression was 'wrong' and that you will fully enjoy the Beach Club, service and the food on your next trip to Tulum.
Gracias
Your Ziggy's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We ate here for at one meal every day we were in Tulum. You have various options for seating: on the beach, on the beach with a thatched roof, on the beach with a thatched roof and wind break. Everything they served was fresh and inventive. Staff is helpful and curteous. My husband had them set up and serve me a surprise birthday dinner on the rooftop of our room at the Cabanas Tulum and it was an outstanding experience! Get the Tuna Nachos....I'm still dreaming of them.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TB_BA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great lunch and beach club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent the afternoon at Ziggy's while staying at Posada Yum Kin in town. I had researched beach clubs and this one sounded like a nice option. I definitely made the right choice. The beach beds are wonderful and very comfortable with pillows included. Loved that. We also had lunch which was delicious and inexpensive. I had the veggie wrap and my husband had the fish wrap. Both were tasty and came with fries. Our meals and an agua fresca came to only about $20 USD or so. No charge to use the beach beds and all of the facilities with the purchase of lunch...a great deal. The bathrooms were beautiful and immaculate with nice showers. I have to say that I was also admiring the rooms at the hotel on the propery, Cabanas Tulum. the accomodations looked lovely from the outside though we didn't see inside them.
If you're looking for a beach club to spend a couple of hours or the entire day, this place is wonderful!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trishkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocasset, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Doesn't get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We ate here frequently during our 8 day stay at Cabanas Tulum. It was the best restaurant in Tulum by far. Amazing views, great food, presented beautifully, staff was very attentive and friendly. My husband loves cerviche and rated this the best in Tulum. Although I'm not usually the biggest fan of Mexican food, I could always find something to order here and it was always delicious.
As others have mentioned, the breakfast is amazing. The fruit plate and juices are so fresh! And if you're a fan of spicy food, you'll love the menu here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ziggy's also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ziggy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing