We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Tulum City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Tulum

Save Saved
You added Maison Tulum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Tulum
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Calle Alfa Norte esquina con Calle Sagitario | poniente S/N, Colonia Centro, Tulum, Mexico, Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Tulum B&B and Inns
powell River bc Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Tulum City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

A charming little hotel in the centre of Tulum. The hotel is in a garden setting with lots of free form architecture and tropical plants in the atrium of the hotel. We had a large, well appointed quiet room attended to by lovely staff and owner. It was competitvely priced with all the ordinary hotel/motels on the main boulevard in Tulum. The hotel is two blocks off the main street and consequently much quieter than anyplace else we looked at. The hotel also has a bakery/restuarant attached. Just a great little gem.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    73
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
30
138
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Maison Tulum is beautiful, great service all around, hot water in the showers, and far enough from the beach so that you are not always sticky and salty!!! Only a block off the main drag of restaruants, shops & bars in Tulum pueblo...and only a 5 minute cab ride to the beach. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Very, very accommodating. Quiet, friendly guests. Relaxing room and courtyard. We rode the hotel bikes to the beach. We enjoyed our time at Maison Tulum more than when we stayed in a Cancun resort.. Plenty of nearby eateries and fruit stands a couple of blocks walking distance (or less) where you see locals eating so you know it's safe, and enough 'touristy' restaurants in walking distance, too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The room: very comfortable and quiet, can get a bit warm during the day if the AC isn't on, so don't bring chocolates... We were able to use the kitchen's fridge for a small bag of groceries from the supermarket.
The manager/staff: very helpful, welcoming and accommodating. Every concern we had (not many...) received immediate attention. Breakfast included is very basic (coffee, bread and butter), but if you wanted something from the breakfast menu the prices are fair. We took sandwiches for the rest of the day and didn't regret.
Highly recommended. If you don't need the beach at your footsteps, or if you prefer seeing and experiencing more of the local scene and restaurants/food trucks - this is a great place right in the center. Prices near the beach are much higher (hotels/restaurants/etc)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We were very happy with our choice, despite us arriving just prior to close, their restaurant served us the most wonderful dinner and welcomed us with a “Sacrificio Maya”. After trying several restaurants we decided that Maison Tulum was the best and just a step from our room. This place was very clean and the staff was friendly. The rooms are also very cute, clean and beds are comfortable. In spite of being in the city of Tulum our room was quiet. We had the only two bedroom on the third floor at the left hand side of the building. I recommend you have this two rooms if you are traveling with children old enough to have their own room. We felt very safe. The place kinda grew on us for some reason, we felt at home, it was nice to have a cosy not too big hotel. This is about 5 minute drive to the beach, cenotes and piramid location, it is perfect for travelers who like to explore. I would recommend to future travelers.

Room Tip: Two bedroom on the third floor on the left.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Great hotel. Extremely clean, comfortable and great style. Nice breakfast included, good coffee and pastries. A little gem tucked away off of the main drag in Tulum. Beautiful room... big bed, nice shower, safe for valuables. Parking on street. Cool design. Nice manager, very helpful... professional but easy going. We had chosen other hotels online before we arrived in the Yucatan and this one we stumbled across and it was my favorite hotel. We were looking for a small place, run by local... we wanted to avoid the huge hotels and foreign condos. We had a car, so we were able to travel for day trips. Just a block off the main walking/eating/hang out promenade in Tulum. We hope to return! (Four months later we are writing the review... thanks for the stay!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This perfect little B&B is located in a peaceful and quite area of Tulum Pueblo and was a good choice for us to feel the last little bit of authentic Mexico as we ventured into the overly Americanized Mayan Riviera. Our room was beautiful, spacious and contained everything we wanted and more. The tasty, freshly baked breakfast provided enough nutrition and calories to keep us going for a few hours. The price we paid through Expedia was less than the posted rate and was a good value for the area. For the full review, visit our site at TheVacationAdvisors.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maison Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Tulum

Address: Calle Alfa Norte esquina con Calle Sagitario | poniente S/N, Colonia Centro, Tulum, Mexico, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maison Tulum 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Little Corner of Paradise.Tucked away in a tranquil garden setting, our intimate hotel is conveniently located just two blocks from downtown. The smell of our freshly baked bread and other delicious pastry wafts through the air each morning. Enjoy the ambience and our food, our charming restaurant offers breakfast and dinner with traditional Mexican and Caribbean fare.Excellent service and amenities at the price of a budget hotel make Maison Tulum one of the best deals in the Riviera Maya.· Continental breakfast included with your stay. *· Complimentary Wi-Fi and a computer located in the reception area where you can check email or gather information on activities in Tulum.· A beautiful rooftop terrace where you can relax or read a book surrounded by plants and flowers from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Maison Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Tulum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.