We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna

Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna
Carr Tulum Boca Paila km 6.5 | Cabanas La Luna, Tulum 77789, Mexico
984 146 77 37
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 202 restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Cabanas La Luna for a few days in June 2013. And we were pleasantly surpassed that the best restaurant in Tulum was in our own hotel! We did venture off the property several times to other restaurants but the food at Las Estrellas was the best that we had. The fish tacos were divine - unlike any other fish tacos I have had (and I've tried a LOT!) The salads, the desserts, everything we tried was delicious. And well priced. Also, the decor was spot on. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Tulum whether you are staying at Cabanas La Luna or not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at Las Estrellas with others. We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed our menu. We hope to welcome you back soon, at both the restaurant and our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    121
    43
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We ate on BBQ nite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The food was simply amazing. The couple that owns and runs this restaurant are always touring the tables to make sure your dining experience is good. Wish I could go back there tonight. YUM

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, General Manager at Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your review on our All You Can Eat BBQ night!

We are very happy that you mention our weekly wednesday BBQ here on Tripadvisor. It is an event in which we try to create a mellow atmosphere by having live music and simply amazing food as you mentioned and we are so glad that you wish to come back for it! If you want you can come back every Wednesday :-) we will be happily waiting for you..

Muchas gracias,

The Restaurant Las Estrellas Team at Cabañas La Luna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“our favourite restaurant in Tulum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Las Estrellas was our favourite restaurant during our stay in Tulum. While we were staying at Cabanas La Luna, we did venture into town several times to try out some highly recommended restaurants. However, we found the food so flavourful and the staff so warm and friendly at Las Estrellas, that we ended up having most of our lunches and dinners there. They served the most delicious ceviche, fish tacos, and seafood platter - fresh and simple. The drinks were creative and refreshing (my favourites were the watermelon/strawberry/mint, and cucumber/mint/lime juices), and kept us hydrated all day long on the beach. The location is gorgeous - on the perfect stretch of pristine beach with an amazing view, and it has the most charming Moroccan themed interior. I would definitely recommend Las Estrellas for a casual lunch and/or romantic dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. You have described exactly what we have been trying to achieve with our drink and food menu. Thank you for sharing your favorites. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Seriously Eat Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Cabanas Las Luna for a week, and ate most of our meals on site at Las Estrellas. The food was so good, there was no reason to leave. Every meal had great options. Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, and they would even bring food to the beach if we were down there. Their menu has a Moroccon twist to it. They have the typical Mexican fare as well.

Huevos Rancheros are awesome, but so is the omelet with Chorizo! Fresh Guacamole was everywhere. They even cooked some fresh caught fish for the people in our party and created a platter for them

I loved the strawberry and pineapple jams at breakfast. The fish tacos at lunch.

It was all good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“North African Twist in Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very friendly staff and beautiful location just off the beach. Cocktails were a little bit of a miss but the grouper special we had was delicious.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Las Estrellas at Cabanas La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.