We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our first visit but certainly not our last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Be Tulum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Be Tulum Hotel to your Saves list
Be Tulum Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Topanga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“our first visit but certainly not our last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a boutique hotel that lends itself to couples. One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in a great location for couples who really prefer to avoid big luxury hotels. Only thing better than the hotel was the staff. They were professional and more importantly genuinely enjoyed working there, taking care of every need. The food at Be Tulum was fantastic and the bar and bartenders were very good. Don't miss the barbecue lunch provided a couple of times a week. They are working on a spa but for the time being offer in room services. Couple massage couldn't have been better. Certainly looking forward to a return visit. This is not an inexpensive hotel but when you consider the quality, its well worth price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear "GeorgeGreek",

Thanks for sharing your positive thoughts about Be Tulum! We try to make every guest feel like you!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    84
    30
    15
    9
See reviews for
28
430
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we spent 3 nights at be tulum, or room (12) was very much a tree house , fantsticly up in the trees... with an outdoor shower on one of the balconies. the breakfast we ad there every day was great served where ever u want it . we had it on the beach. the cevechie we had for lunch and the custom cocktails made with all fresh fruits .... were the best . Anna the manager made it a point to seek out every guest during there stay and ask if there was anything she could help with. don't miss using the free bikes to bike up the beach area and stop at other places. it made for a great mini adventure . the front desk staff, daniel and the others made every recommendation and booking we could ask for. this place isn't cheap .... but it does it RIGHT

Room Tip: we had room 12 .... not a special room by be tulum standards but it was great up high in the trees a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear "Townbeach1",

Thank you for your nice feedback! Nice to know you loved the room, the food and the service! This is what we always want to read from our guests' reviews.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Went there today for their Sunday lunch. The band starts at 1 p.m. and was very good. Mix of chill out beach music, jazz and some favorites. The set up was chic with an outdoor Woodfire grill. Hubby had the burger which was done in the Woodfire oven. He said it was better than the one at Holeman & Fitch in Atlanta! The fries were so so good! I had the mixed Mexican ceviche. A mix of fish, prawns and octopus. Incredibly fresh, tender and flavorful. The drinks were definitely standouts. You have to try the margarita with hot peppers. It has a burning after taste at the back of your throat. Classic margarita was outstanding too. Great wine selections. 2 mains and 2 drinks each amounts to $1100 pesos. A bit pricey but the atmosphere was worth the extra $$. Special thanks to Manuel, our waiter from Puerto Vallarta. He was so warm and helpful. The best service we've had in Tulum so far.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear "LKhor",

Thanks for your nice words about the Sunday lunch!

We hope to see you soon!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a relaxing and rejuvenating trip to this wonderful hotel a few weeks ago. Since we were in the relatively remote area of Tulum it became easy just to "go with the flow".
The hotel was everything we expected. Small boutique feel, great design with clean comfortable rooms and a feeling you were in a secluded jungle. We had a ocean view suite with rooftop plunge pool and shower that was great at both sunrise and sunset. Room 16. The room itself was relaxing with a comfortable bed and large shower. We really didn't mind the salt water shower and sink. We considered it a nice break from the norm. Plenty of bottled water was supplied. The beach was where most everybody went since it was beautiful with great covered beds to relax on. This is where we spent most of the day. We ate every meal with our feet in the sand on the beach either in or beach bed or up by the restaurant.
The service was very good. Everyone seemed interested in helping and genuinly cared. Danial being a big help at the front desk when we checked in. The hotel manager also seemed concerned that everything was perfect so we would come back.
The food was good at the hotel with plenty of fish dishes and Mexican dishes to enjoy. Included breakfast was also very good. The smoothies were a refreshing post beach run treat. There are plenty of other places to eat within walking or biking distance from the hotel.
We will be making a return trip to Be Tulum as soon as next year.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear "Zzzdoc",

Thank you for your incredible review! We are really glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you again very soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed in Be Tulum and had a wonderful experience! The hotel itself is amazing and we thought it was the the best one amongst the beech front. The restaurant/bar area was beautiful. There were loads of rustic looking tables and chairs, with a cool beech bar. The swimming pool was lovely again surrounded by palm trees and rustic furniture. It was like a beech hideaway! The staff were great and ever so friendly! We stayed in the jungle room which was beautiful! It overlooked the palm tree area with a private balcony and had a private outdoor shower which was bliss! The more expensive rooms had their own jacuzzi which looked beautiful!
The reception staff were great and again so friendly and helped us whenever we asked for it. The hotel also provides access to free bikes to cycle around.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other people. It is a bit pricey but was so worth the money as we had a great time and a great experience! Like the title of the review it was a piece of paradise!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear "Rain1800",

Thanks for the lovely words about our "Piece of paradise"! We are happy to read that you and your wife had a great time here, and that you saw the value behind the price you paid.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having done my research and read many other reviews I guess I was expecting a lot from this hotel,and in some ways it did live up to certain expectations but with some reservations.
first the good things: amazing beach, cool and funky bar and beach furniture, great cocktails and decent well cooked food, not amazing but pretty good. The setting of the bar under the stars was beautiful. The music throughout the hotel is ambient modern lounge, pleasant if a bit cliched. However to be fair the management obviously take care in creating the right mood. one evening there was a performance by a flamenco group with an incredible male dancer so that was an unexpected treat. a fire pit was lit every night on the beach which is a great place to star watch.The bar and waiting staff were very friendly and welcoming. Ok now for the negatives: we booked two arena rooms for two nights in late April at a total cost of $1965.36, so at this price we were expecting decently appointed rooms. On arrival we were given one that faced the swimming pool which was quite nice (number 19 ) and one which was to the side of that room block (no17) that was dark, oppressive and smelt damp. We were very disappointed by this room and felt that it should not have been the same price as number 19. Both rooms had small plunge pools but again due to the location of number 17 the pool never got any sun. The windows were very close to path to reception so even opening the curtains was not possible. The check in experience was professional not overly friendly as I expected of a small boutique hotel with repeat clients. The real irritation with this hotel for me was the fact that they skimped on breakfast choices, portion size and variety. Making an interesting breakfast is not that difficult. The only breakfast allowed in the room package was the americano which was 160 pesos. If you wanted something different it was allowed if it was cheaper. However I ordered a mexican eggs dish instead and was horrified to be charged 120 pesos extra on check out when our extras bill for two night was the equivalent of £500! My partner had granola and yogurt at the same breakfast which was 120 so was not charged. This seems to be at odds with a quality hotel. to make matters worse I queried it gently with the manager and was met with a stoney "well that's the way it is" and turned away. I think they should seriously re think that policy. Guests paying this much for a room really deserve a little better care. Would I recommend Be Tulum? yes, but with reservations, try and pin down which room you will (or wont accept) and be prepared to pay through the nose for what essentially is a mid market no frills beach resort.

Room Tip: If you go for an arena room not number 17! better still get one on the first floor with a view. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear "lisaandbobby",

Thanks for taking the time to write us a feedback. We are sorry to read you expected a slightly different hotel, with a different breakfast.
The hotel is very near to the jungle, so it has jungle-like properties. Many guests find them lovely, but you didn't, perhaps because you weren't looking for a near-the-jungle experience.

The breakfast is a special selection, and it has been designed to please almost every guest. When you told us that you didn't like it so much, and added extras, you insisted on paying for them anyway; please, remember that we offered you not to pay for them.

Anyway, you said you still had a great time here, and that's what counts.

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We are use to travel around the best hotels in the indean ocean, caribean and mediteranean and there is a lot of work missing to be a 5 stars.
This hotel has 5 stars price but its just a 2 stars accomodations.

The room has no good light , if you want outside ligthing you will feel like an exibihcionist because everybody in the hotel will then see you.

No confortable chair in the room, salt water and from time to time not water at all.
The jacuzzi is just nice to see because the jets are really bad.

The bed is good and big.

The beach is very nice and clean, clients are kind of 'snob' mixed it up with hippies, not over style at all.

Regarding the staff , some of them really nice and gentel, other you feel like you are bodering them.

Food is average and prices as well, but for sure you can have much for less if you drive 5 minutes.

Breakfast you have to chose and cannot have fruits and eggs if it not extra charge. Really kidding when you are paying 400€ this.

We have visited other hotels in tulum, really a 5 stars and this is a luxury hotel. we wont make publicity but they exist. for example one named J....


Really overpriced, you cannot pay more than 150€ for this, knowing that near by ( with the same beach) you have more than 10 hotels to choose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Tulum Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear "Cash_pepito",

Thanks for your feedback, it's always welcome.
We are sorry to read that you didn't like the hotel as much as you expected. We can't argue with you about Be Tulum not being a cheap hotel, as it is not. And of course there are cheap places in the world. Then again, Tulum is not one of them.

We are a green, hip&chic boutique hotel, located almost in the middle of the Yucatán jungle. We are not a big resort, and it's not our idea to become one. We are honestly really sorry about being unable to provide you with the type of accommodation you were looking for.


Kind regards,


Be Tulum Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Tulum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Tulum Hotel

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila Km.10, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Be Tulum Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Be Tulum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Tulum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.