We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hip Hotel Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hip Hotel Tulum to your Saves list
Hip Hotel Tulum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Perfect hotel in Tulum. Nice staff and wonderful, spacious rooms. Restaurant not the best in the area, but the views are perfect. Choose an ocean view rooms for the best experience. Beach is beautiful and dont miss the sunrise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    60
    15
    7
    17
See reviews for
24
94
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pine, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was a great little place on the south side of Tulum. We encourage you rent bikes ( just up the street at theYoga place)

Tulum is quiet and quaint, and has great energy. The beaches are sublime, and this place overlooks a great spot. Every meal we had at the Restaurant was fantastic and everyone on staff was VERY helpful and sweet.

Rooms were very clean, and beds were VERY comfortable. It can be a little noisy, from road, but that's true anywhere on the way.

We ate at Pura Corazon too and it was absolutely delicious!

Room Tip: Free Wireless is generated form restaurant,so for best access get close :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a very big room, with a queen, a single bed and a huge sofa. The rooms vary in size, but all have balconies. Very clean and comfortable with a good shower !
No airco and on warm days the fan and seabreezeyou catch in the room are notenough so prepare for some warm nights!
Location on the beach is great, with free beds.
Nice staff,prices are reasonable and come down when thera are not to many tourists!

Room Tip: We had the room near the parking lot, which is a bit noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived by chance at this wonderful place! The staff helping us fixing the room was really helpful and vero vero kind. The room was clean with good storage and the terrace in front of the ocean simply perfect with furniture and a hammock! Perfect to enjoy the warmest hour reading a book in the shadow. The restaurant was very good with a perfect service and fresh food. They even do a perfect espresso!!

Room Tip: Room 23 and 24 :))
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We had a room with ocean view. So, the room was ok but the service we got was bad.
On their homepage(which looks like very professional) they wrote that you get a cocktail and fresh fruits at your arrival. But that's false! You only get a little bottle of water! We asked for the cocktail, but they never brought it.
Also for the breakfast, which was included, you don't have a buffet. Instead of this you have 2 choices from the menu. All the other things, you have to pay.
So, think twice before going to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just back from a really wonderful stay at Hip Hotel. The room was incredible, second floor, beach view. The room had shelves for storage, table and chairs inside and out on the large balcony. It was quiet and clean at all times. Peak sun hours could be spent in the shade reading in the balcony hammock and enjoying the nature all around. The restaurant did the job, but I did prefer the food elsewhere. I might agree with an earlier reviewer who said the restaurant was low energy. However the staff everywhere was warm and friendly and super helpful. Excellent hospitality. Bikes can be rented from a few different properties nearby and it is easy to get around the area that way. The beach out front is beautiful needless to say. Overall I had a really great stay here and found my accommodations to be exactly perfect for my needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just got back from our first time in Tulum, and the S&S Hip Hotel was a lovely experience. We found the hotel by booking through Citi Travel Rewards, and seeing as there weren't many options, we lucked out. The Hip Hotel is pretty far south on Boca Paila, and since we ate almost every meal in Tulum Pueblo, it was a bit far out. But, the beach was excellent: white sand beaches, chairs beneath the shade of the Palapas, warm water, and sand that was pretty much free of seaweed.

Our room was clean and well taken care of throughout the trip. It was large, very cool (despite being there in July) and pretty cozy. There were two candles and matches on the bedside stands, which made it very romantic inside! The soap and shampoo smelled delicious, and there was a huge bottle of water on the counter each day. The shelving for our clothes was super convenient and better than just having a bureau. We had a garden view, which we ended up preferring because it seemed more private. We walked by the rooms with the ocean view every day to go to the beach, and it did not seem like anyone walked by our room.

The managers and staff were all extremely helpful and welcoming. Everyone had great recommendations and were available to chat (or practice your spanish)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hip Hotel Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hip Hotel Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum - Boca Paila Km 8, Tulum 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Tulum
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hip Hotel Tulum 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 22 rooms, our oceanfront hotel has a wide beach of white sand and crystalline sea, peaceful garden with palm trees, Restaurant-Bar oceanfront Mexican fusion cuisine - Gourmet, Lobby Lounge with Bar - Bar with free internet connection (WiFi), Free Parking, Bar Beach and highly trained staff will do everything to make your stay fabulous.Some days are blue and calm, the waters warm, delicious ... Some days are cloudy, with big storms, even when it seems that the ocean is going to devour the birth of a new day full of sun and heat.All rooms, located just steps from the beach, have a king size bed, some with sofa bed, ceiling fan, 24-hour electricity, closet, safe box, private bathroom with shower, screened windows and balconies or terrace with hammock. Spectacular beach of soft white sands and calm seas • reclining beach chairs with umbrellas, palapa • Beach bar with international drinks and cocktails • Beautiful gardens with palm trees on white sand • Restaurant - oceanfront outdoor terrace and panoramic view • Coffee-bar in the Lobby • Free parking • Free Internet access in the Lobby Cafe-Bar • Currency exchange at reception • Transfers to / from Cancun airport can be hired on reservation • Laundry on request • Medical service on request Other Amenities:Car rental on reservation Massages by appointment, hotel marketing by aliveunique ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hip Hotel Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s And s Hip Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hip Hotel Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.