We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Tulum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coco Tulum to your Saves list
Coco Tulum
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Very clean, attractive and comfortable. The cabanas are basic and cute, and the greenery planted around the charming buildings is very pretty. It wasn't too much of a hassle to walk to the bathrooms, and the beachside shower is a treat. The restaurant on the premises has surprisingly good pizza. The only two (minor) problems we encountered were that the bed nets were impossible to secure against the truly terrible onslaught of mosquitoes (don't mess around with natural repellents here--I hate deet products, but they were very necessary) and that the hammocks on the beach (pictures of which swayed our decision to stay here) were actually totally uncomfortable (waa waa, terrible, right?!). At first we were sad not to have a beachfront cabana, but we soon realized that No. 7 was the perfect spot. It appeared to be the most private spot--it has a sliver of beach view and is at the end of the path it's on, so no one passes by. That means that unlike all the other rooms, we never had to shut our blinds and could enjoy the view even when things were getting romancy ;) I'd highly recommend that room. Oh also, the bike rental is a pretty reasonable US$12/24 hours for a super comfy beach cruiser with a basket. It was a great way to explore the beach strip.

Room Tip: No. 7 is perfect for anyone wanting privacy while still having a bit of a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, General Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback!
I will certainly take a look around the hammock area, perhaps they should hang a little more loose.
We really hope to be able to have you back with us again in the future.
I'm glad you enjoyed your cabana and the ambiance around.

Best Regards
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    113
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
277
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The best beachside showers in conch shells! Hammocks under shade on the beach are cute too. Best price on the whole beach as we walked from the ruins to the reserve and stopped in to each place worth checking. Since everything seems to be cabanas make sure the A/C works!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Ian!

Thanks for your postivie comments around your Coco Tulum stay.
I'm a little confused though, as you pointed out to make sure the A/C works - we don't have or advertise on having A/C at Coco!
We do provide a fan in each cabana as mentioned in our website and other info sites.
Hope to have you back again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prunedale, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I went on a week long anniversary trip to this area, and stayed 3 nights in Coco Tulum. I wish we stayed there longer (and not go to Playa as we realized that a city is really not our scene). This beach-side community in Tulum is so romantic, cute, very laid back and just feels like a vacation should. The hotel is adorable, simplistic but has all you will need including a cool restaurant with awesome staff & delicious Italian food. It's funny, we ended up eating so much Italian on our Mexican vacation (and liked it better than on our recent trip to Venice :) ). The manager of the restaurant Juanita Diavola, Benjamin, was incredibly helpful and let me use his own laptop with better wifi connection than my phone (and stayed about 1hr after his work was done) when I was trying to skype my mother in the Czech Republic with important news. That was just so special to us.
We enjoyed staying in our small cabana just about on the beach front. Even though it pretty much just had a bed, shelves & hooks for clothes, we really liked the atmosphere of it. And we spent most of our time outside anyways exploring the neighborhood. The shared restrooms and showers were not a problem at all, until unfortunately the last day I got the case of "Mexican flu" and would have liked a private restroom closer :) I do need to point our that I am 99% positive the flu was not caused by me eating anything at this hotel, most likely some veggies in another (not as clean) hotel down the road.
We both recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a charming laid back spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Jana!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down such a beautiful review about your Coco Tulum experience.
i'm glad our staff was able to make a good impression on you by being helpful :)
Be sure to come back and stay with us once again in the future!

Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just did four nights at this place and loved it. We were in the beach front villa. The shared bathrooms aren't an issue...kept very clean and I barely saw anyone else in there. Only really became an issue when the weather turned bad and we had to sprint in the rain.
The beach is gorgeous. We are now at Maya Tulum and the beach doesn't compare. There are no rocks outside coco and so there is a lot less seaweed.
The staff are super friendly. The food is great and the place is stylish and clean. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello there!

Thanks for taking the time to write down a real nice review about your stay with us.
You certainly just mustioned the three things any manager loves to read: compliments on the staff's friendly service, note around clean and well maintained facilities and great food in the restaurant.

Looking forward to your next visit :)
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Got back about 2 weeks ago from CoCo Tulum and my friend and I had the best time. The rooms were minimal, clean and very aesthetically pleasing. You really don't need much when you want to be outside the entire time. We stayed in 2 different cabanas - #13 in the garden and #1 right on the beach. Lounging on the deck out front of either with a cool drink was just the best. All of the staff, from the maintenance to the front desk to the bar/restaurant to the night security were super friendly and very accommodating. The manager was so nice and helpful, she made our stay so welcoming and an overall fantastic time. I was a little apprehensive about the shared restroom (not my style...) but it was very clean and close enough to the cabanas we stayed in (but not too close) that I didn't give it a second thought.
The beach was lovely and it never felt crowded as some of the larger resorts down the beach appeared to be. The restaurant is good, and convenient but CoCo is also walking distance to several other good restaurants nearby. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, General Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Adele!

Thanks for such a great review, glad we all made you feel like among friends.
After all, that's what Coco Tulum is really all about :)
I'm glad the shared bathrooms worked good for you in the end, I understand at first instance the "shared" bathroom term doesn't feel entirely right.
Though, as you could see our staff works real hard throughout the day to keep everything as clean and comfortable for every guest.
We appreciate your comments and hope to have you back again real soon!

Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tulum is a hippie town. It's bohemian, it's Eco-friendly, its untouched and its absolutely incredible. That being said, know that going there you are going to have the same travel experience - simple, relaxed, bohemian. For that, Coco Tulum is wonderful - a Bohemian paradise (more hostel, less hotel) with the best and cleanest beach on the street and comfortable rooms. The tower rooms were fine (hot with no A/c but comes with the territory) with roomy balcony and clean, spacious showers. The restaurant was also great with super friendly staff and decently priced food. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more wind and less bugs... especially useful with no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello there,

Thanks for your Coco Tulum review.
We appreciate the detailed way you wrote it down and explained what Coco Tulum is all about.
Clean cabanas, well located with a one of the best beaches in Tulum's area :)
Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Best Regards
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was my second visit to COCO on the last two years. I loved it the first time, and I loved it even more this time around.

The cabana was perfect (cabana 2) it has the most beautiful view to the ocean, a great terrace perfect for lounging, and a very chic, comfortable and clean room.

The staff and management is very nice and helpful. I specially loved the new restaurant Juanita Diavola. The food was excellent and gives you a relaxed and exotic sensation. Congratulations to chef Benji!

The best part is definitely the beach. You can tell they take good care of it, plus, you can see turtles come to the beach at night.

I highly recommend COCO! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Rebeca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down a second review about your newest Coco Tulum visit.
It certainly is important for us to know that our frequent visitors accept and enjoy the improvements made in the facilities.
Cabana #2 is definitely my favorite cabana!
Glad you tried and enjoyed Juanita Diavola's exquisite pizzas too.

Really looking forward to receive you in the future once again :)
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tulum is a little beach hotel that's a throwback to the old beach vacation days. It's quiet and economical, and runs purely on solar and wind energy. Come for something unexpected! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Coco Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Tulum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.