We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coco Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Coco Tulum to your Saves list
Coco Tulum
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Got back about 2 weeks ago from CoCo Tulum and my friend and I had the best time. The rooms were minimal, clean and very aesthetically pleasing. You really don't need much when you want to be outside the entire time. We stayed in 2 different cabanas - #13 in the garden and #1 right on the beach. Lounging on the deck out front of either with a cool drink was just the best. All of the staff, from the maintenance to the front desk to the bar/restaurant to the night security were super friendly and very accommodating. The manager was so nice and helpful, she made our stay so welcoming and an overall fantastic time. I was a little apprehensive about the shared restroom (not my style...) but it was very clean and close enough to the cabanas we stayed in (but not too close) that I didn't give it a second thought.
The beach was lovely and it never felt crowded as some of the larger resorts down the beach appeared to be. The restaurant is good, and convenient but CoCo is also walking distance to several other good restaurants nearby. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, General Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hi Adele!

Thanks for such a great review, glad we all made you feel like among friends.
After all, that's what Coco Tulum is really all about :)
I'm glad the shared bathrooms worked good for you in the end, I understand at first instance the "shared" bathroom term doesn't feel entirely right.
Though, as you could see our staff works real hard throughout the day to keep everything as clean and comfortable for every guest.
We appreciate your comments and hope to have you back again real soon!

Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    113
    24
    11
    3
See reviews for
23
277
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Tulum is a hippie town. It's bohemian, it's Eco-friendly, its untouched and its absolutely incredible. That being said, know that going there you are going to have the same travel experience - simple, relaxed, bohemian. For that, Coco Tulum is wonderful - a Bohemian paradise (more hostel, less hotel) with the best and cleanest beach on the street and comfortable rooms. The tower rooms were fine (hot with no A/c but comes with the territory) with roomy balcony and clean, spacious showers. The restaurant was also great with super friendly staff and decently priced food. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have more wind and less bugs... especially useful with no A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hello there,

Thanks for your Coco Tulum review.
We appreciate the detailed way you wrote it down and explained what Coco Tulum is all about.
Clean cabanas, well located with a one of the best beaches in Tulum's area :)
Glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Best Regards
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This was my second visit to COCO on the last two years. I loved it the first time, and I loved it even more this time around.

The cabana was perfect (cabana 2) it has the most beautiful view to the ocean, a great terrace perfect for lounging, and a very chic, comfortable and clean room.

The staff and management is very nice and helpful. I specially loved the new restaurant Juanita Diavola. The food was excellent and gives you a relaxed and exotic sensation. Congratulations to chef Benji!

The best part is definitely the beach. You can tell they take good care of it, plus, you can see turtles come to the beach at night.

I highly recommend COCO! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Rebeca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down a second review about your newest Coco Tulum visit.
It certainly is important for us to know that our frequent visitors accept and enjoy the improvements made in the facilities.
Cabana #2 is definitely my favorite cabana!
Glad you tried and enjoyed Juanita Diavola's exquisite pizzas too.

Really looking forward to receive you in the future once again :)
Yeye Ramz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have stayed at co co 3 times now which should speak for itself. The rooms are simple yet clean and comfortable. Communal bathrooms are regularly cleaned. Staff are friendly and happy to assist. The stretch of beach in front of co co is one of the best in my opinion. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room in the middle of the garden area. While you may not have the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello there!

Thank you very much for your preference.
Knowing that we have guests staying for a 3rd visit represents great validation to us.
We would love to have you with us again in the future and make of Coco Tulum your home in the Caribbean :)

Our very best, always...
Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a group holiday in tulum this year we took 10 bungalows all the front row and some further back. The resort is well kept but the size of the cabanas are all completely different yet you pay the same for all.
If you have decided to go to coco make sure you get cabana 1 or one of the cabanas further back as the front one are tiny you can just about walk around the bed.The staff on the front desk were brilliant and it has 24hours security so you feel safe.

The restaurant take FOREVER to receive your food, the waiters don't all speak great english. We waited 2 hours for breakfast a few times and the staff are not very apologetic but the pizzas are great and normally don't take forever to get these, but its not cheap.

I didn't think the lack of toilets would bother me but towards the end it did. If you stay on the front row the toilets are right at the back not fare but fare enough when your half asleep.

I probably wouldn't stay at coco again as you can probably get more for your money. Its is beautiful and probably worth going to though.

Room Tip: Bungalow 1 on the front is the best biggest by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Emily,

We remember your group from almost 4 months ago - at the moment we explained about the price of the cabanas being based on location.
Your friends were staying in Cabana #1 and I believe you were in Cabana #5.
I'm a bit surprised on the comments around the restaurant as I recall we extended a couple of beers as cortesy for our events and some Mezcal shots for the group.
I will certainly take note on your feedback though and can assure you that we've improved since past March.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we take our guest's opinion very seriously.

Our very best, always...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just coming back from a great stay at Coco Tulum. I had been googling pictures of the place for weeks but nothing could prepare me for the beautiful white beaches and clear blue ocean. The best part was it was only yards away from our cabin. Although our cabana wasn't considered "beachfront," the trees were so artfully landscaped that we woke up every morning to the sight of the ocean. The trees also shaded our windows to keep the cabanas private--a real feat since they're so close to each other. Although we had big plans to see lots of sights, we enjoyed the beachside hammocks so much that we spent most of our time hanging at the resort with our friends. Whenever it got too hot we posted up at the restaurant where we sipped on some straight delicious cocktails. Seriously, the fresh kiwi daquiri was amazing--like a green juice with rum. Benji the restaurant manager hooked us up and told us about all the best spots in town. It's definitely a trip for beach bums--the showers are saltwater, there's no shampoo, and using the bug net is a good idea. But I prefer a sky full or stars to TV any day. Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Don't stress if you don't get a beach front property, they're all nice and the ocean is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Laura,

Thanks for the great review :)
We're very happy to hear you had such a good time with us at Coco Tulum during your 4-night stay.
I'm glad Benji helped improve your sightseeing around Tulum.
Hope to see you back with us once again soon!

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice, well managed hotel. The service is great, and the restaurant is very good with a very professional chef from Monterrey. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can tell they want you to have a great time here.
The beach is one of the best as it is wide and well kept, different from other hotels nearby, there is none of the red seagrass that invades Tulum's beaches during different seasons.
The downside: the shared bathroom, but I think is something you can live with when paying less than $100 for a front beach cabin. The open roof shower is beautiful and well designed as all of the cabins, which are kept impeccably.
If you feel you are ok with the shared bathrooms, this is the best place to stay in Tulum.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocoTulum, Manager at Coco Tulum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback around your Coco Tulum experience.
We are glad to know you had such a great time and felt the constant care of each of our staff members.
We would be more than happy to receive you once again in a future visit.

Yeye Ramz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coco Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Tulum

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila km 7, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Tulum is a little beach hotel that's a throwback to the old beach vacation days. It's quiet and economical, and runs purely on solar and wind energy. Come for something unexpected! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Coco Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Tulum Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco Tulum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.