We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade, all natural delights!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flor de Michoacan

Flor de Michoacan
Avenida Tulum, Tulum, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 223 Restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Homemade, all natural delights!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My boyfriend went loco for their hibiscus jugos (juice). I'm a popsicle lover so this place was right on target for us. First night I got their coconut, 2nd night I tried their pistacchio. Both equally yummy. Their attendants speak English and are sooo nice. They even showed us what hibiscus leaves are. Everything is homemade and all natural. When you order their juice, make sure to get the largest one because it's only P20 ~ <$2, and super ginormous! Go here everyday you're in Tulum!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    16
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great ice creams and juices super friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went there almost every day while we were in Tulum. The ice creams are delish, also the juices and cold coconut. Everyone is super friendly and they give great service. The garden at the back is super cute. We loved it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great place for homemade paletas (popsicles) and ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Oh man this place had us back every day of the trip after we discovered it on the main drag in Tulum. The owner and staff are all engaging, fun and welcoming people. They make you feel right at home. Then you look at the twenty or so varieties of homemade, magical popsicles, along with the delicious ice cream, and eat way more than you should. My favorite was the vanilla/chocolate/pecan ice cream, followed by the mango and chile syrup paleta. So great. Go try something different every day -- you'll love sitting in the charming courtyard out back getting a belly full of special sugary goodness.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had so much ice-creams for 3 weeks in the region...

My ranking would be
1. Corsi @ Playa del Carmen
2. Cool @ Isla Mujeres
3. Flor de Michoacan @ Tulum
4. Cozumel Palace / Panna e Cioccolato @ Tulum
5. Aldos @ Playa del Carmen

The gelato was delicious and very reasonable. It probably was the cheapest we got in the whole region. The ice pop (coco & chocolate that we got) was just so-so though. Only 3 samples of the gelato were allowed but the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The back terrace was beautiful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Gelato and ice pops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stopped here twice during our trip. My husband tried the strawberry and Oreo gelatos. He like them both, but claimed to like the gelato from another establishment a little better. I had the coconut ice pop the first time and fell in love. The second time I tried one that was bright red and orange. I had no idea what flavor, but I was attracted to the bright colors. Well it was gross! It was super salty. I'm thinking it was a gazpacho pop or something like that. So I threw it out and I purchased a pineapple ice pop. It was even better than the coconut!

The staff are really friendly and there is a great little garden in the back where you can enjoy your dessert. You can't beat the prices. I think the gelato was 25 pesos and the ice pops were 15 pesos.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flor de Michoacan also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Flor de Michoacan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flor de Michoacan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.