We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay / Très bon Condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel to your Saves list
Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   calle Geminis y Andromeda Oriente, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off your stay!!!
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Great place to stay / Très bon Condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed there four nights
The room was huge, with 2 bathrooms, air conditioned, cable-Tv and a big bed
Herman and Catherine are very generous and great hosts !
Location is perfect, near main road to reach both North and South, supermarket, shops and a 10min ride from beaches

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
46
48
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved our stay at Villa Geminis! Walk in the courtyard and you are in paradise. The property is well kept, beautiful, safe and walking distance to everything you'd need in town. Units are spacious, beds are comfy. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I really want to give this place a bad review, because I want to hoard it all for myself. But that would be wrong. This place is excellent. We've stayed there two years in a row, and I consider this my home in Tulum. The owners and staff are exceptional people. The location is great because you have access to all the affordable restaurants in the Pueblo, in addition to being a couple miles from the beach (very accessible by bike on the bike path, or by an inexpensive cab ride). This place is not 4 stars by any means, but then again if you stay here you're not looking for 4 star accommodations. If you want that, stay on the beach, and pay 3-4 times as much for less than what you would get at Villas Geminis. Plus most of the places down on the beach don't have conventional electricity, meaning you are subject to solar and wind for your power. Each room has a kitchenette and refrigerator so you can cook at the condo. All the rooms have AC. The pool is small, but very clean and well maintained. The area the hotel is located is very safe, but depending on the time of year, can be a little noisy at times (nothing the AC won't drown out while you are sleeping at night). We will stay here every time we travel to Tulum. Thanks Villas Geminis for always making our stay in Tulum memorable.

Room Tip: There are two condos designed for couples, and four condos designed for families or mlutiple couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we had quite a huge condo with 2 bedrooms - beds were a bit hard and small, but okay. Furniture quite worn out but nice looking bathrooms. however, there was hardly no water coming out in the shower. garden is nice but a little dark and swimmingpool small and looks worn out too.

The guy at the reception did not speak or understand English, but we managed with our poor Spanish.

2 of our 3 children were bit by mites during the night, so all in all I would definitely choose another place if returning to Tulum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villasgemis, Owner at Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are a bit confused and saddened by your review as you told us that everything was wonderful!
We personally attend to our guests, our caretaker ,who was sitting at the reception doesn't speak English, which is very common here in Mexico.
As you may note, Cesar our caretaker has received nothing but really nice reviews.
If we had known that you had little water pressure, we would have gladlly checked the shower head to see if it was clogged.
The garden is not dark by any means, there are photos posted on this Trip Advisor site of the garden.
We definitley do not have bed mites and have never received any complaints of such type.
It is quite probable that children were bitten by sand flies on the beach.
Our place is immpecably clean, plus we offer light housekeeping and change of linens and towels every 3 days.

We were quite sad and surprised to receive this review, this is a first for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at Villas Geminis for two weeks in January 2013 while diving in the Tulum area. We had arranged to share the room with a couple other friends and one was not able to make it and the other had to leave early so it was way too much room for just my wife and I. Nicely appointed kitchen with gas stove, full size refrigerator, coffee maker and such. A microwave was sorely missing, especially since I bought popcorn at the market, only 3 blocks away. The cooking utensils were also a bit shy, but we made do. The bed was too firm for me, but that is pretty subjective, showers worked and got plenty hot, but typical Mexico gravity fed low water pressure made it less than perfect. A/C worked, ceiling fans in every room, a small pool that mostly got use as a bird bath and hammocks right in front of each unit. 24 hour security and parking right in front, I wouldn't leave anything in a car overnight though. The living area furniture was mismatched both with style and color, but both "sofa"s could be extra sleeping area. Other than a few noises, the Pan guy selling bread and honking a jalopy type horn and occasionally the local dogs barking this was a quiet property. No loud bars nearby. One block east off the main road and 3 or 4 blocks south off the Coba road makes this a simple place to find. Careful with all the one way streets and be sure to watch carefully for pedestrians and bicyclers after dark.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We rented a condo here for 13 nights in November (2 bedroom for 10 nights, 1 bedroom for 3 nights) after seeing all the great reviews on Tripadvisor and other travel sites. In addition to the great reviews and the prompt and friendly responses to our inquiries from the owners, Catherine and Hernan, the location of Villas Geminis sold us. And, we were not disappointed when we arrived.
The property is beautiful, very clean, secure and perfectly situated in the town of Tulum. You have easy access via bicycle or foot to the main street of town and all shops and restaurants - yet, still feel enough off of the beaten path. The large Chedraui grocery store is an easy 5 minute bike ride away. We stocked up on groceries there.
The condos have full kitchens. We used ours every day to prepare many meals. The condos are decorated very tastefully and have a modern touch of style about them. The garden-courtyard is a very relaxing zone to be in from the moment you arrive through the gate to the property. Cesar, the caretaker, was extremely nice and helpful with everything we needed.
Every day, we travelled around on the bicycles Villa Geminis rents to its guests. This was a huge amenity to us since we did not have a car. And you don't need one with the bikes available. We loved the ease and simplicity of packing our daypacks and jumping on the bikes for an adventure every day. It was easy to take the beach-road bike path to the beach, ruins, and hotel zone right from the property.
Bottom Line: This is the place if you are looking for a centrally-located accommodation with a tasteful, comfortable and relaxed-vibe in the Tulum area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After so many hotel rooms, Villa Geminis was an absolute treat. With gorgeous bedrooms, (very comfy beds too) cable tv, kitchen etc and all decorated so nicely, my friend and I were loving the space and feeling of being at home.
I had injured my leg prior to arriving and Hernan the owner and Ceaser the caretaker were both really helpful. Hernan let us leave bags there while we went off to a festival and all our things were safe when we returned a few days later.
The pool is nice and clean, and if you have kids, it's in the shade in the late afternoon so you not get burnt.
Really great value for money! Try the takeaway pizza from one of the pamphlets in the apartment...they home deliver and it is delicious!
It's close to town and near the beach road so a quick cab out to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel

Address: calle Geminis y Andromeda Oriente, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Geminis Condo Hotel is a little gem located in the heart of town in Tulum, Mexico. It is comprised of 6 luxury, spacious condominiums, with a beautiful swimming pool, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation and only minutes from the most spectacular beaches of the Caribbean in Mexico’s Riviera Maya. We are located just 1 ½ hour from the Cancun International Airport, and 45 minutes from Playa del Carmen. The nearby attractions include: Coba & Chichen Itza ruins and snorkeling & swimming with dolphins in the archaeological parks of Xel Ha or Xcaret & the new Xplor adventure park. We are a 5 minute drive to the
beach, the Mayan ruins 
and cenotes. It is so centrally located, that you can walk everywhere to the supermarkets, fresh produce & fish market, restaurants, shops, bank, internet, car rental, etc…. (there is no need for a rental car, taxis are everywhere & inexpensive). There are four 2 bedroom accommodations, (4 – 6 people) which are comprised of 2 levels: the downstairs with a complete kitchen, bar, dining room, living room with a futon (for additional guests) and a complete bathroom. The upstairs has two bedrooms, each with a queen bed, both w/air conditioning, and balcony overlooking the swimming pool and tropical garden. There is a luminous bathroom with a shower and double sinks. There are two 1 bedroom accommodations, ( 2 - 4 people) which are comprised of one level, one downstairs and one upstairs, each with a king bed, A/C, a complete bathroom, fully equipped kitchen, dining area, and living room with a double sofa bed for additional guests.The 6 units can be rented individually or as a group, making Villas Geminis the best vacation rental for a wedding, family reunion or for friends and families traveling together. There is 24 hour security, cable television, wireless internet and parking. Housekeeping w/ change of linens and towels is provided every 3 days. We provide bottled water, coffee, coffeemaker, tea, sugar. In room massages and private yoga classes are available upon request. The owners visit daily, giving personal attention to the guests including recommendations, discounts to beach club, restaurants, reservations, and a local taxi service to the Cenotes, Coba & Chichen Itza ruins. The exclusive privacy and tranquility of our vacation rentals make this relaxing sanctuary the perfect place for your Mexican Caribbean get away. Tulum is true paradise, come and enjoy 
your stay at Villas Geminis, close to
 the beach but with the amenities and
 services from town. Why rent a hotel room, when you can have your own home (away from home) for the same price…. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Geminis Boutique Condo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.