We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Downtown Tulum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secret Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Secret Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sagitario Poniente Street #54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 74 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful Downtown Tulum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a lovely little place that feels safe, has screens on the windows and is adorable. Tulum is a magical place. I've been going for 20 years and new places are opening all over town and the beach. For the price, you can't do better for a pretty and comfortable small hotel in the town.
Secret Garden is not a Holiday Inn. It is also in Mexico and in Tulum which is known for eco-friendly and simple lodgings. Mexico has its quirks once you leave Cancun and these things must be expected while traveling. If you want everything to be like home, best to just stay home, right? If you expect a resort, you will be disappointed. If you expect a clean and lovely little room with a comfortable bed and management that will bend over backwards for you, you will be happy and content. For $50 per night, I have seen rooms in Mexico that were more like cells. Secret Garden is a true gem, when you arrive through the gate into the wonderful little garden, you know that you have arrived someplace special.

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have A/C so if this is required, choose wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingstupka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

It's not the easiest hotel to find, as it isn't on Google maps and we drove past the road a few times in the dark.
However, once we found it it was good. Only a 5 minute walk into town, and probably a 35 minute cycle to the beach.
The room was fairly basic but clean, spacious and had everything we needed, even some small speakers for playing music in the room. Wifi worked perfectly. Bed was comfortable.
There was no AC in our room but it was never too hot so the fan was good enough.
My only problem was that on the last day we went out for breakfast and the staff assumed we had checked out and left, and immediately charged my card. This was inconvenient as I had already withdrawn cash to pay for the room! It wasn't a huge problem, but I'd suggest waiting until at least the check-out time before assuming guests have left.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben1986s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

It is a small hotel that has two areas, a room type huts, others a little more guarded, the style is totally and completely minimalist, environmentalist and keeps only the essentials is a magical place is truly a garden full of beautiful birds that wake you with a beautiful song in the morning, have some chairs that are surrounded by plants and hammocks where you can relax is very close to the beach and restaurant area and crafts, this beautiful hotel is truly the best I have visited.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JekaDeLaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Really great place, friendly atmoshere, and extremely helpful staff who go the extra mile (and more!) to help and make sure you have a great time in Tulum. The little garden is a gem and the extras of the free hot water coffee WiFi and snacks is an excellent touch. Joshua is to be congratulated for making this place the great success it is ...and its excellent value for money too !!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeterandChristineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Secret Garden is tucked away a few blocks behind the main road. It has a very chilled look, with cool seating, buddha statues and candles lit at night. It has a jungly feel to it, which on the negative side makes it all a bit dark and airless. Luckily it wasn't hot when we were there 2 weeks ago otherwise it might have felt a bit claustrophobic. The manager and owner were both very friendly. The free teas, coffees and bran buns went down well for breakfast. The birdsong is prolific in the morning!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashpackergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I got an extremely warm welcome here: the staff are great. But the room I stayed in (with a thatch roof) smelled strongly of damp and drains. It was full of mosquitos and there were cockroaches (picture attached). I had to light incense for the smell. There's plenty of hot water in the shower, but the tap in the bathroom hardly functions (I got only a dribble). The safe does not close, many of the window locks are broken and the door is difficult to lock. I didn't feel I could leave my valuables in the room, although the staff were very helpful in leaving them at the front desk. I would given the room a 'terrible' review, but since the staff were so great, it gets only 'poor'. Expensive too for a nasty room, stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Secret Garden in Tulum.
The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - on the first day Manuela (I think that's her name) sat down with us and a map and went through all the options we had to explore the area. She was happy to answer all of our questions even though I'm sure some of them were silly and repetitive.
Joshua and his staff present as people that are really happy to be there and really happy to share their love of Tulum with all of their guests.
Our room was beautiful, clean and private. The garden in the middle of the rooms is a great place to relax with a book when it's too hot or too rainy for the beach.
The hotel is also very convenient, less than a five minute walk from the bus station and an easy 20-30 minute bike ride to the beach along a bike track for most of the way. (Note of caution - we didn't know where we were going when we arrived late at night so we took a cab all of two blocks to the hotel for 30 pesos!)
The Secret Garden is a beautiful laid back hotel that offers a more economical option to the bigger brasher resorts on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrystallaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulum hotels
2.6 mi away
Azulik
Azulik
#33 of 85 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Yum Kin
Posada Yum Kin
#16 of 85 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#10 of 85 in Tulum
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Vita e Bella
La Vita e Bella
#51 of 85 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cabanas Tulum
Cabanas Tulum
#17 of 85 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Diamante K
Hotel Diamante K
#34 of 85 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Address: Sagitario Poniente Street #54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing