We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secret Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Secret Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sagitario Poniente Street #54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bondi, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A very special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The secret garden hotel is set in a lovely garden filled with the call of birds. As well as the funky and peaceful outdoor areas the rooms have everything you need to relax in Tulum.

We loved our cabana - lovely modern set up, spotlessly clean and they really have thought of all the great little details like speakers for your iPod, offers for beach towels when visiting the beach and tea, coffee, water and fruit available day and night.

We were thrilled also that our cabana had a small, well equipped kitchen that meant we could whip up breakfast in our own time.

The wifi here is strong and reliable and the staff are so caring and helpful when it comes to making sure you have what you need and helping you plan your days.

We have stayed in some lovely places but Secret Garden Hotel is one of the best! They have everything you need to feel at home straight away - we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I want to thank you for your beautiful words and taking the time to write your comment in Tripadvisor, fills me with joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoy the beach. Thank you for calling us A very Special Place. It make us have a special smile in our face.
We hope you can come to visit us again some time soon.
Best Regards
Joshua and Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    104
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
281
34
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Secret Garden is a gem. Joshua and his staff go above and beyond to ensure that you have a wonderful experience in Tulum. When staying at the Secret Garden you get the best of both worlds...enjoying the town and a beautiful bike ride to the beach. My wife and I are already planning another trip back to Tulum and the Secret Garden. All the other travelers we met were equally as happy and surprised to find such a nice place and people. ENJOY

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello,
I want to thank you for your nice comment you wrote on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that your experience with us was enjoyable, and more because you are considering coming back with us. We look forward to be one more time your hosts for your next vacation.
Best Regards;

Joshua and the Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay at Secret Garden, the cabin we stayed in was fab, plenty of space and had everything we needed! The rooms were spotless and comfy and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

We'd love to come back one day!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know you had a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,

Joshua and Secret Garden Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great little place to stay in Tulum town, a quick bike ride from the beach and ruins and 2 mins walk from the bus station. Free wifi was super convenient and the staff are really friendly. I stayed on my own for 3 nights and felt 100% safe. Highly recommended and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello again, I just want to thank you for your nice comment and for taking the time to write it. I'm glad that your stay with us was satisfactory, we would love to see you again and share with you more beautiful experiences.
Greetings,
Joshua and Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Ga
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We must have visibly shed stress the second we walked into the courtyard. We had very specific requirements including accommodations for our 9-foot-long tandem recumbent bicycle, its various cases and attendant equipment. Nothing was too much trouble for the Secret Garden crew. This is a wonderful place. We're definitely coming back.

Room Tip: In the summer you'll want a deluxe room with air conditioning, I imagine. We're from Georgi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello,
I just want to thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor. It was nice to met you. We are delighted to know that your stay with us was satisfactory. Please contact us for your next vacation in Tulum, we will be so happy to se you again.
Best Regards.

Joshua and the Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I spent 4 nights in Tulum and wish I'd discovered the Secret Garden earlier. I had 3 noisy nights (woken by disco at 3am every night, even with ear plugs) at a little hotel on the main street. My 3 yr old guide book didn't have the Secret Garden, but I came across it and was made to feel welcome and valued by the staff and the ambience. Free water, snacks, tea and books. And thanks to Joshua's advice I changed my plans and went to Akumal on my final day and swam with the Sea Turtles. Outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am pleased to know that you had a pleasant experience with us. Now you know where to find us for your next vacation. Thank you very much for took the time to write your comment. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Saludos,
Joshua and the Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My friend and I had a great stay of six nights during the holidays in December. Joshua, Maura, and Antonio gave us great suggestions and were always really friendly and helpful. The garden courtyard is quiet and serene. We stayed in one of the bungalows, this was very nice though the mattress in the loft was far inferior to the larger mattress in the main part of the room. We spent one night in rom 2, and my only complaint is that the wi-fi did not work so well from this room...or maybe it was just that night. Overall we had no complaints other than this. The rooms were tasteful and comfortable. The atmosphere was peaceful and happy. the dog was even really sweet. We really enjoyed our stay and may be returning soon! Thank you for a lovely visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hey guys, thanks for taking the time to write your comment. I'm glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. On behalf of all the staff and our beautiful pet, we send you a warm greetings.
We hope to see you again.

Joshua and Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Address: Sagitario Poniente Street #54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.