We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secret Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Secret Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Secret Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sagitario Poniente Street #54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal
1 review
“ideal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I really enjoyed my (too short) stay at Secret Garden! The staff is helpfull and friendly. I had 2 different rooms and both where great! this place is near everything you need in town but on a quiet street. It is very clean and it feel safe. I will go back for sure! Thank you Secret Garden Team!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Gerente at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hola Roxane G!
Thanks a lot for your kind words.
We are happy to hear from you that you feel safe. That's exactly one of the most important goals of the hotel: feel the same safety like home far away from home!
Thank you again, and see you soon!
SECRET GARDEN TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    104
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
281
34
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Secret Garden during a week. The cabin and the garden was very cosy. The straff was very nice and helpful. They gave us alot of good tips of restaurangs and places to see. They helped us book a car etc.
It's close on the main street where all the shops and restaurants are. It's cheap to take a taxi down to the beaches.
We would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Frida,
Thank you for your time and your nice words. We love when our new friends leave the hotel with a big smile, like you did. We hope to see you again soon.
Kindly regards,
Joshua Arpaiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hi there,

My trip to Tulum, staying in the Secret Garden in the Pueblo was awesome.

Tulum is such a wonderful place and its a shame I only had two nights.

The secret garden was a great place to stay - really wonderful, friendly bi-lingual staff who seemed genuinely interested in making sure your trip was great.

A great balance between price and quality - the room itself exceeded my expectations and was great value - would be a good spot for couples. Nice decor and grounds.

Only thing was it was a bit of a bike ride to the beach, but i'm glad I stayed in the Pueblo - cheaper, felt more authentically Mexican and great food.

Can't wait to come back - Tulum was a great experience in a wonderful country.

Viva Mexico!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Sam,
Thank you so much for your nice review. Our job is the best, because we can share and guide our new friends to the best places and spots in town and at the beach, and our favorite part is to see you smiling all the time.
Hope to see you soon, there are a lot of thing to see and eat in this beautiful paradise.
Kindly regards
Joshua Arpaiz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It´s a wonderful garden where you just sit in sofas to relax between trees and singing birds. The rooms around the garden are great - they are really big and comfortable so you feel like home. They have everything you need, we couldn´t think of anything that was missing.
It´s all very clean and quiet and the team is amazing. They help where they can.
The prize for these great rooms is really good.
We enjoyed the stay a lot and when we come back to Tulum we`ll definitely stay at Secret Garden again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Propietario at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for the positive review.
We always try our best to guide our travel mates to great places around, using wisely their budgets.
We really appreciate your feedback, this makes us compromising ourselves to improve every day.
We hope to see you in a short future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The 2 nights there were really nice. The employees are very helpful. They helped us with all are questions and supported us. The rooms were big and clean. The only thing that we found a little bit disturbing was the loud air con in the night. The chilling area(garden) is very nice! A really good acomendation in Tulum!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments in tripadvisor cordial. We will consider your observation about the air conditioning. Since every detail is important to us, we hope to see you again very soon. We wish you an excellent day.
Best regards.
Joshua & Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Secret Garden for almost a whole week and had a great time. You just never feel like you're in a hotel. The garden is truly magnificent, location is ideal, service is excellent and the rooms are simple and clean, just the way we like it. Prices are reasonable and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone going to Tulum!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked Secret Garden based on the good reviews. It is only two blocks from the main street and very near the ADO station. If you want to get to the beach it should be 50 pesos in a taxi, and the ruins are 10 pesos in a Collectivo bus down the road. The staff were very friendly and helpful. When we arrived back from the beach burnt, the reception man cut some fresh aloe plant for us to help it! Free water, bananas and snack bars were available at all times and beach towels can be borrowed also. We were in the deluxe room which had a double bed, sofa area, and a clean bathroom with hot water at all times. Outside is the cute garden with comfy seats and hammocks to relax in. Would definately visit again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretGardenTulum, Owner at Secret Garden Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
hello, we want to thank you for your nice coments, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the people on tripadvisor. we are pleased to know that your stay with us was enjoyable. We hope to see you soon.
Best regards.
Joshua & Secret Garden Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secret Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Hotel

Address: Sagitario Poniente Street #54 | Downtown, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Secret Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secret Garden is located in Tulum, which is known for its unique archeological site and stunning caribbean beachside.Enveloped by Mayan atmosphere and only two blocks from the main downtown avenue, at Secret Garden you will find eight tastefully appointed rooms with unique and special touches that will make you feel at home away from home.All of this and more makes Secret Garden the perfect place for savvy travelers seeking to explore the natural and cultural wonders of Tulum and its surrounding areas at an affordable and comfortable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Secret Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secret Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.