We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order a cocktail or salad instead of cheapie (yet nice) taco's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urge Taquito

Urge Taquito
Highway 307 / Avenida Tulum, Tulum, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 245 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Order a cocktail or salad instead of cheapie (yet nice) taco's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

There you have it. Just order a shrimp cocktail or fish salad, top it with a nice piña and you're good to go. Went back the next day for the amazing shrimp cocktail. Really, rrrreally nice flavours. For me a small relieve after a period of beans, taco's and that kind of works...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    13
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good if unconvential tacos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I understand that filling tacos with deep-fried stuff is not the traditional way, but still I found these tacos very good. Fish was very tasty and the sauces had a lot of flavour. I also tried a tostada de mariscos and found it very refreshing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very inexpensive, locals place on hwy 307”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been here 4 or 5 times and am always impressed that most of the customers are locals rather than tourists. They know what to order and what is good. I have had the ceveche, fresh fish, grilled shrimp and several other dishes that were very good. I did try their fish tacos one time and was surprised to find that the fish was battered rather than grilled. I should have read the description a bit closer. Would pass on these even people around me seemed to like them. I preferred grill or steamed and they will gladly bring them that way if you ask. They have a DIY salsa/ sauce condiment bar and the marinated onions and the three pepper sauce are my favs. About 10 to choose from so we will be back to test them out. Cheap, local and busy. Note they do close fairly early in the afternoon around 4 or 5pm so get there early.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“no bread in my tacos, thanks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After a rainy day fish taco saga in which we tried fish tacos at three different places, this place came last by a long shot. The fish is very, very breaded and shows up on a factory-made tortilla on your plate. That's it. Then you add some pretty good fixings like cabbage and onions, etc. from the central "salsa bar." And there you have it. All the staff in matching t-shirts, felt a bit like TGIFs. This is maybe like the japadog of fish tacos, meaning sort of tasty in its own right, and would be good at 2am, but definitely not what you want to define your fish taco experience of the Mayan riviera. About 10$ for two beers and two tacos.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fried taco fillings?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lots of people write rave reviews about this taco stand. It is a nice place to sit, although it is on the main road. Tables under palapas, a "taco fixings" bar in the middle with all kinds of salsas and cabbage salad and the like. The tacos were made with each item coated with breading and then deep fried before being put in the taco - we ordered fish, shrimp, beef and chicken tacos and each piece of meat was treated this way. Others in our party ordered tostados and unless you like the fried taco thing, I would stick with the other options. Food and drinks were good, just not my style with the fried items in the tacos.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urge Taquito also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Urge Taquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urge Taquito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.