We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mexican food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Urge Taquito

Urge Taquito
Highway 307 / Avenida Tulum, Tulum, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 223 Restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Windsor, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This place is just a short walk from the main touristy bit of Tulum. Quite a lot of fish on the menu. The food was great, authentic Mexican food, great service at a great price. Very spicy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    12
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great DYI tacos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place is just before the crossroads. Is open only daytime. You order the filling and then do the tacos on the DYI bar. Super fresh ingredients. We went there a couple of times while in Tulum. Also is quite affordable!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very cheap, great tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

For those on a budget or wanting gray tacos this is a brilliant option. The tacos come with deep fried and battered fish chicken or beef. Then you can loaf up with salads and dips from the self service salad bar. This place also has great cocktails and cheap beer. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If you are near Tulum, search out this Taco Stand!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Between the 5 of us I think we tried about one of everything seafood on the menu. We had mixed Seafood Ceviche, Fish and Shrimp Tacos, and even stuffed Chili’s with Shrimp and Cheese (Good and Spicy). Everything we had was good and fresh. Inexpensive, ice cold beer, great food and salsa bar along with good service, this is a must find!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good food, particularly for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

22 pesos for very good tacos - I very much enjoyed the shrimp and fish, particularly with the wide variety of sauces provided. My husband tried a few other items, which were also very good. The ceviche, I had the mixta, was the best out of the multiple ceviches I tried on and off the beach. This ceviche was also the most reasonably priced - 115 pesos for the grande which is waaaay to much for 2 people - insane portions. The medium for 80 or so would likely be plenty. We were so happy with this place, we ate here twice during our week in Tulum. A must visit for a great lunch! I believe they close at 6pm, so lunch is the time to visit. Service was also very good, and fairly quick by Tulum standards. As we generally found in Tulum, most people understand and speak a good amount of English here, if you are Spanish challenged.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urge Taquito also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Urge Taquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urge Taquito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.