We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The owner Lourdes is super cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Matisse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Matisse to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Matisse
Avenida Satelite, Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 65 Tulum B&B and Inns
Cancun, Mexico
1 review
“The owner Lourdes is super cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Lourdes has a warm friendly laid back style. Very welcoming & helpful.
Room was clean and very comfortable. Great value. Complimentary coffee every morning to get you on your way.
Use the free bikes to get to get to the beach. The stretch past Posada Lamar seemed best.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
14
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Loudres is a wonderful host. The location is great. The rooms are very comfortable. You are treated to a continental breakfast and if you want to do some cooking there is a kitchen for you to use. Our favorite place to stay in Tulum.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I was lucky to find a place in Matisse for Christmas because earlier whenever I tried, the villa was always full. Only 6 rooms, so you either get lucky, or you book in advance. The villa itself is in a lovely secret garden, and the magic is added by the owner, Lourdes. She takes good care of the guests. The rooms are simple, but clean, equipped with all you need: comfortbale bed, private bathroom, fans. There is a small kitchen you can use at the entrance of the hotel, and also a fridge, which makes everything so much more comfortable. They even prepare a small breakfast with coffee, home made jam, bread and butter, so that you can fill your stomach with something. If this is not enough, be sure to visit Azafran restaurant across the road, where you can get the best breakfast in Tulum.
Villa Matisse is in a good area of Tulum, even if it rains, there is a sidewalk, which means no jumping over puddles, and everything else in Tulum is near. I loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badplaas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Villa Matisse is ideally situated just off the main road - far enough away from the noise, but close enough to walk or bike everywhere. Lourdes the owner has a great personality and is very helpful. The rooms are well looked after. There are bikes to use free of charge, and a small kitchen if you don't want to eat out all the time.

Room Tip: If you're a technical diver, the rooms on the ground floor are easier. Otherwise you have to car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayangue, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at Villa Matisse for 6 nights and my stay was perfect! I had a room on the 3rd floor with 2 fans and it was fine even in August heat. The room was a really nice size, with private bath and a hammock in the room, too. The price was very fair, there is a shared kitchen and continental breakfast is provided as well. The owner is extremely friendly and will do anything to make your stay more comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anywhere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I live in Tulum but stayed a few nights at Villa Matisse to get away from my sometimes unbearably noisy neighborhood. It was such a relief to stay there, in the end I didn´t want to leave!
Lourdes is super sweet and made me feel right at home. The room was perfect - a very clean, well-ventilated room with high-quality bed, sheets and decór; privacy and WIFI. I slept sooo well here! Every morning there was coffee and sweetbread waiting in the cute communal kitchen, and being able to use the fridge, pots & pans etc. was definitely a plus.
I would say that this small charming b&b is, BY FAR, the very best budget option in all of Tulum town. You wont regret staying here!

Room Tip: second or 3rd floor is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited Villa Matisse on our honeymoon, We were initially planning to stay there one night and then move to one of the cheaper hotels on the beach. However, Villa Matisse felt so much like home that we ended up staying a full week! It's not located on the beach but we found that the short distance to the Tulum shops and cheap eats and a bicycle ride to the beach every morning suited us better and was a lot cheaper. Villa Matisse offers a range of bicycles for free use, a hearty breakfast each morning, but more importantly the owner, Lourdes, lives next door and is so welcoming and wonderful that you feel like you are staying with family. She is always cheerful and generous with advice and travel suggestions. We absolutely loved seeing her every morning! The rooms were perfectly clean and a pleasure to stay in. The bed was really comfortable, as apposed to most other places in Mexico. There is a hammock in the room and fresh towls daily.We loved staying in Villa Matisse and would absolutely recommend it to anyone of any age!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms, they are all facing the same side so it does not really make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Matisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Matisse

Address: Avenida Satelite, Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Matisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Matisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.