We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home sick after leaving Playa Selva” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Selva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Playa Selva to your Saves list
Playa Selva
Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8.4 | Apartado Postal 131, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home sick after leaving Playa Selva”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

We recently stayed in Playa Selva for 4 weeks with our 15 month old twins.
I'm a little bit in doubt to write this, because we are worried about the availability of Playa Selva next year ;-)
We stayed in the 2-story house which is right on the beach (like the other bungalow and cabana). We had an amazing time. Life was so relaxed and easy over there!
The house was perfect for us. They had 2 very good baby-beds and enough musquito-nets available. From out of our bed, we could see the beatifull beach and ocean.
Mauricio and Manuela are perfect hosts, they know exactly what you need (and don't need), but also the other guest were very nice. I think because of the history of Playa Selva they attract a very nice audience.
The Jungle-garden is really great, it feels like you are in the jungle on the beach.
It was for us a big adventure to stay 4 weeks on the same spot, but we loved every minute of it. After we were back in Holland, we were really homesick to Playa Selva.
This is the best it will get, we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    7
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
43
57
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

This place had everything that we were looking for. We rented the smallest cabaña for one night (wish we could have stayed longer) and it was perfect for us. The accomodation is simple but charming. Also, Mauricio and Manuela (the owners of the place) were very helpful and sweet. To sum up, it was the highlight of our two week long vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I recently told a friend of mine that I only had a week to take for vacation this year and that I wanted to do nothing but sit on a beautiful beach. She said "you want to go to Tulum and you want to stay at Playa Selva". So was so right, our gracious hosts Mauricio and Manuela make everything so easy from lovely quarters to pointing you towards just the right place for a drink or a outdoor excursion. Playa Selva is close to all the sights you want to see, but seems far away and relaxing at the same time. The lovely rustic cabanas showcase the simplistic, yet beautiful detail that goes into the construction of all the regions lovely buildings. Seamless, relaxing, yet interesting vacation. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, NM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

As I walk the gorgeous stretch of Tulum's beaches, spotted with the various cabana establishments, it seems there might be one style to match the person you are. For me, Playa Selva spoke volumes to me. It is straight-forward, humble, and utterly perfect. There is no "schtick" here, just honest aesthetic, grand in its un-pretentiousness. It is slightly tucked back and utterly private. It feels like you have your own private jungle beach. We stayed in both the simple cabana and the 2-story cabana. I loved them both. The simple cabana was all you could need and the price is one of the fairest in all of Tulum. It was cleaned everyday, bath towels and shower towels were provided. Manuela lights luminarias or farolitos every evening and the out door showers and kitchen are perfectly clean and wonderful to use. For me, the whole point of being at the ocean is being outside as much as possible. The 2-room cabana has a perfect upstairs loft. It was like sleeping above the ocean itself, the breezes blowing by the thatched roof. This has hot showers and a really thoughtful, original design.
We ordered breakfast one morning to be had at Playa Selva, it was the best of all of Tulum. A steady flow of coffee (American-style), home-made bread (Manuela has a Swiss-knack), eggs, a meat, cheese, olive, relish plate, fresh-juice, gorgeous fruit plate, beans, quesadillas, on and on. Playa Selva is not big and commercial. Here you are paying for something authentic and original, not the fuss and hype of so many of the other places. Highly Recommended! We will be going back year after year.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taos
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

We found this place last minute on the internet and luckily the simple cabana was available. We arrived in the evening with a path of luminarias lighting our way. There are only two cabanas and one house for rent here providing simple, down to earth accomodations. The cabanas are clean and comfortable with a shared outdoor kitchen which is also very clean. The owners are fun and friendly and our stay wouldn't have been the same without them.They took us on a tour of a local cenote and provide many other personal tours of the area. The beach is incredibly gorgeous with personal beach chairs and hammocks all over. We had made arrangements to visit Puerto Morelos after Tulum but when we arrived at the accomodations in Puerto Morelos we were very disappointed that we left Playa Selva. We quickly emailed Manuela to see if we could come back and luckily our cabana was still available. We quickly headed back to Playa Selva via collectivos and were so glad we did. Don't forget to ask for the incredible breakfasts (best in Tulum). Thank you Manuela, Mauricio and Tiago for such a great visit. We will be back again soon!

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticiut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

I loved this place. It’s extremely cozy, clean and the owners were wonderful! It was private and personal compared to the other places on the street.. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Tulum. The owners were really helpful with pointing were to go and places to see. Thank you Manuela and Mauricio for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Selva

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Paila km 8.4 | Apartado Postal 131, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Selva is one of the most beautiful beaches in Tulum with agarden composed of large trees, surrounded by practically virgin nature.This place has everything you need for an unforgettable vacation.A place to relax, away from the rush and the noise.A place to recharge your energy; alone, with your partner, with friends or with the entire family.A place to practice different sports and leisure activities.A place to let your soul fly free.Playa Selva is located on the Tulum beach; 8 km from the town, 8 km from the Tulum Mayan ruins and 3 km from the extraordinary Sian Ka'an Biosphere Natural Reserve (UNESCO World Heritage). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Playa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Selva Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Selva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.