We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dim-lit ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Banana

Casa Banana
Carretera Tulum Boca Paila, Km. 8.5. | Hotel Nueva Vida de Ramiro, Tulum 77780, Mexico
9848062871
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 202 restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located across the beach road from Nueva Vida is Casa Banana Steakhouse, a Tulum dining hot spot. Serving up classic Argentinian style cuisine, the food here is simple, fresh and delicious. For breakfast each morning enjoy made to order coffee, homemade banana bread, and pineapple coconut jam. At night the restraurant gets busy and comes alive with it’s outdoor grill, known as “parilla,” and dishes are cooked over the open fire for all to see. The menu favorites include grilled to perfection steak, fresh caught fish, impressive salads, and a thoughtfully selected wine list. Don’t forget to try the handshaken icy margaritas, too.Open daily breakfast, lunch and dinner. We provide beach service for all guests of the hotel.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great dim-lit ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The complimentary sausage appetizer was probably the best bite of the meal. The steak was good but not great. The whole grilled fish was excellent!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    319
    154
    58
    29
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Grrrrrrreat Steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very very very good steaks, but very expensive! The service was good. The clientele tended to be loud Americans though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great Vacio Argentino cooked to perfection and very professional staff. Dessert choice limited but everything was delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

nested in the forest alongside tulum s main road, casa banana is a great steakhouse but they also offer fish. great and nice staff, great atmosphere and super good food

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“food pricey for the quality but Makes up for it in atmosphere, decor and service- take BUG SPRAY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to kick of our honeymoon.

This was also our first encounter with the food prices. Think the general consensus in each restaurant on the beach road in 200-300 pesos per main meal.. They've talked to each other- very clever.

We shared a calamari then I got scared with the prices so went with a more reasonable option of 'filet steak' surf and turf kebob/kebab.

My husband had the whole fish.

My kebab was tasty, tasty condiments and extras. It's just that meat was deff NOT filet steak and was very very chewy. Think I picked wrong. BUT it IS a steak restaurant, this is why I picked steak.

My husbands fish was a bit skinny but again, tasty sides! I basically think the quality of the meat and fish isn't worth the price. But everything else makes up for it.

Overall, I recommend a trip. Lovely atmosphere and quiet and sincere service- great for people watching too!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Banana also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Banana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Banana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.