We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azafran Restaurant

Azafran Restaurant
Ave. Satelite norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
984-129-6130
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 205 Restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
El Paso, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We found this place on our last day in Tulum and that was unfortunate. The food was great and the service excellent. The Resteraunt is in a little garden behind the kitchen of this quaint little p,ace. My wife and the Hangover which I tried and was great. It has a lot of meat, sausage and bacon and eggs and mash potatoes but was good. I had the Salmon bagel and it was great. The meal came with coffee and OJ which was fresh. Great breakfast with great set ice. The owner is a German lady who has been there 14 years. She was cordial and I would have loved to talk to her about Tulum and activities she might have suggested, but because it was our last day we did not see any reason to do that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    14
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good breakfast place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Eat in a beautiful, quiet garden area behind the building. Prices are really very reasonable as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yummy my fav breakfast spot in Tulum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We make a special point to go to this restaurant for breakfast at least once each trip, even if breakfast is included in whatever hotel we are staying. The ambiance is amazing, very nice people and a wonderful garden setting, and the "hangover breakfast" is absolutely addictive. I don't know what they do to the eggs but they are delicious and the sausage and bacon are perfect. Just an overall delightful experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very nice place to meet and eat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great breakfast, coffee and smoothies. Nice German host. English /German /Spanish speaking. Calm, peaceful, natural space. Excellent service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
“My favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

One of my favorite restaurant in Tulum. The food is excellent with a unique menu. They also can make you a special plate at your taste! And the garden is beautiful. And the owners are so kind and they know, somehow, how to create magic there. Like when you meet local friend there or the feeling of being home. Love Azafran!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran Restaurant also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Azafran Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azafran Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.