We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azafran Restaurant

Azafran Restaurant
Ave. Satelite norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
+52 984 129 6130
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 248 Restaurants in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney
1 review
“Amazing breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The most amazing breakfast we have had in Mexico after travelling the country for the last 4 weeks. The owner is lovely and when we asked if she was open for dinner (unfortunately she wasnt only breakfast and lunch) she was kind enough to suggest multiple places to go in the area. The other staff were all smiles and the courtyard amongst the trees was lovely.

We had the Hangover breakfast which included delicious homemade sausages, which my gf who doesn't normally like sausages said she could eat an entire plate full as a meal, bacon, mash, eggs, toast, coffee and freshly squeezed oj, the best deal ever for only 95 pesos and presented beautifully.

I cannot speaker highly enough of this place, we are definitely returning tomorrow morning and every morning until we have to leave Tulum. 10/10

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    19
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“num num in a beautiful garden!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Hangover Breakfast is all that it is cracked up to be- eggs, bacon, potatoes, with coffee and juice! The garden is a beautiful and peaceful spot to enjoy it. When we were there a fellow patron was strumming on his guitar. A wonderful start to any day in Tulum.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The "Hangover Breakfast" is the best deal in town for 95 peseos. Mika the owner is a sweet lady with incredible skills in the kitchen. Always consistent and delicious everything I've had there is made with love. The staff is very nice and the outside courtyard is a great place to enjoy a meal.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts and brunches, you will keep coming back......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant serves some of the most delicous breakfasts and brunches in Tulum!
The fantastic Hangover Breakfast is highly recommended and so are the savoury bagels (try the Texan Bagel Breakfast).
All of the food is fantastically fresh, the coffee and orange juice is great and the gardens are peaceful, shaded and beautifully presented.
The owners are very friendly and service is excellent.
Very highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden Setting and Terrific Breakfasts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I ate breakfast three times at Azafran during our recent visit to Akumal. We were having our car repaired in Tulum a friend introduced us to Azafran. It was so enjoyable and good that we went back two more times! The Hangover Breakfast was perfect for my husband as he likes sausage, bacon and eggs. The mashed potatoes served with the breakfast are an interesting twist on breakfast potatoes and they are very tasty. The fresh pressed orange juice which came with the breakfast was a favorite of mine. I enjoyed Pablo's omelet one day and the chaya cheese omelet another time. Both were delicious and generous portions. The toasted bread and marmalade were very tasty and different from breakfasts in other area restaurants. The service is good and attentive. Breakfast at Azafran is a perfect way to start your day. They also serve interesting bagels with a variety of toppings and next time I will try their fruit crepe as it sounds very tasty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azafran Restaurant also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Azafran Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azafran Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.