We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite moments in Tulum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Violeta Restaurant

Casa Violeta Restaurant
Boca Paila 8, Tulum 77780, Mexico
19848018255
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Santa Clara, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of my favorite moments in Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I just stumbled upon this place one afternoon during our 4 night stay in Tulum. We were drawn into the restaurant after reading a sign advertising a free margherita pizza with any pizza order. We thought it was too good to be true but it wasn't! We got two pizzas for the price of one and they were DELICIOUS! The staff here is unbelievably friendly. The view from the restaurant is spectacular. The person who decorated this restaurant has excellent taste. We really enjoyed the Chilean wines we drank here as well.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good pizza..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Has two great dinners at casa Violetta.
Each occasion the service was friendly and attentive.
We had gone there because we heard they had good pizza, We were not disappointed.
Thin crust , brick oven , tangy tomato sauce and lots of different topping,
Casual laid back vibe and good cocktails... what more could you want.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Pleasant spot, laid back, delicious pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We were walking along the beach, looking for a place to stop for a light lunch and drink. We stopped at Casa Violeta and loved sitting so close to the beach, watching the water and having a delicious, wood fired pizza. By far, this was the best pizza we had in two weeks in Mexico. The service was good and we would have returned had we stayed longer in Tulum.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prestwick
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

My husband and I ate here twice during our recent trip to Tulum. First night we had pizza and it was too die for, so good it was top of our list to visit again. It was about 20min walk from our bungalows and at night its really dark so we headed off about sunset the following week for the return trip. I am so glan they couldn't make pizza that night as I had a fish dish which was exquisite as did my husband. The guy serving was really helpful and made recommendations, explained the dishes and how they would be cooked. Definetly worth a trip and should not be missed.

We thought the prices were on a par with home in a nice restaurant about £12-14 for a main course and £6-7 for a starter.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“romantic atmospeher and simple fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Right on the beach. Visited on the evening of a wind/sandstorm, so they had the patio enclosure closed. The lights hanging from the trees outside and inside the restaurant made it very romantic. The food was very simple (wood fired pizzas) and very good. Service was efficient and sweet. We really enjoyed it for a change of pace in Tulum.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Violeta Restaurant also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Casa Violeta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Violeta Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.