We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Pez is as nice as postcard...or a Corona commercial. I definitely recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pez at Turtle Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Pez at Turtle Cove to your Saves list
El Pez at Turtle Cove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“El Pez is as nice as postcard...or a Corona commercial. I definitely recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I stayed at El Pez for several days as part of my sister's wedding. The hotel is simply fantastic. It's like out of a postcard. it sits right on this beach that looks like something out of a Corona beer commercial. The hotel has clean, spacious rooms with very comfortable beds. I recommend keeping your windows open at night so as to let in the delightful breezes as you go to sleep.

The food in the main entrance/bar/dining area is spectacular with plenty of fresh, local food and cold, delicious drinks.

The staff is friendly, courteous and polite.

There are plenty of comfortable places to relax, both in the main area of the hotel and on the beach. There are tons of comfortable chairs, couches, and chaise lounges.

El Pez is also well located. Besides being right on the beach, it's also close to tons of restaurants and shops.

The only negative thing I will say is that the hotel does not have air conditioning so you will probably wake up at 6 am because the sun comes up and the rooms heat up. So don't count on no sleeping in. But you shouldn't be in one of the most beautiful places in the world to sleep all day.

Run, don't walk to stay there. It's the best!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Nicholas,

We still remember the wonderful friends and family of Pamela. All of you were amazing.

Thanks for the words you wrote about our staff. It a pleasure for us to read such a beautiful review.
Everyone here send you a big hugh.

Also thank you for mentioning the food at El Pez Restaurant, we are putting a lot of energy, and mostly our hearts in trying to become in one of the best places to eat in Tulum.

This is your house at Mexico,

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    55
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
226
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Awesome staff, as friendly and helpful as they come. It's on a small cove so it has a secluded feel. The big beaches are a few minutes away. The rooms are pretty cool. No door to the bathroom. The fan works only okay, it wasn't that hot when we were there, so it wasn't an issue. The view is insane. The rooms each have their own little private deck. The continental breakfast is super tasty. They drop coffee or tea off outside your door early every morning before breakfast. We really loved it there and are planning to return. Super relaxing spot. Don't go there though, we want to keep it for ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Justin,

Alexis and you are such a beautiful couple, we were really lucky in having both of you here with us.

Thanks for the mentioning that our staff is AWESOME, your words makes everyone here at El Pez fell proud of themselves.

You know that you will always be welcome at El Pez,

Hope to see you again at beautiful Tulum,

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Staying at El Pez this January was a truly incredible experience. What a wonderful staff! The location was probably the best in all of the Tulum beach area. We stayed for 9 days and visited the other hotels in the area. By far El Pez is the best - - best staff, best location, best food, best rooms! What a tranquil and serene location, close enough to walk to town, but far enough to feel away from it all. The continental break fast every day was perhaps some of the healthiest hotel food I have ever had. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Cabana room, all of which were just excellent. We stayed downstairs, so maybe next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jamie,

The Best of all Tulum, thanks, thanks and really thanks for writing such an amazing words for us.

We can not be more happy with a review, you are the Best !!!

We will always be here for you.

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Very friendly staff, lovely location. We started every day with incredible fruit juices and and healthy breakfast. The room was very comfortable and always clean. Amazing ceviche for lunch! Looking forward to be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear NoemiNY,

We really appreciate that you took the time to write a Trip Advisor review of El Pez.

Thank you so much for the nice words about our staff, and also about the food at El Pez Restaurant. You are right a fresh Ceviche at lunch can be one of the most wonderful thing at life.

Hope to see you again soon !!!

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

three things that are very poor
1. fans do not move air, look good but function very poorly, roasted as result, even with the door open to ocean breeze
2. toilet is a low volume toilet that does not work well to say the least, multiple flushes.
3. cannot lock sliding door, they put a strip of wood in front of the lock.
4. beach looks good but cannot go in the water to swim, bay is full of sharp rocks, same with the bay right next door to the north, had to walk 5 -10 minutes to the next bay to the south to be able to swim but cannot sit on the lounges as they belong to the next resort.
We paid US$350.00 for an oceanfront room on the 2nd floor.

Also do not pay in advance, they do not want to refund any money for poor service etc.
We had to argue with them to get a refund for the unused night, we were paying full rate.

Overall I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all comments from our guests, both positive and negative. There is always room for improvement. You have highlighted some areas that you feel we have let you down and we will be looking very closely at these and how we can improve our product for all future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I just spent a week at El Pez before Christmas. I've stayed there before and always liked it, but now I feel like they're really hitting their stride. The new chef is turning out some great meals (he even made delicious oatmeal for me every morning even though it's not on the menu), the staff is super friendly and the rooms have amazing views (I was in an oceanfront room on the first floor). The beach is a protected cove so it's never that rough, though be advised there are more rocks in the water here than farther down the beach (an easy few minutes walk). There's also a really cool rocky point (Punta Piedra) where you can explore tide pools with your kids and watch epic sunrises.
They're also putting the finishing touches on the last of their 3 beach houses. If you have a larger group you should definitely check these out.
Overall, it's a great vibe and a great place. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Tom,

It is an honor for us to read such an amazing review about the work we do here everyday.

Also thanks for the nice words about our restaurant, Chef Eric and his team is putting also their energy in trying to make El Pez restaurant, the best restaurant in town.

We are blessed with the nature that surround our hotel, nice that you took the time to appreciate.

Big hugh to your beautiful family.

See you again in any moment,

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

It;s my second time in tulum and my second time in el pez. I love it. Amazing boutique hotel, beautiful location and outstanding staff, always ready to help, suggest the best deals and activities, aware of all the needs of the visitors. I will surely come back with a couple of good friends in the next holiday. Tulum is lovely and El Pez its surely one of the most chic and beautiful choices I made. I went for a walk around different hotels in the area and you cannot compare the feeling that you have at El Pez, it's my kind of place, clean, relaxed, chic, bohemian and the best human-experience with the recepcionist and all the staff. My girlfriend loved the food. Now I'm back in london freezing...i just want to come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Gerente at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guests,

Is such a pleasure to read your beautiful review about El Pez.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience, we also enjoyed a lot having you and Claudia here with us.

The staff is really proud of your words.

Hope to see you again soon, you know you will always be welcome to El Pez.

El Pez Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pez at Turtle Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez at Turtle Cove

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pez at Turtle Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Pez at Turtle Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pez at Turtle Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.