We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pez at Turtle Cove

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Pez at Turtle Cove
Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
HOTTEST SUMMER SALE ! 35%
Ranked #6 of 75 hotels in Tulum
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

El Pez is an amazing small hotel where I felt home from the moment I walked in my beautiful room. The staff is really helpful and friendly. They try to make your stay wonderful. And they do!
The rooms are very nice and with a lot of space. You can sleep with the doors open and hear the sea. The food is probably the best we had in Mexico and look at my pictures: NO photoshop. The views are amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Jolien!

Thank you so much for writing a review! We were so thrilled you found the food to be the best you had in Mexico! What a great compliment, as there are many amazing places to eat in Tulum! Thank you for sharing all your amazing pics! We hope you can come visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    50
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
190
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I just returned from an amazing week at El Pez. It was one of the most relaxing vacations I've ever had. The entire hotel staff is extraordinary - helpful, kind, informative and welcoming. This is a top choice while visiting Tulum.

Room Tip: There are a dozen rooms, ask for one of the top floor ocean view and you won't regret it. We sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the "wonderful" review! :) We were so happy to hear we helped make it one of your most relaxing vacations ever! And on behalf of our entire staff, thank you for recognizing them and all of their hard work. We hope you are able to stay with us and enjoy the beauty of cabaña 12 again soon!

Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield,IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have to admit that I was a bit spectacle when my husband told me we would not be staying at an all inclusive hotel during our stay in Q.Roo. My ideal vacation was usually pampering and lots to do. However after already being in Mexico for 1 and half weeks I was ready for some quiet time. We were traveling with our one year old daughter.

I had not realized that Tulum was this laid back. There were actually a lot of 'hippy' style people (tourists) and you would even see some trying to hitch a ride. This wasn't a problem at all. More of just an observation. We were greeted warmly by the front desk and when they showed us our room the first night it was amazing. I couldn't believe the view we had. The rooms did not have AC but were all equipped with a high power fan that worked well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Every morning before 8am there would be a basket outside our door with coffee and tea. I thought this was a very nice detail. Several bottles of water were provided in every room. There was one night where they didn't have accommodations (we had known this prior to booking) and they helped us find one nearby last minute.

The restaurant had excellent food. Breakfast was included which consisted of fresh fruit with yogurt and granola and any style eggs or pancakes or french toast. Their fruit smoothies and vegetable drinks were excellent. Their arrachera with mashed potato dinner was phenomenal.

To swim on the beach you have to go to a different part because there are too many rocks at the beach by the hotel but the nicer part of the beach is about 5 minutes away. The pool at the hotel isn't very inviting and small. It is in the shade so the water is very cold. It's nice to look at but not so appealing to jump in.

But if you are looking for a place to stay where all you do is relax and not be bombarded by lots of people, this is the spot. However you will need a rental car when staying here. Taxi rides from Cancun airport to Tulum would well cost over $100 each way (1 1/2 hour trip one way). XCaret and Playa del Carmen are about 45 minutes away and the Tulum ruins are about 10 minutes away.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this hotel for families with older kids but more like couples. My one year old didn't mind but I think the quietness would bore older kids especially because there aren't any activities for them.

Overall my impression of staying at a cabin style hotel has completely changed thanks to my husband's choice and our stay at El Pez. I would definitely stay here again.They even have a rental home right next to the cabins that sleep about 15. This would be a perfect stay for friends for the next time! Am looking forward to staying here in the future.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are on the top floor and have pull out beds for more than two guests. Regar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Domenik,

We really appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community! We are proud to have changed your mind about Tulum. You are correct that it is a very laid back place, perfect for unwinding and relaxing! We hope that you and your family are able to visit us again-the Beach House is waiting for you!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and daughter stayed at this hotel in January 2013. We really enjoyed our stay. First of all, Tulum is a small town. The strip where El Pez is located looks like a small village and lacks many off the amenities a large hotel in a big city can offer. This is what appealed to us and lured us to Tulum.

There is no grid power in the hotel strip. All of the hotels here have to generate their own power. We never experiences any downtime while at El Pez. The rooms were spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The view to the ocean from our room was pleasant.

The staff is always working ensuring that guests have everything they need. For example, they don't normally stock decaffeinated coffee but bought some just for my pregnant wife. The staff was nice enough to offer complementary baby bottle washing and refilling with warm milk for our one year old daughter. We were never told NO. If something was not available they found a solution. This group of people genuinely cares that you enjoy your stay at El Pez.

The food here is better than what you will get in an all inclusive resort. My favorite meal there was a lobster with a michelada and lemon pie with coconut smoothie for dessert.

And now the negatives:
We didn't use the pool and had no intention or desire of plunging in a pool in this stay but it looked a little cold and uninviting.
The beach here is okay if you want to just walk in the water a few feet in. It is a little too rocky to swim or play games. The rocks look beautiful and provide an awesome place to sit and look and listen to the ocean and look at stars at night There are great beaches within walking distance. We had a rental car and chose to go to the Tulum ruins and use their beach. It is a short 5 minute car ride away with perfect water, sand and a breathtaking backdrop. Just don't fall prey to the tour salesmen at the Tulum parking lot that act like they are official Tulum employees selling Tulum entrances.

If you want a quiet place on the Tulum beach without the crowds El Pez is an excellent choice. You will not get much pampering here. It is just you and a beach with a friendly staff, good restaurant and a few other guests. No watered down tiny drinks you normally find in Cancun hotels or cheap food. No rushing out to reserve beach chairs. Good place if you are looking for tranquility.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Elias,

It was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were so happy to read that you felt the staff truly cares that you enjoy your stay while at El Pez because we do! We hope that you are able to return with you new bundle of joy and enjoy another delicious fresh lobster dinner again soon!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful week at El Pez. The hotel is small and friendly and located right on the beach. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Each day we were left bottled water and fresh beach towels, as well as an early morning coffee to enjoy before breakfast. All rooms have a balcony and a sea view. Most rooms are facing/on the beach, however there are 2 garden rooms from which you do still get a sea view.

The hotel serves a delicious breakfast, with a choice of tea forte teas. The banana pancakes are highly recommended! They also have a lunch and dinner menu - we found the food to be fresh, highly flavourful and reasonably priced. The waiters were very friendly and helpful (especially Bruno, Wilberth and Reuben).

The hotel is located within a quiet cove, and although the beach is beautiful with white sand, it is a little too rocky to swim. However, just a few mins walk along the beach brings you to a long stretch of perfect beach with great swimming. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of plenty of restaurants. We also hired bicycles and cycled down the beach road to Tulum's Mayan ruins which was lots of fun. There are plenty of day trips on offer, as well as snorkelling and diving opportunities.

Additionally, our flight home was delayed by 24hrs (due to snow!) and the hotel could not have been more accommodating. They extended our stay and rearranged our airport transfers, all before breakfast.

Overall, we had a very relaxing week in a great hotel - we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi Claire!

Thank you so much for your sweet review! We were happy to be able to accomodate you with the extra night-it was truly our pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us! We appreciate you noticing the small details that help separate El Pez. We hope that you are able to return to Tulum soon!

Best Regards,

Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I, my wife and our three children stayed a week at El Pez and we had a fantastic time, we can't recommend it enough. We loved the view of the sea and the rocks, the nice and tidy rooms, the cozy restaurant, the food and the great staff, I could go on and on. We walked extensively along the beach and also tried lunches and dinners at other hotels, but none - in our view - was as good as El Pez. Simply the best place in Tulum. If we ever go to Tulum again, we'll definitely stay at El Pez!!

Room Tip: There is only twelve rooms and all are good I think, we had one of the larger seasida rooms which pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. To say that we are the best place in Tulum is such a wonderful compliment! You have a beautiful family and it was definitely our pleasure to have you with us! We hope that you are all able to visit us again soon and bring the entire family with you!

Warm Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for nine days and really enjoyed our stay. Great location - lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance . Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Clean room. Bathroom a little small but we didn't mind. We would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers! We were so happy to hear you found our location to be great and convenient. On behalf of the entire staff, we do hope you are able to stay with us again soon!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Pez at Turtle Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez at Turtle Cove

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pez at Turtle Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added El Pez at Turtle Cove to your Saves list