We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely stay in tulum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pez at Turtle Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Pez at Turtle Cove to your Saves list
El Pez at Turtle Cove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
los angeles
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“a lovely stay in tulum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

tulum has grown up; which is both good and bad. the good, there are nice places to stay and good restaurants; the bad, it is not the pristine, primitive place it used to be. but it is still lovely.

and staying at el pez contributes. lovely people, service and food; ocean views, and nice vibe. the staff were super helpful and nice.

i recomend highly

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is so nice to hear that staying at El Pez contributes to a lovely time in Tulum! We are glad that you found the staff super helpful and experienced the good vibe of Pez. Thank you for recommending us to your fellow travelers!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    55
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
226
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012 and loved it! A nice small boutique hotel with a muy tranquillo atmosphere and very friendly staff. Our room (seaview) was lovely. Going to sleep by candle light and to the sound of the waves, waking up seeing the sunrise in the sea just from our bed.. We especially loved the 'beach bag' in our room, a bag with two beachtowels, two magazines and two small bottles of water. We both hope to return to El Pez one day..

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sofie,

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your SeaView room & found your time here at El Pez relaxing! We also really hope you both are able to return to Pez one day!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed 7 nights at El Pez in November, while doing a bit of exploration around the Yucatan peninsula.

El Pez proved to be the perfect place for us to stay. We were seeking some quiet time away from work and the set up & staff expertise at El Pez hit just the right spot. A limited number of well-appointed cabanas and rooms provides a very tranquil place to relax and enjoy the stunning view of the private beach. There was never any difficulty in findng a sunbed for the day and the hotel seems purpose-built for people trying to switch off. Quiet, wonderfully unobtrusive service (the staff always seem to be there just when you need them, and are great at reading when to just leave you be).

The rooms are beautifully well appointed ; beautiful furnishings and Molton Brown toiletries. The whole environment is incredibly calm and peaceful, only the sound of the waves outside.

The little things El Pez gets right also make a huge difference ; a thermos full of coffee on your doorstep each morning, the BEST breakfast which is tailored as you wish, bike hire and even recommendations of other restaurants, though El Pez has a restaurant itself. The staff are a huge belssing ; even before we left the UK, they had practically organised everything for us from hire cars, to trips to Si'an Kaan. They really cannot do enough for you. Wonderful people.

That's how El Pez is different : everything feels set up for YOU. Would strongly recommend this as a hideaway retreat to explore Tulum, which itself is beautiful but busier.

Beyond El Pez, for a massage the Shantala Spa in Tulum centre may not look much but is superb.

Only "drawback" is no gym but it would feel totally out of place both at El Pez and Tulum overall. There were some hardcore runners out running on the sand is 30 degrees celsius, but I'm mystified on why you'd want to when there is such a perfect place to relax! Leave your runnig shoes at home!

Overall, El Pez is a credit to the owners and management, would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the awesome review & amazing compliment! To say that everything feels like it is set up for YOU was wonderful to hear, as that is our goal at El Pez! As managers, we were so thrilled that you found the service "unobtrusive (the staff always seem to be there just when you need them, and are great at reading when to just leave you be)." We strive to make your vacation the most relaxing & enjoyable experience possible & we know that our staff is instrumental in achieving that. We hope that you are able to visit us again.

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I spent a total of 7 nights at El Pez over the first couple weeks of November and had the time of our lives. The accommodations were incredibly comfortable, the setting ideal, the food and drinks to die for and the customer service was the best I've ever experienced. Michael and Julia and their staff - Derek, Jaime, Antonio, Wilbur and my main man Ruben! - made us feel at home and a part of their great family. We hope to visit every year.

Our first four nights at El Pez were for our friends wedding. I can't imagine a better setting for an intimate wedding and am still amazed by how well the staff helped plan and execute every facet of the multi-day event. It was truly a story-book destination wedding.

Releasing sea turtles back into the wild?! Yes please, what an amazing experience. The breakfast is no joke. Its like the best Sunday morning brunch of the year served every day. Might be the thing I miss most about our trip.

The long list of reasons to stay at El Pez - natural beauty, exquisite and comfortable accommodations, great food and drinks, friendly, knowledgable and helpful staff, I could go on and on - is not alone enough for me to rate any destination as highly as I'm ranking this gem. Ultimately, what is a vacation destination if doesnt also provide an excellent value? When I'm traveling or eating out I want to feel like I'm getting my moneys worth. If I have an incredible experience AND leave feeling like I've received a great value I'll be a loyal customer life. This is how I feel about El Pez!

Thanks El Pez for making our stay in Tulum the trip of a lifetime! See you next year! We love you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hey Deano!

We can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed having you & Erin stay with us during your time in Tulum! We were so excited you were able to return & stay with us for more time even after the wedding-we had so much fun with you guys! The wedding party was a blast-thank you all for making us feel like part of such a fun & beautiful wedding. It was so incredible to share the turtle releasing with your group-what great timing that was! It made us smile to read that the breakfasts may be what you miss most. :) Derick, Jaime, Wilberth, Antonio & especially Ruben all send their love too! We miss you guys mucho! We can't wait until next time you visit us again!

Much love,

Michael & Julia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Had a fantastic time here. went into a lot of the other hotel's and found this one. We found the best. Its a light and open property. All rooms have a view of the sea.Rooms are very smart, the loo and shower are not completely enclosed.If you like privacy in your bathroom this might not suit you! Wonderful balcony's that you can relax on and watch the sea.up early to see the sun rise, what a great sight. Sunset can be seen from the beach.Staff are really helpful and friendly.Breakfast very good, not a buffet, but they will serve you any thing you want. They make their own bread it was delicious.Free wi-fi and a drink when you arrive. Lots of free bottle water.
small pool area. lovely beach but for swimming in the sea its better to walk around the corner to a bigger beach area.would love to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hola Eliza!

We want to thank you for choosing El Pez for your time in Tulum and also for your review! We really enjoy reading your feedback & were super happy to hear you feel Pez is the best hotel on the beach! We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast so much. We hope that you are able to spend more time with us next time!

Best Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

El Pez had a nice blend of a relaxed atmosphere coupled with exceptional and friendly service. We stayed in one of the beach cabanas and woke up every morning to an amazing ocean view.

There are great local restaurants in the area (try Cetli) and lots of activities. It is worth visiting the local Cenotes and, if you like fishing and/or snorkeling – it is worth taking a trip to the Sian-Ka’an biosphere (although I would not suggest taking your own vehicle on the road into the biosphere). Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with fellow travelers. We are honored that you found Pez "a nice blend of a relaxed atmosphere coupled with exceptional and friendly service" That is a tremendous compliment-thank you! We hope that you are able to visit us again soon!

Take care,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed at El Pez for two nights in September 2012 to kick-off our week-long honeymoon in Tulum.

First, it must be said that the staff and service at El Pez is truly exceptional. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and made us feel right at home. Upon arrival, there was a split of champagne waiting for us and complimentary cocktails were delivered to our room shortly after. We had a problem with our safe on the first day and it was fixed by an incredibly friendly staff member in no time. Also, even though it stormed one day, the staff was great about cleaning up the beach and the balconies as soon as the storm let up.

The food was very good, but we ate most of our meals at restaurants we found around town and along the beach. There is an abundance of good food in Tulum and we didn't want to miss out on anything. My husband and I liked what we ate -- and we were very impressed by the hearty complimentary breakfasts -- but nothing on the menu really stood out for us. Oh, but you must try a "coco-jito!" They are the best drinks in town!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the luxury cabanas. I definitely recommend it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPezTulum, Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Kara,

We are so glad you chose to spend part of your honeymoon at El Pez! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were very happy to read that you found the staff exceptional! We all take great pride in making guests' experience a relaxing & memorable one. And we are honored that you voted the coco-jito the best drink in town! :)

Warm Regards,

Julia & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pez at Turtle Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez at Turtle Cove

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pez at Turtle Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Pez at Turtle Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pez at Turtle Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.