We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint, inviting, and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pez at Turtle Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added El Pez at Turtle Cove to your Saves list
El Pez at Turtle Cove
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“quaint, inviting, and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon at El Pez at Turtle Cove in Tulum, Mexico.We greatly enjoyed our experience overall.

Our room: Our room walked directly out to the beach, providing exquisite views of the Caribbean Ocean and rocky terrain of the cove on which the hotel lies.The room itself had a peculiar and at first noxious smell of vinegar, though it was mostly noticeable when you first walked inside.It was quite clean with regular maid service. It felt safe and well-maintained. However, our room location on the beach and climate outside perhaps contributed to the high humidity in the room. The room had a porch and sitting area in a small garden out front, looking out at the ocean. The set up was absolutely charming. The rooms were not that large but quite sufficient for what we needed. They were modestly but regionally decorated and truly provided a get away to Mexico feeling: no TV, ocean blue adobe-like walls, a bottle of tequila and bottles of water waiting for us in the room. We spent our days out and about visiting the nearby sites, so we were only in our room to sleep and bathe. As a result, the room was perfect. I am not sure we would have enjoyed hanging out in the room all day if it was raining. The rooms were also quite affordable.

The Hotel: The Hotel property is adorable and well-maintained. It has a great pool outside overlooking the ocean, which is lovely at night under the stars. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and approachable. The owners get to know their guests and accommodate whatever needs guests may have. A delicious breakfast of fruit, grains (yogurt/granola), and then eggs is served complimentary with your stay. It has an incredibly peaceful and relaxing location and ambiance.

The beach outside of the hotel: While not a beach suitable for spending your day lounging, it is peaceful, beautiful and gives the impression you are on a secluded island. Just on either side of the small cove are larger beaches perfect for spending your day laying out, filled with bungalows and small inns by the sea much like El Pez. Many have quaint beach bars, adding to the laid back, quaint, but fun atmosphere of Tulum. El Pez also has a great bar/restaurant next door, which has a dance party every Friday night. (I think every Friday night, though cannot remember with certainty).

I would highly recommend El Pez to anyone looking to relax and escape.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PezManager, General Manager at El Pez at Turtle Cove, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to have honeymooners here!
We do use vinegar to clean the rooms as we are against using harsh chemicals. I apologize that there was a smell from it.
Thank you for the kind words and thanks for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again for your anniversary ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    66
    16
    3
    3
See reviews for
94
252
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here for one week. The staff, notably Ashley and Danny, treat you as good friends being welcomed in their home. The proximity of the rooms to the beach is incredible... 20 feet or so from the crashing waves. My friends and I bought wine every few days from the San Francisco market downtown and pez kept it chilled for us so we always had cold wine on hand. When we were thirsty for tropical drinks or hungry for a snack, sandbar was steps away to satisfy our cravings. A gorgeous breakfast spread was included...a great way to kick off each day. I liked staying in a downstairs room, as access to the beach is quick! If you enjoy more of a personal atmosphere when traveling I highly recommend Pez!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Could this 12 room, ocean front hotel really live up to all the reviews I'd previously read here- the answer is a resounding YES! The view is just beautiful from every room (we were traveling with friends so we took up 5 rooms) and we especially loved our deck and view of Turtle Cove in room 6. The beds are huge and very comfortable and the decoration perfectly minimal and beachy. As noted, the bathroom wall doesn't go up to the ceiling so hopefully you are very comfortable with your travel partner- but this does allow you to gaze at the ocean while showering.
As previously mentioned, Ashley and Roy (married couple from NYC, Ashley runs the hotel and Roy runs the Sandbar next door) are so nice and hospitable. As is all the staff including Carmen and Danny. They have great recommendations for the area.
The breakfast that is included is phenomenal- really great coffee, fresh squeezed juice (we had everything from orange to watermelon depending on the day), yogurt & granola, fresh sliced fruit and some sort of egg dish daily (the chilaquiles were my personal fav). Eating that breakfast every morning while watching the waves lap in the cove and listening to Zero 7 and the other great music that was played in the background is pretty much the most relaxing way to start a day. The whole experience is very laid back and wonderful.
It's difficult to tell on google maps where everything in the area is- but you can walk to some really good restaurants from here and Maya Tulum next door has great spa services and yoga sessions.
We had an unexpected and really special surprise on our first night here showing that it's not called El Pez at Turtle Cove for nothing- while sitting at the Sandbar, Roy came over and asked if we wanted to see baby sea turtles hatching. Um yes please! Just then, the local who monitors the sea turtles had found they had just hatched in a hole in the sand literally steps from the Sandbar so we were able to watch 120 baby sea turtles be brought up from the hole and guided to the sea (they are attracted to light and it was night). Photo attached- so incredible!
Don't think twice, book El Pez! We are starting our Tulum El Pez fund now to return as soon as possible!

Room Tip: We loved our room #6, but if you are in a second floor room you might feel more comfortable keeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I recently stayed at El Pez and could not have been more pleased. I have never stayed at a boutique hotel before and was a little skeptical. However, if they are all like this, I'm never going back to my "normal" hotel/resort. Ever.
Our stay was flawless. The staff are some of the most warm, kind, and professional people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Ashley and Roy went out of their way to make sure every detail of our experience there was taken care of. Make sure you ask them about what to do- they know all of the best local restaurants, shops, beaches, and activities. Out of everywhere we ate though, our favorite place was the Sandbar (El Pez's beachfront restaurant/bar). What could be better than sitting on huge adirondack chairs twenty feet from the water and watching the sun set while eating some of the most amazing food? The fish with coconut rice is a must! It was hard to want to try any other restaurant when the best food is right at your doorstep. Breakfast can't be beaten either- fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, homemade coconut bread and granola, yogurt, fruit, and eggs.
The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet, and relaxing. No matter how much sand we tracked in they were spotless every morning after they had been cleaned. I miss not falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night. Book a cabana on the second floor for a breathtaking view.
Ashley (the hotel's manager) continually went out of her way to make sure all of our needs were taken care of. From our transportation (including my 3:00 am transportation to the airport) to lending us bikes to ride in to town, she made sure we felt welcomed and taken care of without leaving any details out. Overall, an impeccable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I thought that it would be hard to compare, much less trump, the many travel destinations that I have experienced, however El Pez and Tulum did exactly that. I was kindly greeted upon arrival at the airport by the hotel manager, Ashley, who went out of her way the entire week to make sure that we were treated exceptionally which seems to be the El Pez way. We were then escorted to the dream location, El Pez at turtle cove. The ride was beautiful and short and then we arrived to what I'd imagine is heaven on earth, El Pez. The breath taking views, the kind staff, the gorgeous landscaping and architecture, the AMAZING food, and absolutely flawless weather made this my greatest and most amazing vacation spot ever. We felt completely welcomed, safe, honored and more than graciously accommodated. From the management all the way down you can tell this is a location that invites people to stay and work to insure you are completely satisfied. I hated to leave and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

This resort is in a beautiful setting just steps from the ocean. Waking up to the sound of the waves is a fantastic morning treat! Specifically, Ashley, Carmen and Greg all worked hard to insure that may stay was comfortable and enjoyable. They provided beach bikes for me to use, were happy to make arrangements for all of my desired activities. It is a wonderful place where time seems to stand still.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I came to El Pez with my family after 5 days at Ceiba del Mar in Puerto Morelos. A very different experience but a nice, soft landing in one of their ocean front cabanas was exactly what we needed. El Pez is a little bare bones but a beautiful place. The rooms are simple - beds, bathroom facilities, a nice balcony and the view from our cabana was amazing. The restaurant that's attached, the Sandbar, is absolutely amazing! Great food, drinks and the staff is super accommodating! Great place to be in Tulum.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pez at Turtle Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pez at Turtle Cove

Address: Carretera Tulum a Boca Paila Km 5.5, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Pez at Turtle Cove 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Pez evokes the feeling of a private villa on the beach, with all the amenities of a small boutique hotel. Featuring six Luxury Cabanas, four Sea Front King Rooms and Two Sea View King Rooms, suitable for solo travelers, couples and families, El Pez is situated at picturesque Turtle Cove, where the Mayan fisherman and pelicans create a visually stunning seascape from the hotel balconies and around the hotel grounds. The setting is both intimate and romantic and a stunning backdrop for weddings, family gatherings & romantic getaways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your El Pez at Turtle Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pez At Turtle Cove Hotel Tulum
Pez Ocean Palace Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pez at Turtle Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.