We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Punta Piedra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Posada Punta Piedra to your Saves list
Posada Punta Piedra
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Carretera Tulum Boca Paila KM 4, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 67 Tulum B&B and Inns
Monroe, WI
2 reviews
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our first time in Tulum and chose Posada Punta Piedra after reading many reviews. We stayed in the "King Room" (highly recommend!!) on the upper floor with an ocean view and a fantastic balcony. The hotel grounds (only a few units, nice and cozy) were beautiful and tranquil; a wonderful private beach stocked with lounge chairs & beds, and a charming little restaurant on site right over the beach.

The location was great, perfectly situated on the strip pretty close to the main road into the Pueblo (and the ruins,) a small convenience store, restaurants, and many other fantastic places within easy walking distance. The hotel restaurant isn't open for breakfast, but many other places are in every direction. In preparation for the trip we didn't realize how convenient and close everything would be. Our own hotel beach (being private) is "blocked off" on either side by rock outcroppings, but if you want to take the long, several-mile stroll down the open beach you simply pop out onto the road and then right back onto the beach several doors down. $5 cab ride into the Pueblo, which we did often.

Compared to other comparable places in the area, PPP did have 24-hour electricity and water, which we never observed to be undependable. No A/C (and the only reason I mention it is after hearing others grumble in these reviews) but we DID NOT NEED IT- the ocean breeze was fantastic and we were perfectly comfortable, even though the temps were up to 90. There is NOT A/C in this beach area, and there is not meant to be! If you want heavy development, western "comforts" and huge concrete edifices, go elsewhere- there are plenty of other cities and towns if you want to stay in a fancy resort. This area is mostly run by wind and solar power by design; it butts up against a huge nature preserve and the locals want to keep it beautiful, peaceful and eco-friendly. It is absolute paradise.

The service at the hotel was amazing (Cheers to Ignacio and Cynthia who helped us with everything we needed!) With so many other places to eat in the area, we only ate at the restaurant once (Argentinian steak house;) service was wonderful and the flank steak was very good. Ignacio is the hotel waiter but serves also as your local ambassador for anything you need- tours, recommendations, advice, etc.- we were very glad to have him.

Overall, paradise. If it's your first time to the area and are unsure how "rustic" you want to go (many other hotels have smaller cabanas with shared bathrooms, no electricity after 8pm, etc.)- this is a great place to start. We intend to return every year.

Room Tip: King room was wonderful- upper floor, balcony overlooking the grounds and ocean, fantastic ocean bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    43
    35
    18
    31
See reviews for
33
99
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christina Lake, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last year and were very pleased. It is simple, yet beautiful and the beach is unbeatable. Such a relaxed atmosphere and very private. We went with our kids, and had nearly the whole beach to ourselves each day. The staff were lovely and hard working, and the morning basket was great and exciting for the kids to open and eat! The gazebo over looking the sea was mostly unoccupied, and had closing windows so often times in the evening we would sit in there, order a drink and play cards overlooking the waves. I would recomend this hotel to anyone staying in Tulum, whether you are with kids, a couple, or in a group...it is definately a place you can walk into and feel instanly at home and at ease.

Room Tip: Rooms were simple, clean, and comfortable....rooms above the kitchen were a bit noisy but not too ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is my second time in Tulum. PPP has a great location. A very private beach, hot water, wifi and a restaurant on site. You aslo get daily maid services and a goodie basket in the morning with hot water, tea, coffee, condiments, cookies and pastries! By no means breakfast....but its nice at least you wake up and you can have some coffee while getting ready. The restaurant is not open for breakfast! We had dinner there 2X and it was not very good. The first time it was awful, awful, awful and did I say awful!!!! anyways to say the least it was not great. Decided to give it another try and it was ok. At least we could eat it.
The cabana was good. Best view ever. Loved the porch, the ocean view and the location. Before you go know what you are looking for. I WOULD go back only if I stay in the same cabana. Canaba #1.....

Room Tip: "Cabana 1 has the best view it is Ocean Front"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here while with a tour group. It was the Best hotel we stayed at for the entire trip. There are not very many rooms which is great because then it is quiet and you can hear the ocean. The rooms are like little thatch huts connected by the beach, so it does get a little sandy in the room. I wish they had a broom in each room do you could deal with that yourself. The hotel has a private beach right out the Bach that is just perfect! Very secluded and the only people out there are the few other hotel guests. I would highly recommend this hotel and I wish we had stayed longer here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Firstly the beach and setting is lovely – very peaceful and idyllic.

The accommodation however is basic to say the least. This place is set up for middle class hippies – not cheap enough to attract the gap year student, but too basic to appeal to anyone who likes a few comforts.

There is no AC in any of the rooms so prepare yourself for HOT sweaty nights. I couldn’t sleep at all, especially as they kept turning off the electricity overnight so the fans stopped working.

The rooms are tiny with dirty towels and sheets and the shower would only output a trickle of water. The breakfast consists of a packet of biscuits and a pre-packaged long-life croissant left outside your door.

We paid $80 per night which is pretty expensive for what amounts to a beach hut. If you don’t mind roughing it, there are much cheaper Cabanas long this stretch of beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed here for two nights but would have loved to stay longer. Our cabana was right on the beach! It was quite small but very comfortable and clean, perfect for a couple. The beach was pretty much our own and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We'll definitely be back if we get the chance!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

It was a perfect weekend for my husband and I, with an amazing view from our beach king cabin. It´s a small, nice and cozy hotel with one of the most private beaches in Tulum, The staff was very helpful and friendly, and they made sure that we felt at home.
They have a great Argentinian restaurant facing the beach, and we loved everything they recommend to us. We really loved our time there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Posada Punta Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Punta Piedra

Address: Carretera Tulum Boca Paila KM 4, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Punta Piedra 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel POSADA PUNTA PIEDRA is located in a quiet area opposite a beautiful Caribbean Sea in Tulum, in the vicinity there are restaurants and shops of various kinds of local crafts. The Caribbean Sea and the beach opposite the hotel are a show with amazing colors and new emotions. The country of Tulum is just 4 km away, reachable by taxi, by bicycle or your car, where you will find a breadth of restaurants, shops of various kinds or local crafts. Our staff is at your disposal ready to help you solve any problems and answer all your questions, all with extreme kindness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Posada Punta Piedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Punta Piedra Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Punta Piedra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.