We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Tulum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Save Saved
You added Posada Yum Kin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Posada Yum Kin
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 73 hotels in Tulum
Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place in Tulum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The place was very beautifull and the room was a simple suite which contained 2 double beds a kitchen and a dinning table. There was a free wifi in the room and a free buffet breakfast next to the pool.
The beds were simple wooden beds, which on first site looked breakable but they were quite comfortable. We liked that they arrange the towels as swans on the bed.
The service however was not that good. The reception was empty most of the day and even on the hours that they were saying that the reception is open there was no one there.
The breakfast was quite nice except of the fact that flies were entering the buffet plates all the time.
The place was located 10 minutes walk from the main street. The walk was ok during the day but when it became dark the way became unpleasant, taxi cost us around 30 pesos. The ruins were located 10 minutes ride and the taxi cost 50-80 pesos.

Another problem we had caused since we forgot something in the hotel when we left. We called the hotel and asked them to send it to us using an express car on our expense, they told us they will check it out and will call us back. After few hours with no returning call we tried to call them back several times but they just disappeared.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    296
    79
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
119
176
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We just returned from our trip to Mexico and we stayed 3 nights at PYK. It was a lovely stay. They staff and fellow guests were extremly friendly and helpful. It is definitely a quiet, relaxing hotel so I wasn't sure if my children would be disruptive or not. They were the only children in the hotel and everyone was very nice to them. My son had a great time looking for, and trying to catch, the little lizards. Breakfast was great. Something for everyone. If you want beauty and relaxation, this is your place. If you want tv, night life, constant entertainment...maybe not. For me, it was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Searcy, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I spent the month of January there again this year and it's better than ever. Balbv and Dan have added some wonderful rooms and amenities to Yum Kin too. Ricado, the young manager, is a delightful and catering person. And, the staff of the tres hermanos ( Mieza, Merna and Manuel) are the best ever!!! If you are looking for the best in Tulum, you gotta stay there. I'm going back for the month of enero '14, so don't take my room!!!
George Friedrich
Arkansas

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Only one word describe this place. Excellent !!!l Great staff members, they speak English and Spanish. The staff is very friendly. The Hotel is a short walk to downtown. The Hotel is also eco friendly. I've stay in many Hotels around the world, but never seen a cleaner swimming pool. The pool is awesome. The food is great, especially breakfast. The price to stay there is great comparing to other places in town, they offer a lot more. I can't wait for my next vacation there.

Room Tip: room by the pool or top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just stayed for two weeks and really loved it. Ricardo and the team are very friendly and helpful. The grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean, i;m sure the pool was cleaned every other day.

The fact it is out of town we found a bonus and you are removed from any bustle and yet it is in easy reach and the taxi system is so regular and reasonable it doesn't take long to get to the beach.

I hope that the hotel doesn't grow too much by adding too many more rooms as it will loose it charm and breakfast in the small pool area may become a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very relaxing and peaceful place to vacation. The staff is very nice and friendly. Great location, too, as downtown is only a short (10-15 minute) walk away. The rooms are clean and nice -- and quite spacious. The pools is very nice (and also spacious) and offers the perfect place to start your day (with poolside breakfast) or end your day with an evening swim.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

It was relaxing and comfortable. Never felt more at home when away from home.. The rooms were phenomenal and the staff was polite and inviting. The peaceful and a most definately planning another visit!! 5 Stars!!*MM

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Hotel
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum
Address: Kukulkan Norte, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulum
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $5usd per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posada Yum Kin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.