We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cetli

Cetli
Polar Norte St | one block north of Avenida Tulum, Tulum, Mexico
984-108-0681
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 204 Restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A cut above”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is a cut above the other restaurants in town. We visited on our last night as it was a little pricier than the other places. That said, it was still well below the price of a meal at an equivalent place in our hometown of London. The ambience is beautiful and coolly romantic, the food is gourmet and high end, lovingly presented with a description of each part of the dish on its arrival. Quality. Treat yourself!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    161
    24
    13
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Margahrita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Quiet, lots of candles at night, very good cuisine, and possibly the best Margahrita of the trip. This is not tacos and beans - it is inventive, local, and refined.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We heard good things about Cetli and it lives up to it's hype. Great Mexican food with a lot of creative flair and great taste. The chile en nogada was fabulous - lots of sweet cream sauce and flavorfill filling. The bread/cheeese/spread plate that came gratis before the main course was icing on the cake. Try Cetli for a change from the everyday Mexican fare when in Tulum. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Gourmet with a Personal Touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

High end Mexican food from a highly trained chef that is very talented and inspiring. She does everything, from cooking and taking your order to greeting you and designing the stylish hacienda look and feel.

In a packed dinner setting, she spent 30 minutes talking to my wife and I about the food, how she found the recipes, and more. We enjoyed her company as much as we enjoyed the food. Its a very homey feeling, as the kitchen was the real kitchen of the original hacienda and you sit in the patio, so you feel like you're in someone's house. Everything was also super detailed. The decorations, the appetizer, the drinks, and even the post dessert chocolates were individually wrapped in customized paper with ribbons.

Here's the summary:
The food was very good (but not outstanding), the drinks were delicious, the food presentation was impecable, the candle lit outdoor space was romantic and the service was as personal and warm as it could possibly be.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant and went here on our last evening. We were really dissapointed, at first we got a table right by the mens toilett, and you could here everything from there, not very nice when you are having dinner. We ordered their special poblano dish and tortillas,the poblano was ok, but nothing special at all. The tortilla were covered in some almond sauce, it wasnt tasty at all and we didnt even eat it all even though we were very hungry. Dont understand the good reviews at all, the restaurant is expensive and the food is not very good, you can get much better in tulum and we will not go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cetli also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cetli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cetli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.