We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cetli

Cetli
Polar Norte St | one block north of Avenida Tulum, Tulum, Mexico
984-108-0681
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 215 Restaurants in Tulum
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were in Tulum in the offseason and ended up being the only two people at the restaurant. The food, service, and personal attention of the owner (Claudia) were hallmarks of a memorable meal. It feels very much like you have been invited in to share a meal at Claudia's home. She brought out multiple mole options for us to sample and obviously is very committed to her craft. Far and away the best meal we had in Mexico.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    25
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ignore the negative reviews, this place is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I had a very enjoyable dinner last night at Cetli. The food was awesome, the atmosphere was enchanting, the hospitality was genuine, and the wine was out of this world. We had the chiles en nogada and a sampling of different moles after staring with soup and the spinach salad. Claudia recommended a tempranillo from Mexico that blew us away. The wine was very reasonable (~$40). I would have gladly paid $120 for the wine...it was that good. Ignore all the haters and try this place when you visit Tulum!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service and tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This great little spot is a bit more expensive than other restaurants in town, but comparable to the beach eateries and MUCH, MUCH better! First off, the owner is fantastic. She greets you, takes your order, offers suggestions and presents the food whenever possible. It is apparant that she is proud of her craft and really helps create an experience rather then just a meal. The atmosphere is perfect. The complimentary hors d'ouevres platter was a nice suprise, large and delicious. Both of our meals were beautiful and tasted great. Wonderful sauces. My one minor complaint would be that mine was served just warm, and I would have preferred in hotter. Absolutely worth spending a few extra dollars!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best meal we had in our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just came back from spending 2.5 weeks in Mexico and our best meal was at Cetli. The food is traditional Mexican but with a really nice twist in the recipes. The ambiance is great as it is also the decoration. The chef/owner comes out to your table and talks you through the menu. You can tell she is really passionate about her food and this come across on each of the dishes that she serves. Is not dirt cheap, but it is great value for money as the food that you are eating is top notch. I had the chicken with Macho banana and it was just perfect!
We would have love to go back again but we tried on our last night in Tulum. If we ever come back we will go again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food, amazing presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went to Cetli two times in October during our 10-day visit. Both times Cetli was just incredible. The best restaurant we ate at on our trip. The Mexican zucchini entree was our favorite dish. All of the salads were fantastic. Let her choose the wine! Tried to go for a third dinner (it was that good!), but it was unexpectedly closed probably b/c it was low season. On one of the nights we went, we were the only people in the restaurant the entire time, which was extremely romantic, but not sure it made business sense for her to be open. So maybe call in advance to make sure she's going to be open. You won't regret going to Cetli!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cetli also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Cetli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cetli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.