We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge

Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge
Coba Sur | Lote #2, Tulum 77780, Mexico
984 745 8827
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 205 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Vegetarian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: come enjoy our menu which we designed with you, the traveler in mind. full of global treats from mexico, asia, the middle east and the u.s.a.! great breakfasts with the best french toast with caramelized bananas, our take on huevos rancheros, freshly baked artesian seeded multi-grain breads perfect for our famous 3 tiered bacon avocado lettuce and tomato sandwich. our giant black angus burger rocks! and don't forget our 2 X 1 HAPPY HOUR daily from 5 PM - 7 PM. and our new DINNER menu filled with plates such as BLACK ANGUS RIB EYE or shrimp scampi or our tower salad with beets, goat cheese spinach, lettuce tomato. relax by our plunge pool with a tasty mojito to enjoy our rooftop chill area with a handmade margarita. check out our incredible selection of mexico's MEZCALES! come, discover and enjoy. WE LOVE YOU!
Santa Monica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We dined at the restaurant several times during our stay in the hotel. All the meals we had there were good, and so were the drinks. The menu has definitely been planned and executed by people who know and love good food. We particularly liked our breakfasts, the french toast and huevos rancheros were excellent, and it was nice to have an espresso in the morning. The specials for dinner were always delicious, my husband particularly liked the fish (grouper, I think?). Don't skip the Crying Chocolate, it was so nice we had it twice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
hey there,
thank you for taking time out to share your experience at teetotum. it's really nice when people review us favorably. we're glad you enjoyed your meals and hopefully next time when you return, we can wow you with some new dishes the chef is working on (especial with fresh fish- grouper, red snapper). and come back and have another crying chocolate!
thank you again!
richard, dali, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    11
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous friendly eaterie on the main road in Tulum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Totally wonderful.. We ate lunch and loved it so much we went back for breakfast the next day. Service is a little slow but you realise why when your plate arrives. Wonderful food garnished cleverly. My scrambled eggs came with three large pieces of fruit as well as toast and bacon. Three meals for the price of one. There are some rooms and a small pool for calling off. If you have a rental car it might be a nice place to stay but otherwise far from the good beaches. Wifi available. Only take cash. Cannot fault the hospitality and the chic but understated design.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Owner at Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
hola!
forgive us for writing to thank you sooner. we super appreciate you taking the time to write a lovely review of your breakfast experiences at teetotum. sorry that the food sometimes takes longer than we like but we hope its worth the wait!
come back soon and let's see if our timing has improved.
thank you again and we hope to see you next time you visi safe and sunny tulum.
best,
richard, dali and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“cool place , really tasty proper food , strong cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

for our meal we went to a place on the super san francisco junction , its called 'teetotum' . its got a small pool , a rooftop terrace , and a small attached hotel . got to say even tho we where the only ones there the food and drinks where awesome ! by far the strongest cocktails we had while here , mind blowingly strong margaritas ! and the food was really well cooked too .

they didnt have a few things or drinks on the menu , but wished we had eaten and visited here earlier in our holiday we would definitely go back here . and prices where decent too . i had chicken , mrs had veggie salad - we had eaten most before we photo'd and didnt stop for a breath . worth trying , its just by all the car hire places like america and payless and avis . check it out - they have a great girls toilet with rock star pics n quotes , a dinky pool and a cut up beach bug vw

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
hey guys! thank you so much for your review of our humble restaurant. we really appreciate it when our guests take the time to make some comments about our work. we are particularly pleased that you enjoyed our cocktails which is big part of our meal program. so next time you are in tulum, please return and say hello!
thank you again!
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I am so happy we happened to have breakfast at Teetotum as we saw it walking by, what a nice place. The food was amazing and the service very good too. The french toast was simply awesome! The dishes are abundant and not expensive.
The restaurant is part of the hotel, which is a small but very nice one, everything here has a friendly feel to it.
I wish I had come back for dinner or breakfast again, sadly it is located kind of far of where we were staying so we couldn´t, but when ever I´m back in Tulum, I´ll certainly eat here again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
hola rocio!
thank you so much for your kind review. we are glad you enjoyed one of our signature breakfast dishes, our french toast. we have recently upgraded it by finding a new artisanal baker locally who is baking super eggy challah! so come back, stay in our charming hotel and try more treats from our newly retooled menus. thank you again for your visit!
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

great coffee to start the day (or cappuccino), plates of wonderfully fresh fruit, the best french toast...then a great big cheeseburger with fries-the best! we also tried the guacamole, the black angus rib eye and a shrimp special with chilies and tasty fish tacos. everything we tried over the weekend was delicious! can't wait to return and eat there again and again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scoutroberts, Manager at Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
hola ana,
gracias for taking the time from your busy life to write such a lovely review. we work hard at trying to make our dishes, each one, the best we can and strive for consistency. it always makes it easier to do so when we receive such kind words.
so return to magical tulum and visit us again and we will try to wow you with a new dinner special we are working on which represents the soul of mexico city.
we love you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge also viewed

Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teetotum Hotel Restaurant Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.