We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious crepes and fish, pass on the ribs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Tabano

El Tabano
Beach Road Tulum, Boca Paila Km.7, Tulum, Mexico
+52 984 134 2706
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 250 Restaurants in Tulum
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Inmersed in a lushious garden in the jungle side, El Tábano is a favorite amongst neighbors and visitors alike. Serving homemade flavor infused with regional character, and a touch of the chefs personality into each dish- it is a true experience of all senses.Family warmth, exquisite taste, fresh and creative food prepared right in front of you . And if you like to take the recepies, just come into our kitchen and live the joy of cooking with us.The staff is always happy to share the secrets in exchange of a smile.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious crepes and fish, pass on the ribs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We had dinner here in August. Their margheritas are very good and the jalapeño crepes were delicious. Fish dishes were also great, but the pork ribs, though beautifully cooked, were a bit too heavy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    146
    59
    31
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dreamy open air dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I was here for dinner and it was fantastic. The atmosphere was so dreamy. The garden dining area is rustic and romantic. I loved the open kitchen where you could see the meals being prepared. My girlfriend and I had the most delicious stuffed poblano pepper. We also had a delicious Mediterranean sea bass and stuffed crepes. Everything was wonderful. The service was very good- it's the beach, laid back but attentive and friendly. Oh also, the bartender was playing great music! Like every place in Tulum, bring bug spray for mosquitoes since you are dining in the jungle.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A+ Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Such a great tulum experience. The restaurant has a fun home kitchen feel. Staff was casual, but attentive. It was definitely really hot being on the jungle side of the main road, but such a neat restaurant. Food was great! Try the cactus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Some of the best food I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

AMAZING food, service, and cocktails. We went here twice because the first time was so amazing. The menu is written on a chalkboard and was different both times we went. I'm a vegetarian and they had plenty of options. I had this amazing poblano dish that I still think about/crave to this day. Not to mention the cocktails are amazing, they have highly skilled bartenders that clearly know what they are doing. Definitely go here, the atmosphere and feel of the place is on point, can't recommend this place enough.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Don't miss the pollo rojo or the chile ancho. The staff is friendly and the place has a great atmosphere. The location is also great

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Tabano also viewed

 
Tulum, Riviera Maya
Tulum, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Tabano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Tabano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.